Din
Member Since 2023
I’ll ask @Bandit's Mom to have a look at the signature for you.
Finally I saved it Bron Thank you.
I’ll ask @Bandit's Mom to have a look at the signature for you.
Looking at Cierra's spreadsheet (SS), she needs more insulin. If you're planning on following SLGS, you would increase the dose by 0.25u.
Is there a reason you're opting to follow SLGS vs Tight Regulation (TR)? You're testing enough to consider TR and with TR, if the nadirs are generally over 300, you can increase by 0.5u. TR is more aggressive but Cierra has been sitting in high numbers for a while and a more aggressive approach at least in the short term may be helpful. It's at least something for you to consider.
Looking at Cierra's spreadsheet (SS), she needs more insulin. If you're planning on following SLGS, you would increase the dose by 0.25u.
Is there a reason you're opting to follow SLGS vs Tight Regulation (TR)? You're testing enough to consider TR and with TR, if the nadirs are generally over 300, you can increase by 0.5u. TR is more aggressive but Cierra has been sitting in high numbers for a while and a more aggressive approach at least in the short term may be helpful. It's at least something for you to consider.
regarding carbs still I'am confuse .
It should be under 10%
is that mean if one can mentioned 2% carb I can give her 5 cans per 24 hours( Per day.)
so 2 times 5 = 10
is that correct.
please help me to 0 % carb food because Cierra is always hungry and every day I have to give her more than 10% carb / or more than 5 cans.
Looking at Cierra's spreadsheet (SS), she needs more insulin. If you're planning on following SLGS, you would increase the dose by 0.25u.
Is there a reason you're opting to follow SLGS vs Tight Regulation (TR)? You're testing enough to consider TR and with TR, if the nadirs are generally over 300, you can increase by 0.5u. TR is more aggressive but Cierra has been sitting in high numbers for a while and a more aggressive approach at least in the short term may be helpful. It's at least something for you to consider.
Hi Din, if you are still confused about carbs, then think of it this way: an example:
You go to doctor about the food you eat, you tell him all the things you eat in one day.
-you eat lots of meat each day (50% of your food is meat) ~1/2 protein and fat
-you eat lots of potatoes each day (25% of your food is Starch) similar to ~1/4 Carbs
-you do not eat many fruits and vegetables ( 25% of your food is fibre, moisture, nutrients, vitamins)
Doctor says "No, no, this is not good!! ... TOOOO many potatoes!! (Too many Carbs) Eat more fruits and vegetables every day!!!! Eat less potatoes please!
Your new healthy diet from Doctor is 25% meat, 5% potatoes (Carbs), and 70% fruit and veg. And this always adds to 100% (everything you eat)
Same idea with different cat foods (it is just all in one can).... 2 or 20 or 50 cans of 4% Carb food is still 4% carbs
Another example may help:
Ciera eats 1 can of 4% carb in morning
Ciera eats 1 can of 6% carb in the evening
She eats half of each type (4% and 6%)
Math: We take an average of these two, so she is getting 5% carbs in her total daily diet

If you are saying the PMPS is 17 i would give the usual dose of insulin@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Ale & Minnie (GA)
Her sensor not reading and last one is 13 something. I didn’t give her shot yet . Do I need to give atleast 0.5 units or shouldn’t I give her insulin at all?
****Just read it as 17
If you are saying the PMPS is 17 i would give the usual dose of insulin
Is the libre working again
Why don’t you think about getting a hand held meter ?@Bron and Sheba (GA)
yes it’s working but sensor stopping sometimes as it’s last 24 hours. I bought another but later appointment is Saturday to attach it. I’m thinking to do it by our self next time as currently we are having financial issues.
Why don’t you think about getting a hand held meter ?
No, you will find cats don’t really mind having their ears tested.I have to buy one to use situation like this. ( number are low and sensor not working) but I’m afraid to use it . It might be really hurt ? Isn’t it ?
@Bron and Sheba (GA)No, you will find cats don’t really mind having their ears tested.
A good meter is the ReliOn premier which is $9 and 100 test strips is $17.88
You will also need a box of lancets…make sure you get size 26 or 28 gauge lancets.
And some cotton rounds to help behind the ear.
Have a look at the link below
HOMETESTING HINTS AND LINKS
Do they sell those in Australia? That’s great!No, you will find cats don’t really mind having their ears tested.
A good meter is the ReliOn premier which is $9 and 100 test strips is $17.88
You will also need a box of lancets…make sure you get size 26 or 28 gauge lancets.
And some cotton rounds to help behind the ear.
Have a look at the link below
HOMETESTING HINTS AND LINKS
I would change to fancy feast. But do it slowly. It is cheaper than the prescription food.
I gave you the wrong information about the test meter. I was forgetting you live in Australia and I gave you Us information.
You won’t be able to buy the meter I mentioned post 63 in Australia.
The accuchek or the Abbott freestyle Optium are both good meters. You can get them online or from pharmacies in Australia
I don’t think you need to check the BG every hour during the night. You will get exhausted. I would drop it to every 2 or 3 hours if the BGs are yellow or pink and see how that goes.
I hope all goes well with the birth!
Who is looking after her while you are in hospital?
Do you have another libre attached or are you testing yourself?

