Chuck's bouncy journey, part 6.

Status
Not open for further replies.

StephG

Very Active Member
AMPS "HI". ugh.
5.6 units given.
I expected a higher preshot but at most I expected pinks. I guess the two snacks were too much with the reduced dose.
Oh well. Here goes another cycle. Paws crossed for surfing in the blues!
 
AMPS "HI". ugh.
5.6 units given.
I expected a higher preshot but at most I expected pinks. I guess the two snacks were too much with the reduced dose.
Oh well. Here goes another cycle. Paws crossed for surfing in the blues!
Every day is a new day, Steph. Just look at how much more blue is on his SS recently. :)
 
PMPS 428. 5.6 units given.
+2 362
+4 220
+6 208
He's responded well to the 5.6 u, Steph. He came down uneventfully from 428 to a nadir that's around 50% of that. If the second half of the curve is the mirror image then I'd say you want to shift the whole curve downward with a dose increase. Now, Chuck being Chuck, that's not as simple as it sounds ... :)
 
Agreed. I think those higher doses work well on the higher ranges. Now to figure out how to approach those sometimes lower preshots with a dose he likes - consistently (hah)
 
PMPS 281
I gave him a "Fat" 5units. Then gave him a .2u dose at +2.
He's been spiking at the end of the cycle so hopefully this will work. 281 pmps- I was worried of going too much- he did well on a 5 unit so I figured 5.2/5.3 he'd do great on... lol we will see because that is the one thing that seems to be impossible- predicting his levels!
+1 411
+2 381
+3 361
 
+6 250. Would have liked to see lower but he is reaching Nadir later than +6 so I'll keep hope that he will drop more.
 
+10 198
+12/AMPS 319
5.4 units given. Not giving +2 shot to see if the bigger dose lasts longer, which it usually does. I think the .2 boost helped him surf longer.
I'm really starting to think if he's above 250 the 5.4 unit is the lowest I should give him.
He did well on a 5 unit shot on a preshot of 231 on 12/7 so maybe 5.2 would be the most 200-250. That way he's not getting big dose changes...
Will have to wait for a blue PS to try a token dose of 2 or 2.5. but my gut says it's going to be around 4 on those days. But then again I could be wrong. He loves proving me wrong.
 
+10 198
+12/AMPS 319
5.4 units given. Not giving +2 shot to see if the bigger dose lasts longer, which it usually does. I think the .2 boost helped him surf longer.
I'm really starting to think if he's above 250 the 5.4 unit is the lowest I should give him.
He did well on a 5 unit shot on a preshot of 231 on 12/7 so maybe 5.2 would be the most 200-250. That way he's not getting big dose changes...
Will have to wait for a blue PS to try a token dose of 2 or 2.5. but my gut says it's going to be around 4 on those days. But then again I could be wrong. He loves proving me wrong.
I feel for you, Steph! He's a tough nut to crack but you're getting there.
 
Just popped in to give you a bit of moral support and to let you know I'm still keeping tabs even if I'm not feeling comfortable posting much! :) keep going folks! :bighug:
 
No reason to feel uncomfortable posting, Tara. You know this battle as well as any of us. :)
Moral support is appreciated!! It can be quite the roller coaster trying to figure this out! :bighug:

EDIT: oops quoted the wrong one! TempestsMum-- your support is appreciated! As well as everyone else!
 
PMPS 469. He was doing great til I decided to give him a snack! *grrr* but I had to leave and I didn't want him to drop too much while I left. .3oz baby food and 1 oz water usually doesn't jack him up like that so I'm wondering if he's bouncing a bit...
I gave him 5.8 units tonight. Going to try that for the next few cycles unless he gives me yellow preshots again.
 
I think we are fighting a bounce today... unless he's going to go down more tonight- which is possible with him because he is so weird!
5.8 should have gotten him in the blues easily. No snacks, no contraband.
+6 244
+8 244
 
+10 248!!
5.8 is definitely lasting longer than the 5.6!
I'm wondering if I should give him 5.4 or 5.6... Looks like his preshot is going to be in the yellows or very low pink.
DH can test until +4 and I can take over at +6...
 
