? Claudio AMPS 73 PMPS 148 How much to reduce ?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Susan & Claudio, Aug 6, 2020.

  1. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    8-5-claudio-amps-188-pmps-100

    What a day !!
    AMPS 73
    +2 58
    +3 40
    +3.5 35
    +3.75 33
    +4 36
    +4.25 39
    +4.50 31
    +4.75 40
    +5 67
    +5.5 55
    +6 117
    +7.25 84
    +7.75 141

    Had a really hard time getting Claudio back up as you can see.
    Was freaking out when he tested 31. Never been that low. Or that hard to bring back up.
    Half way through this, he decided not to eat. Tried using a syringe with little success.
    Jaws of steel on this cat.
    Resorted to karo on the gums. Well as best as I could. Who knew a cat could purse their lips together so tightly.
    I am mentally and emotionally exhausted. Had to take a nap.
    So do I reduce .25 or .50 ?
    P.S. I am supposed to be at a wedding in 1/2 hour. Ain't gonna happen.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2020
    Reason for edit: ETA: Forgot to mention he had diarrhea x2 and vomited x5. All yesterday and last night. No vomit or diarrhea today.
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  2. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Vomited and diarrhea again just now.
     
  3. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    I'm sorry you had such a rough day.:bighug: Thank goodness for Karo on the gums. You always have that when they won't eat.
    Claudio you can't tighten your lips...you have to let mom help you when needed buddy. she loves you and you worried her too much today:(
    At 5 units I wonder if you're still reducing by .5 or if you're at the .25 now. Hopefully someone will be around soon.:)
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.
  4. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I think @Wendy&Neko advised you because Claudio is a higher dose cat...I'd be inclined to drop by .25 - but there may be special circumstances of which I am not aware.

    He really did give you a rough time today...I hope he behaves himself this evening!
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.
  5. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Sue,
    If I don't get an answer within 1 hour, I'll reduce by .50 . Only because he was soooo hard to bring back up today. If that makes sense.
    I can always bring it back up.
     
  6. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Has Wendy been helping you with the dosage?

    If you've been moving in .5 increments already then that's fine...it's just not usually done.
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.
  7. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    I had to check back. Yes it was Wendy.
    My brain is fried today.
    Actually, may skip the PM shot because he is refusing to eat.
    Hopefully he will eat in the morning.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  8. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I don’t like skips for not eating. Not all the injected insulin goes to combat carbs in the food. Cats undergoing anesthesia who cannot eat, can get half dose. Of course, your ability to monitor comes into play as the depot can still control part of the cycle even with a reduced dose.
     
    Susan & Claudio and Sue and Luci like this.

Share This Page