therefore she try to hide. I don't think at the moment the insulin needs to be reduced. I think if it is still the same when you come out of hospital, you will need to increase the dose 0.25 units twice a day. That doesn't mean it won't eventually come back down again but at the moment she is needing more insulin.
Don't do it without checking in here first in case things change please.Okay Bron Thank you , I will increase .25 units when I come back from hospital.
Don't do it without checking in here first in case things change please.
Please let us know how you get on with the birth! Exciting!
Hi Din, you will find some general information in the "Stickys" and links but you will NOT find a "Simple Guide to Dosing".We have to learn how to reduce the dose accorting to the BG level. I try to find it but could not.

Hi Din, you will find some general information in the "Stickys" and links but you will NOT find a "Simple Guide to Dosing".
The experts here will always help decide a dosage change, and they must consider many, many things (not just BG) before they make a recommendation. They have years of experience with Feline Diabetes and every cat has a unique requirement. You are correct.... always ask before you change the dose![]()

I’m very glad to hear Cierra is getting treatment in hospital. It’s the best place for her at the moment.
I think they did the right thing giving some insulin last night. Diabetic cats need insulin, especially when they are unwell as other things can go wrong if they don’t get the insulin they need.
Please let us know how she is getting along![]()


Thank you everyone ....Prayers for Cierra. She is being helped by the vet team.
That vet has no idea what he is talking about. I can promise you changing from their diabetic food to fancy feast did not, in any way, cause the current problem.vet said this happen because of I changed her food from diabetic to fancy feast.
Also I have not seen the numbers 6000+ or 5400+ used for pancreatitis before. Can you please ask the vet for a copy of the blood results. You are paying for them so they are yours. Don’t take no for an answer. Remember Cierra can not talk for herself. You must do it for her.
Oh my goodness!
Lantus is given every 12 hours. Humans have it every 24 hours. Cats have a faster metabolism than humans so need it every 12 hours. To give 6 units at once is dangerous and plain stupid. And they are negligent if they were going to give 3 units again this morning after 6 units last night.
That vet has no idea what he is talking about. I can promise you changing from their diabetic food to fancy feast did not, in any way, cause the current problem.
Is there any other vet you can take her to. I’m sorry to say those vets are totally incompetent and negligent.
I am so sorry this is happening to you and Cierra
Yes the are neglected. Just because of my girl got low sugar they didn’t give insulin this morning otherwise they going to give 3 units in the morning,I’m crying and crying but I’m helpless Bron. As I said on beginning of our story other vet place- vet said I have to sleep Cierra. But this vet recovered my girl. I’m in regional area NSW . We have 4 vet place. One is not Taking new patients. They are full. I can not trust any vet anymore…. They don’t love our babies. They just need money.
Where abouts in NSW? I am in Sydney.
Can you ask about what the 6000+ test is please. I have not heard of a result line that.
Also don’t let the nurses make you feel bad. Cierra is your cat and you are entitled to ask as many questions as you want to.
please tell them that cats have a faster metabolism than humans and need insulin every 12 hours. Can you show them your spreadsheet?