Last edited:
Holy cow.
AMPS 429!
What in the h3ll?! no food or contraband.
5.6 units given if he doesn't respond well to this 5.6 I'm keeping him on 5.8 for a few cycles, unless he gets under 250 for a preshot then I'll probably need advice on a dose for that.
Crazy cat.
I guess I don't understand why after 10+ hours of no food that his numbers go up so much when the insulin "runs out" or gets used up...
What causes that increase?
 
Well food is just one thing that causes higher numbers. If the insulin gets used up or runs out, his BG will naturally go up. Food causes it to go up even with insulin on board...the insulin makes it come back down. Without iinsulin...there's nothing to make it come down.
 
Holy cow.
AMPS 429!
What in the h3ll?! no food or contraband.
5.6 units given if he doesn't respond well to this 5.6 I'm keeping him on 5.8 for a few cycles, unless he gets under 250 for a preshot then I'll probably need advice on a dose for that.
Crazy cat.
I guess I don't understand why after 10+ hours of no food that his numbers go up so much when the insulin "runs out" or gets used up...
What causes that increase?
I think in this FD dance, Chuck is fond of doing the jitterbug instead of the waltz! Or maybe break dancing ...
 
Oy! We were doing great today.
AMPS 429
+2.5 342
+3.45 264
+6.5 185
+7.5 179

PMPS "HI" :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::blackeye:

I just don't get it... He surfed in the mid yellows yesterday. A blue today isn't that far off. I don't know why he's bouncing like this. I've searched the house for contraband. I have found none! *deep breath*
I'm sticking with the 5.8 for a few cycles... maybe he will get use to the lower numbers and stop bouncing so hard?
 
Oy! We were doing great today.
AMPS 429
+2.5 342
+3.45 264
+6.5 185
+7.5 179

PMPS "HI" :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh::blackeye:

I just don't get it... He surfed in the mid yellows yesterday. A blue today isn't that far off. I don't know why he's bouncing like this. I've searched the house for contraband. I have found none! *deep breath*
I'm sticking with the 5.8 for a few cycles... maybe he will get use to the lower numbers and stop bouncing so hard?
All you can do, Steph, is what you're doing.
 
+2 481
+4.5 231
+6 219
+8 276 :(
I guess on a 600+ that's a great drop so we will see what 5.8 gets us on a red...

What do you think about giving him 5.4 then .4 at +2?
My only worry is that on days that I can't be here at +2 to give the other portion and test after that.
 
So I forgot we have to leave before 3pm tomorrow so we had to move his shot up 1 hour and 45 minutes vs 5 hours late. So his AMPS was at +10.15 and his 5.8 unit shot was 387 at +10.5. DH will be able to test +2 and +4. I can test for the rest of the cycle.
 
So I forgot we have to leave before 3pm tomorrow so we had to move his shot up 1 hour and 45 minutes vs 5 hours late. So his AMPS was at +10.15 and his 5.8 unit shot was 387 at +10.5. DH will be able to test +2 and +4. I can test for the rest of the cycle.
Makes life complicated but he's worth it! :)
 
He certainly has a pattern as a bouncy cat so the blue could definitely have triggered a bounce. Don't forget to squint and look at your spreadsheet. Remember when every number was black and red? Look at those yellows and blues. You are getting there, Steph. It is just a really bumpy journey.
 
I gave him 6 units tonight on a 577 PMPS.
+8.5 and he's only 303. I'm starting to wonder if I should give a .2 unit 2 hours before his shot is due. It would help counteract the spike after dinner and maybe the bulk of the insulin will go to dropping his levels and keeping them there?
I keep reading about acrocats and he doesn't seem to fit. He does have a little bigger than usual paws but they were always a bit bigger. He's a strange mix of Himalayan and siamese so his very first vet thought years ago.
When it's time for dinner he does spin in circles all excited while I'm walking toward the table.
Does seem to have a gap between his "canine" teeth- sorry can't remember if that's what they're actually called- but I don't have any old references to compare it to.
He doesn't have a problem losing weight that's for sure!

Negative for ketones today!
One of them peed on my couch! It's been a good month or three since they have. No idea why now. I just sat down to put my shoes on before I left and sat right in it! Boy was I steaming!
 
