Cinco AMPS 208; +3 127; +6 42; +9 72; PMPS 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
My husband shot 1.25 this morning because he felt that Cinco's AMPS of 208 meant he didn't hold the reduction he'd earned yesterday, and according to the protocol, he should go back to the last "good" dose. MY argument was that we didn't know if 1.25 was a "good" dose as he'd only been on it for two shots! I was doing a mini-curve today and at +6 he was down to 42. I fed some HC a couple of times and got him up to 59 by an hour later. His PMPS was 93 and my husband was leary of shooting 1.0, even though I told him we need to stick to the dose to get an accurate read of how it affects him. Am I correct in saying that the 42 this morning probably means he should have shot 1.0 and that we should stick to that for at least 6 cycles? That 208 was the highest BG he's had since yesterday's PMPS of 233. I just don't think we're accomplishing much by bouncing the dose around like this. I've read and re-read the stickies on shooting low and reducing the dose and every time I think I've got a handle on it, Cinco throws me a curve! Sienne said he's on a mission, and I agree. I plan to keep checking him every 90 minutes or so for the next 6 hours, to make sure he doesn't go too low. Does this sound like the right plan?


https://spreadsheets.google.com/spr...gVSWwdEp4OWZpVXZCd05WV0taYmJRb1JmVXc&hl=en_US
 
hi guys -I am no dose expert for sure... but the 39 the day before earned a reduction, and you should stick with the new dose, even if the next PS number is higher than expected - it looks like a slight bounce from the greens of the day before. An excellent PMPS tonight - I would check him at +1, +2 tonight to make sure he doesn't go too low.

You've done really well with Cinco - was wonderful numbers he is getting!
 
i'm not great at interpreting doses either - but i think this morning you shouldn't have increased his dose. my guess would be that the 208 this am was a bounce from him getting low yesterday. look at the answer i just wrote about Mr howell about how bounces work.

but him going low again today - you did the right thing to reduce tonight. there are times that cats fly down the dosing scale and it almost looks like cinco is one of them. you just have to be the uber-monitor and test often to make sure he doesn't go too low - then don't be afraid to reduce his dose every time he goes below 50. personally, i would test every hour tonight until i saw clear evidence that cinco's numbers were rising and he was past the nadir. if he were mine i'd be thinking his pancreas might've kicked back on and his need for extra insulin is changing. antijinx.

i'm not one of the people with a lot of expertise either - and michelle has more than me. it's totally OK for you to ask for dose advice in the subject line of your first post so that someone with more experience can interpret and guide you.
 
Hi ya'll...nice numbers for Cinco. I think you might be moving around on his dose too much. Remember, we shoot based on the nadir and not the preshot so I agree with Michelle.

Good luck tonight..he might keep you busy and please do get a +1 and +2....MIchelle is right about that as well.
 
We need to work out a system for your DH. Can he post? Well, I'm sure he can but would he consider posting vs. just making a decision and shooting? The AMPS today was a bounce. Bounces can last up to 72 hours. You need to wait for a bounce to clear before increasing or you see what you say today -- low numbers due to your cat getting too much insulin.

You did good going back to the 1.0u. If you are able to get a +11, that would give you time to post and ask for input. Do you think that would help?
 
I don't think I could get my husband to post. He is a workaholic and has very little spare time. He shoots between 6:20 and 6:45 am because that's right before he leaves for work. He only gets up 20 minutes before that, so we couldn't get a +11 in the morning. I could do one in the afternoon, though. I'm a night owl and that's why I'm able to test him at PM+6 and even +8. I don't shoot unless I have to because I have severe arthiritis in my hands and I just can't seem to manipulate the syringe. Just doing the BG testing is enough of a challenge for me. I'm getting my DH to read the stickies, one by one and quoting them to him whenever the situation arises. I think he understands better about not changing the dose without good cause. His thinking is straight forward - if the number goes up, give more. If it goes down, give less. I've had to work to get him away from that, but he's getting better. Cinco's numbers this evening have been great, so I think 1.0 was the way to go, even though his PMPS was green. I'll know more, of course, after I check him at +6. We will be sticking with 1.0 - I made sure my husband understands that, no matter what the AMPS is! (okay, unless it's really, really low, in which case he's supposed to wake me up!) I'm feeling very encouraged, though, because in spite of our ineptitude, the kitty seems to be getting better and better! :smile: I just thank God for all the help you people on the Board are giving me. You're keeping me sane. Thank you!

- Tricia & Cinco
DX 06/23/11

https://spreadsheets.google.com/spr...gVSWwdEp4OWZpVXZCd05WV0taYmJRb1JmVXc&hl=en_US
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top