? Claudio AMPS 54 PMPS 92

I would give him some more food now to get him up a bit higher. Not too much as you dont want to fill him up. If the low carb does not bring him up at all and the insulin kicks in and drops the BG don't be afraid to give some higher carb food to bring him up a bit higher. You need a bit of a buffer for when the insulin kicks in.
You will need to keep testing at least until nadir and possibly longer.
I'm heading off to bed now but I'm sure there will be others to help you if needed.
 
Claudio's PMPS yesterday was 120. He was 54 at AMPS this morning. Then tanked at 40.
So I reduced his a.m. shot to 5U.
He's been green all day until his +11, which was 111.
With his PMPS now at 92, should I reduce even more to 4.75U ?
I'm afraid with this lower PMPS that he'll tank again with 5U.
What say you all?
 
Look at all that greenage! :D Time to shoot the full dose, 5 units, and celebrate. Remember the 5.25 unit depot will influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. And today's little dip at preshot was just the Lantus double dip, where they take a little drop at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main nadir. Perfectly safe to shoot. Get a +1 and a +2 to start.
 
Thank you much.
I'll be a wreck all night wondering how low can he go. Gotta tell him this isn't a game of limbo.
Testing ?? I'll be testing,testing and more testing.
 
Also forgot to ask...
If/when this happens again, is the 60's is considered a "safe" shoot number ?
I'd like to know for future reference.
Then if he's ever low again, I already know how to bring his numbers up, but don't know when it's safe to shoot.
 
You are asking someone who has shot as low as 51. Of course that was with Neko on Levemir with later nadirs often at preshot. We tell people who have experience and data to do so, they can shoot as low as 50, if following TR. If you get a few more +1 tests in, you'll get an idea of what food spike he gets at +1. The number you are shooting is not the preshot number, but where he is at onset, which is a couple hours later. Knowing how much he'll rise until onset helps make shooting lower easier.
 
Way to go with the dosing today Susan! Amazing that you only had a couple of questions, but shot the 5U anyway.
You earned this today, my friend.
balls of steel fist.png
 

Attachments

  • balls of steel fist.png
    balls of steel fist.png
    67.8 KB · Views: 111
Way to go with the dosing today Susan! Amazing that you only had a couple of questions, but shot the 5U anyway.
You earned this today, my friend.
View attachment 52951

I can take that one of two ways.
Either I was incredibly stupid for shooting that 5U.
OR
I had the guts to shoot that 5U instead of skipping.
I didn't ask a lot of questions because I knew what had to be done.
To bring his bgs up.
I was wondering once I got his numbers to start coming up, what was safe to shoot.
Someone told me that 61 was safe to shoot. As long as I monitored closely.
And of course I would monitor.

If I did a stupid thing, please tell me so that I don't do it again.

 
I had the guts to shoot that 5U instead of skipping.
People earn the 'balls of steel' when they have done a gutsy piece of dosing, like you did today for Claudio. You earned them, fair and square, no joking around here. I meant this as a compliment, with all seriousness intended. You had guts, you had fortitude, you were 'taking no prisoners', you were strong minded, firm of purpose. And you did the right thing.

No pink tutu for you Susan, I'm reserving those for @Jacque- Tiger & Jazz Man
 
Back
Top