Every day is a new day, Steph. Just look at how much more blue is on his SS recently.AMPS "HI". ugh.
5.6 units given.
I expected a higher preshot but at most I expected pinks. I guess the two snacks were too much with the reduced dose.
Oh well. Here goes another cycle. Paws crossed for surfing in the blues!
He's responded well to the 5.6 u, Steph. He came down uneventfully from 428 to a nadir that's around 50% of that. If the second half of the curve is the mirror image then I'd say you want to shift the whole curve downward with a dose increase. Now, Chuck being Chuck, that's not as simple as it sounds ...PMPS 428. 5.6 units given.
+2 362
+4 220
+6 208
I feel for you, Steph! He's a tough nut to crack but you're getting there.+10 198
+12/AMPS 319
5.4 units given. Not giving +2 shot to see if the bigger dose lasts longer, which it usually does. I think the .2 boost helped him surf longer.
I'm really starting to think if he's above 250 the 5.4 unit is the lowest I should give him.
He did well on a 5 unit shot on a preshot of 231 on 12/7 so maybe 5.2 would be the most 200-250. That way he's not getting big dose changes...
Will have to wait for a blue PS to try a token dose of 2 or 2.5. but my gut says it's going to be around 4 on those days. But then again I could be wrong. He loves proving me wrong.

No reason to feel uncomfortable posting, Tara. You know this battle as well as any of us.Just popped in to give you a bit of moral support and to let you know I'm still keeping tabs even if I'm not feeling comfortable posting much!keep going folks!
![]()
No reason to feel uncomfortable posting, Tara. You know this battle as well as any of us.![]()
Oops, sorry ...It's not that Kris.
Moral support is appreciated!! It can be quite the roller coaster trying to figure this out!No reason to feel uncomfortable posting, Tara. You know this battle as well as any of us.![]()

I think in this FD dance, Chuck is fond of doing the jitterbug instead of the waltz! Or maybe break dancing ...Holy cow.
AMPS 429!
What in the h3ll?! no food or contraband.
5.6 units given if he doesn't respond well to this 5.6 I'm keeping him on 5.8 for a few cycles, unless he gets under 250 for a preshot then I'll probably need advice on a dose for that.
Crazy cat.
I guess I don't understand why after 10+ hours of no food that his numbers go up so much when the insulin "runs out" or gets used up...
What causes that increase?















All you can do, Steph, is what you're doing.Oy! We were doing great today.
AMPS 429
+2.5 342
+3.45 264
+6.5 185
+7.5 179
PMPS "HI"
I just don't get it... He surfed in the mid yellows yesterday. A blue today isn't that far off. I don't know why he's bouncing like this. I've searched the house for contraband. I have found none! *deep breath*
I'm sticking with the 5.8 for a few cycles... maybe he will get use to the lower numbers and stop bouncing so hard?
Makes life complicated but he's worth it!So I forgot we have to leave before 3pm tomorrow so we had to move his shot up 1 hour and 45 minutes vs 5 hours late. So his AMPS was at +10.15 and his 5.8 unit shot was 387 at +10.5. DH will be able to test +2 and +4. I can test for the rest of the cycle.
He's crazy-making for sure, Steph, but there's are definitely more blue and less red on your SS now.How crazy is it that I first came here worrying about giving him a 7 unit shot that made him almost go hypo--- guidance from you wonderful people saved him. Here we are 1 unit away from that original dose that brought me here... *sigh* Lots of tears lately. I really thought we were getting somewhere but the day we had two blue preshots was when he had a mid cycle micro dose. I thought about trying that this weekend again. See if we get him lower all together then see what dose will keep him down there.
Thank you for the encouragement! I think we are going to go with the 6 units! I always feel better about it when someone else agrees!I'm not an expert, but given how well he responded yesterday and since you & DH will be able to monitor I say go for the 6u. You're really making progress!
Thank you for the encouragement! I think we are going to go with the 6 units! I always feel better about it when someone else agrees!

Looks like 4 u should be OK under 200. Can't predict anything with these guys though!Looks like we might be able to try that token dose today!
+10 166!!!
DH is going to feed him and give him insulin and check him at +2 then I will be home by +3.5.
Should we try the 4 units if below 200?
He did well on a 5 unit shot @ 231 pmps on 12/7
12/12 he did well with a pmps 281 with 5.1 unit (fat 5) and then a .2u at +2...
So I think the 4 units should be safe but we sure do know what happens if we try to predict it!
I will be here to give a micro dose if he needs it-- I wanted to try the +6 microdose again anyways but if we can keep him down I would prefer that!
Please give me your thoughts! I will relay them to DH before he gives him his shot. We will probably feed the 4.5oz and I'll give him more if he needs it as a snack.
(I'm excited but it always happens when I can't be RIGHT here to monitor!) He will only be alone between +2.15 and +3.5 the latest.
How are you entering the microdoses on the SS? I can't seem to find them.I enter them with the readings at those hours. On 12/12 PM .2 unit is on the +2 entry. 12/9 it's entered on +6Looks like 4 u should be OK under 200. Can't predict anything with these guys though!How are you entering the microdoses on the SS? I can't seem to find them.
Found it! I'm blind ...I enter them with the readings at those hours. On 12/12 PM .2 unit is on the +2 entry. 12/9 it's entered on +6
Yellow is a pretty and cheerful colour! Yep! That's the way to stay sane - by not expecting instant positive results.Ok.
PMPS was 243! Yay for yellow!!
Fed 4.5 oz
Skinny 6 units given.
DH will check 1.5 or 1.45 and I'll home by +3 or +3.5
I think he will be fine. Doesn't start dropping a lot until +4/+5 anyway.
Nervous but excited over better numbers. Hopefully we can get his body to accept the lower numbers without the bounce... Eventually...