Chuck's bouncy journey, part 6.

Status
Not open for further replies.
+ 2 134
First reading said 42. My heart almost stopped! Second one said 134. Gave him a little more food to steer... Still have 4 hours to drop. Should be fine. I don't want to steer him right into black!
 
Last edited:
He is looking good Steph, and those are beautiful numbers and it is a real juggling act to keep them surfing and not send to the moon. You are doing a good job steering. Hope he can stay in the beautiful blues most of the cycle and dip his toes into the lagoon.
 
+4 131
I sure hope he surfs instead of going to the moon! I'm going to try to take a quick nap and test again in a hour to see if he's still surfing. I don't see the insulin lasting too much past +6 especially with the extra food. I really really want to keep him under 250 for a couple days! Maybe his body will start to heal and take care of some glucose itself! I'm not his favorite person right now! Too many pokes- not enough treats! Spoiled boy.
 
+5 130 looks like he's surfing! *Knock on wood*
I'll check again at +6 if I hear my alarm. I've been up all night. I'd like to catch when he starts going up to see how long the 4 units lasts with the extra bit of food. I hope he surfs til the end of the cycle but I won't hold my breath.
 
+5 130 looks like he's surfing! *Knock on wood*
I'll check again at +6 if I hear my alarm. I've been up all night. I'd like to catch when he starts going up to see how long the 4 units lasts with the extra bit of food. I hope he surfs til the end of the cycle but I won't hold my breath.
You're a champion dose wrangler, Steph! I can tell Chuck means the world to you, along with your other furries. :D
 
+7 285 :blackeye:
Steered too much or it quit too soon.
Nice long lap now and start over again in 5 hours!
 
What great numbers, you're really handling this well! So nice to see him hang out there for a while. And thanks for the pictures, he's really a handsome boy!
 
I thought the amount of food wasn't going to spike him but in the end he ended up "hi" for pmps. OY:banghead:
Gave 6 units and was out of the house til +10. He was 547 by then so I just fed him and gave him another 6 units.
AMPS (+10) 547 gave him 6 units. Which works out for tomorrow afternoon because we have to leave around 230-3pm and should be home by +4.5 or +5.
Then we will be wrapping christmas presents... He LOVES to wrap presents! lol

Maybe some bounce from being in the 100s for 10ish hours? So the dance starts again.
I thought the 4 units was too much for the 144. Maybe 3.6 or 3.8 next time? I'll try my best not to steer right away and check every half hour to see where he's going. We know the 4 units with .75 food was taking him down or surfing for 5 or 6 hours then he started going up... So if he has the room to drop I would do a 4 unit on 175-200. I think maybe 3.8 on anything lower and see where that takes us. I get nervous in the blues when they are so early.
 
I thought the amount of food wasn't going to spike him but in the end he ended up "hi" for pmps. OY:banghead:
Gave 6 units and was out of the house til +10. He was 547 by then so I just fed him and gave him another 6 units.
AMPS (+10) 547 gave him 6 units. Which works out for tomorrow afternoon because we have to leave around 230-3pm and should be home by +4.5 or +5.
Then we will be wrapping christmas presents... He LOVES to wrap presents! lol

Maybe some bounce from being in the 100s for 10ish hours? So the dance starts again.
I thought the 4 units was too much for the 144. Maybe 3.6 or 3.8 next time? I'll try my best not to steer right away and check every half hour to see where he's going. We know the 4 units with .75 food was taking him down or surfing for 5 or 6 hours then he started going up... So if he has the room to drop I would do a 4 unit on 175-200. I think maybe 3.8 on anything lower and see where that takes us. I get nervous in the blues when they are so early.

I can well imagine that Chuck likes to help with wrapping presents, based on the way he likes to help you sew. :D
Well done you for keeping on top of this boy! I think he's even harder to figure out than Teasel ...
 
Last edited:
Looks like we are fighting a bounce tonight. Hoping to see better numbers tomorrow morning.
Negative for ketones!
 
AMPS 316
6 units
+2 359
+3 210
+3.5 157
.5 chicken baby food and .25 food given
+6 136
I'm not home of course! Hopefully he went drop much more. Looks like we need to lower his morning dose a bit. Maybe by 0.2?
 
Last edited:
AMPS 316
6 units
+2 359
+3 210
+4 157
.5 chicken baby food and .25 food given
+6 136
I'm not home of course! Hopefully he went drop much more. Looks like we need to lower his morning dose a bit. Maybe by 0.2?
Maybe 0.2. His +6 is pretty good but a slightly smaller drop would be better.
 
That's what I was thinking. A slower or smaller drop would probably prevent a bounce too.
I also wondered if my dog was dropping some food on the floor and not eating those pieces that fall... Then Chuck finds them. It's a possibility for his high reading yesterday. I watched her eat last night and two pieces fell on the floor. I pointed to them and she ate them but wasn't going to until I pointed them out. Thinking about trying the "neater feeder" for her now. Or trying to find something to hide or trap the stray pieces.
I'm happy to see him still responding as strong to the 6 units!
 
That's what I was thinking. A slower or smaller drop would probably prevent a bounce too.
I also wondered if my dog was dropping some food on the floor and not eating those pieces that fall... Then Chuck finds them. It's a possibility for his high reading yesterday. I watched her eat last night and two pieces fell on the floor. I pointed to them and she ate them but wasn't going to until I pointed them out. Thinking about trying the "neater feeder" for her now. Or trying to find something to hide or trap the stray pieces.
I'm happy to see him still responding as strong to the 6 units!
Yes, he's doing really well. He's very complicated and so carb sensitive. Teasel went lower than i'd like two days ago and I gave him some gravy style Friskies for lunch - very little effect, although he might have dipped lower without.
 
Yeah I was kinda regretting giving him baby food AND .25 of his normal food. Thinking he'd be 600+ in no time but looks like it was a good idea. His reading times are off...I didn't have his amps time (2:40am) right in my head when calculating. I'm going to correct my post.
 
PMPS: 198
fed 4.5oz food plus .25oz pumpkin.
Gave him 5.6 units
+1.5 237
+2 184 0.3oz food snack
 
+15 minutes from karo and pumpkin 90
+15 minutes from then 80!
Gave him a drop of karo on his gums, he's still hungry but a bit dopey.
Gave him a spoon of Kitty's Mariners catch pate.
 
He wanted to get into Kitty's pate, would have let him but worried he might need more karo. Can't fill up yet!
 
+15 minutes from karo and pumpkin 90
+15 minutes from then 80!
Gave him a drop of karo on his gums, he's still hungry but a bit dopey.
Gave him a spoon of Kitty's Mariners catch pate.
Do you have any higher carb food with gravy? Maybe give a teaspoon of gravy. It might hang around longer because it's starchy rather than sugary. Keep testing and posting.
 
I just gave him a spoonful of gravy off Purina beef stew dog food and some ya mature zero. I know the ya is zero carbs but he still reacts to it like he does the chicken. The can that I thought was higher carb cat food was dog food. Must have either fed the cat food to the dog or threw it away.

What a mess I've made.
 
Keep testing and give a bit of gravy. You don't want to give too much and fill him up because you might be at this a while. Once you have 3 readings that show a definite rise you can increase the time between tests and back off on the gravy.
 
He's purring and grooming himself... Plotting his revenge, I'm sure!! Giving me the evil eye!
 
He is NOT happy with me.
Think it's OK to test again in 45 minutes or should I go to 30 minutes? I think he's in the clear... But I think A LOT of things and end up WRONG!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top