Chuck's bouncy journey.

Status
Not open for further replies.
He was 225 right after eating. IDK if the 0.5 unit even went it. Could be a fur shot. He squirmed AGAIN. It's so hard to tell with those little doses if they actually went in. I wait til I feel the needle poke through the skin then push but it just doesn't feel right I guess. Paranoid because I won't be home today. DH will check him at +4.
 
Absolutely! His Nadir was late last night. That is good right? As long as he's going steady and not too low... I could do last night over and over... maybe not start as high of course but the rate he was dropping at was nice. Hopefully he's going to regulated easier soon.
Still very nervous about this morning. Can't shut it off in my head.
 
Week, you knew your amps shot was a little lower than usual, but safe when you wouldn't be home. Always better safe than sorry. You can get him back on track. :bighug:
 
AM shot was definitely a fur shot. Was 545 for PMPS @550. Down to 446 @ +2. I plan on testing again at +4, +6, +8, maybe +10 to see where his nadir is... I also FINALLY scheduled him to see his new vet (actually saw her back in 2007). They said over the phone that they are very "pro home health care and screening". I just hope his insulin lasts until the 18th. I think it will but knowing my luck... I'm sure they will get me in sooner if needed or just prescribe more if after they get his records.
 
His numbers are going down slowly. I predict high blues for AMPS again. If he is around 180-200 should I try half a unit again or do 1 unit and see what happens? Or maybe 0.75? 1.5 dropped him real low on a 155 pmps. He tends to spike 300 without insulin so I figured he would spike at least 150 with insulin. HAH joke was on me. So I'm hesitant to shoot any more than 1 unit and that's if he's 190-200.
 
Was 116 @ +11 when DH was going to feed him. Told him to feed him and I would test again in 2 hours. Got caught up and tested again in 2.5 hours. 449. So I gave 3 units and I'll try to check @ +2/+3 to see how he's going.
 
The blessing is the time he spends in numbers under 250, Steph. We think 250 and below helps the pancreas heal (renal threshold). And, except for those frustrating bounces, (Which gratefully don't seem to last the sometimes 6 cycles) his numbers are in good ranges.
 
Ok friends! I'm pretty happy with today's numbers! He's 136 @ 10.75... He was 126 @ +8 hours. So that's a very slow increase! I'm going to check him at +11.5 to work on getting him back on schedule. (around 5-530 am/pm now.) My question is... even though we know he USUALLY increases 300 points from his meal, do we give him insulin? I did that one day- shot 1.5 units on a 155 thinking he'd get up to 450ish after eating and that did NOT happen. And my "safe" mornings prove that half a unit is too little? I was thinking about trying a 0.5 or 0.75. I will be home to monitor. If I try a small dose that like and he's not going down by +2/+3 can he get a little more then (kinda like feeding then shooting- changing the schedule) or is it once you shoot- you wait for 12 hours?
 
I remember that night when we expected him to rise after pmps and he surprised us! Some people give a smaller dose and then another one a hour or two later. I've never been a big fan. To me, it complicates things. I'd rather you try a 0.75 and see it to the end of the cycle. If it's too much, then you give a little less the next time. If it looks good, you keep that result in your data kit. MHO.
 
I remember that night when we expected him to rise after pmps and he surprised us! Some people give a smaller dose and then another one a hour or two later. I've never been a big fan. To me, it complicates things. I'd rather you try a 0.75 and see it to the end of the cycle. If it's too much, then you give a little less the next time. If it looks good, you keep that result in your data kit. MHO.
Yes, DH is already confused about feeding him then waiting 2 hours so I think I'll give him the 0.75 and monitor. I feel a bit better about how much food to give and how long to wait to see if he's slowing down or rising. He's currently behind me barking out orders to feed him immediately. haha. He still has half hour or so to go... Poor starving kitty. ;) I might see if he wants to go outside for a bit before dinner. Otherwise he won't leave the table until he's fed.
 
UGH I could kick my own a**!! I left April's dog food on the floor and he got into it. I don't know how much he ate. I can not believe I did that. He's up to 211 @ +12 now. So I'll give him 1.5 units. Maybe 1.75?
 
Strange day today. Numbers didn't go down like I expected. He was "HI" again at PMPS. NO other food available. Fed his 4 oz this morning and that was it! I don't know if this is left over from getting into the dog food? He didn't really get down much today from his 3.5units this morning. I gave him 4 units tonight and will monitor.
 
It can take up to 76 hours to clear the carb load. Do you feed all the animals together? If not, I would suggest trying that. I do that and everyone is done about the same time and I can keep my eye on picking up dog bowls off the floor when they are done and then shoot insulin. ( I don't leave the kitchen until the dog bowls are rinsed and in the sink. I am the food police 6AM and again at PM. :rolleyes: I don't trust Bubba.
 
Yes, Kitty is a priss. He won't eat 4oz at once. He needs to eat it in 345 meals a day. Haha but I'm working on getting him into 4 times a day. April gets 2 cups a day and usually eats 4 times a day. I just get side tracked and forget. I try to stand by her dish while she eats and pick it up right when she's done then put it in the cupboard. I do the same with Kitty.
I can't trust Chuck not to get into anything. He just ate 4oz food and .5 oz pumpkin and be fished a piece of dog food out from between the fridge and cupboard and swallowed it whole. Right after dinner tonight! So... I'm now working on my hands and knees cleaning under and around everything in the kitchen. I caught him eating a moth last night. Gave him a few tiny pieces of chicken thinking it would help. Hah. Nope he was still "starving".
 
Oh Steph, you poor thing, I couldn't help not to laugh picturing you crawling around on your hands and knees looking for food contraband. It is hard when you have multiple animals with different eating styles. The weirdest thing I witnessed Bubba eating when he was starving due to ketones, was the little round tip on the top of the lancet. I had pulled it off and layed in on the table next to Bubba so I could test him and before I knew it, he ate it!
 
Wow! I plan on getting a ketone test today. Last one was 3 days ago I think. But the high numbers make me nervous.
And it is quite comical. Whatever I pull out the April and Chuck try to inspect it first. They got sent outside for a few minutes... they think they're helping but they really aren't! Haha
 
OK. So he's at 168 +10. I don't know if he's going to hit 200 by 4:15am. If he's close we will stall but if not I might try .5 or .75 units? He dropped a lot and too much at 155 with 1.5 units insulin. So I think half would probably do him good. I can monitor until +8ish. Let me know what you think if you see this before 4:15-430am. I would really like to keep him in the yellows and blues... but don't want to make him go hypo either.
 
He was 174 AMPS. DH fed him "what was left in the can" because our scale battery died. So he got around 5oz this morning. He gave him 0.5 units. +2 was 260. +5.5 370. (if I remember the +5.5 right could be 350 or 390) my memory is awful.
I thought for sure .5 units would keep him low yellows. I was to nervous to go higher because I couldn't check between +2 and +6 (did get back a half hour earlier than I thought)
Is it possible the insulin effects are different in the morning/daytime hours vs the evening/night hours? My brain is going in circles trying to figure out how his body reacts. I am pretty cautious in the mornings...I will have to start taking bigger risks in the morning.
 
Possible. Also possible that this cycle is a bounce from last night's blues. And yes, day and night can be different, depending on activity and food differences. But Steph, try not to go crazy figuring him out. Celebrate that you are seeing more blues and yellows and getting preshots in lower ranges. Contrast that to the reds/blacks before. Yes, he is hard to predict, but they all are. Insulin is a hormone, and can produce different results day to day (think teenage boy). Your job is to figure out the best dose possible and keep him in lower ranges as often as possible.

Where ARE those patience pants? :p
 
Teenage boy! Haha yes! Always hungry, complaining, or sleeping. I feel guilty when he gets higher than I thought he would... I love that he's getting blues! I caught him and Kitty playing the other night. They like to high five over and over til one tackles the other... they didn't tackle each other but that's OK with me! 17.5 pounds vs 9 pounds isn't a fair game!
 
Think you deserve a medal! Lol I'm so delighted - been catching up on the last weeks 'activities' ;) everyone is doing so well.. Well done Steph :)
 
Looks like we are going to have another nice and BLUE night tonight. Well for the second half of the 12 hours anyways. I'll take it. Trying to calm my nerves over being 206 at +4.5. He won't get under 60. *chanting in my brain every time I get anxious*. I'm going to check him again at +6. Trying to force myself not to poke him every hour. Save money on strips and save little ears. I predict 140-150 for +6 based on the numbers from his spreadsheet.
 
HAHA idk why I try to predict anything. He's 109 @ +6. Since his nadir has been past +6 lately I gave him half an ounce of his normal food. I'll check again in 30 minutes.
 
Very nice, Steph. I like the slow drop in preshots and doses. Those patience pants are serving you well.

I replied to your thread on Health. Wish I had more ideas. Mogs is right - a vet visit might be a good idea. I know that is hard, if the only complaint is not gaining weight - makes it hard for a vet to narrow down possibilities, especially for a diabetic.
 
Should I be worried about the 115 point drop in 15 minutes time? I thought this morning would be good but he was higher all day. Now I gave him 3.5 on a 488 PMPS. He was 600+ at +1. Then 508 at +1.75. I was worried about the 100ish point drop so I tested again in 15 minutes at +2 he was 393. 115 point drop. I'm going to test again in 15 minutes. That will be about 30 minutes from last test.
 
Should I be worried about the 115 point drop in 15 minutes time? I thought this morning would be good but he was higher all day. Now I gave him 3.5 on a 488 PMPS. He was 600+ at +1. Then 508 at +1.75. I was worried about the 100ish point drop so I tested again in 15 minutes at +2 he was 393. 115 point drop. I'm going to test again in 15 minutes. That will be about 30 minutes from last test.
I would give a little LC food to slow down the drop. Chuck is in safe numbers but the fast drop could set him up to bounce .
 
I gave a half ounce of his food. I tested right before and in 20 minutes it hasn't moved it was 394. Maybe I should have checked before the food? I rather be safe than sorry so I probably would have given a bit anyways. I will test again in about 25 mintues. That will give his me +3 reading.
 
309 +7.
AMPS 254?! What the heck?! Feed 4oz. 45 minutes after eating he was 600+ "HI" on the meter. 1.5 units didn't work before on 250s so I Gave 3 units. I'll check when I get home, which will be +1 after shot and + 1.5 after meal. Plan on giving him a small meal 1-2oz today, planned on +4 then +8 but might be earlier.
 
Yes. Hi both readings. I think the 254 may have been a false low and DH didn't recheck. I just tested again, 55 minutes after the shot and he's still "HI". :(
 
I'm not sure why DH didn't give him the shot. I guess he thought I would be up earlier than I got up. I didn't get downstairs til 550, tested at 555. He was fed at 530. Just woke DH up to get specific times. I don't see how he went down from 309 @ +7... I honestly was expecting a 400-500 reading this morning.
I will be here to monitor until about +6.5 then I won't be here til his PMPS time.
He's drinking a lot right now so I know he's high. I'll get a ketone test this morning, I hope.
Just a strange morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top