How crazy is it that I first came here worrying about giving him a 7 unit shot that made him almost go hypo--- guidance from you wonderful people saved him. Here we are 1 unit away from that original dose that brought me here... *sigh* Lots of tears lately. I really thought we were getting somewhere but the day we had two blue preshots was when he had a mid cycle micro dose. I thought about trying that this weekend again. See if we get him lower all together then see what dose will keep him down there.
 
How crazy is it that I first came here worrying about giving him a 7 unit shot that made him almost go hypo--- guidance from you wonderful people saved him. Here we are 1 unit away from that original dose that brought me here... *sigh* Lots of tears lately. I really thought we were getting somewhere but the day we had two blue preshots was when he had a mid cycle micro dose. I thought about trying that this weekend again. See if we get him lower all together then see what dose will keep him down there.
He's crazy-making for sure, Steph, but there's are definitely more blue and less red on your SS now.
 
+11.5 311
Not doing his shot til +12.5 Looks like it will be a pink! I like the 6 unit shot so far.
Can't decide if I want to give him a 6 unit shot on a pink or if I should stick with the 5.8... DH can check +2, +4 then I can check at +8 and +10 so I might just give him the 6 units. It is lasting longer than the 5.8.
Thoughts? (For anyone up and online)
 
I'm not an expert, but given how well he responded yesterday and since you & DH will be able to monitor I say go for the 6u. You're really making progress!
 
I'm not an expert, but given how well he responded yesterday and since you & DH will be able to monitor I say go for the 6u. You're really making progress!
Thank you for the encouragement! I think we are going to go with the 6 units! I always feel better about it when someone else agrees!
 
Looks like we might be able to try that token dose today!
+10 166!!!
DH is going to feed him and give him insulin and check him at +2 then I will be home by +3.5.
Should we try the 4 units if below 200?
He did well on a 5 unit shot @ 231 pmps on 12/7
12/12 he did well with a pmps 281 with 5.1 unit (fat 5) and then a .2u at +2...
So I think the 4 units should be safe but we sure do know what happens if we try to predict it!
I will be here to give a micro dose if he needs it-- I wanted to try the +6 microdose again anyways but if we can keep him down I would prefer that!

Please give me your thoughts! I will relay them to DH before he gives him his shot. We will probably feed the 4.5oz and I'll give him more if he needs it as a snack.
(I'm excited but it always happens when I can't be RIGHT here to monitor!) He will only be alone between +2.15 and +3.5 the latest.
 
Looks like we might be able to try that token dose today!
+10 166!!!
DH is going to feed him and give him insulin and check him at +2 then I will be home by +3.5.
Should we try the 4 units if below 200?
He did well on a 5 unit shot @ 231 pmps on 12/7
12/12 he did well with a pmps 281 with 5.1 unit (fat 5) and then a .2u at +2...
So I think the 4 units should be safe but we sure do know what happens if we try to predict it!
I will be here to give a micro dose if he needs it-- I wanted to try the +6 microdose again anyways but if we can keep him down I would prefer that!

Please give me your thoughts! I will relay them to DH before he gives him his shot. We will probably feed the 4.5oz and I'll give him more if he needs it as a snack.
(I'm excited but it always happens when I can't be RIGHT here to monitor!) He will only be alone between +2.15 and +3.5 the latest.
Looks like 4 u should be OK under 200. Can't predict anything with these guys though! :blackeye: How are you entering the microdoses on the SS? I can't seem to find them.
 
Looks like 4 u should be OK under 200. Can't predict anything with these guys though! :blackeye: How are you entering the microdoses on the SS? I can't seem to find them.
I enter them with the readings at those hours. On 12/12 PM .2 unit is on the +2 entry. 12/9 it's entered on +6
 
Ok.
PMPS was 243! Yay for yellow!!
Fed 4.5 oz
Skinny 6 units given.
DH will check 1.5 or 1.45 and I'll home by +3 or +3.5
I think he will be fine. Doesn't start dropping a lot until +4/+5 anyway.
Nervous but excited over better numbers. Hopefully we can get his body to accept the lower numbers without the bounce... Eventually...
 
Ok.
PMPS was 243! Yay for yellow!!
Fed 4.5 oz
Skinny 6 units given.
DH will check 1.5 or 1.45 and I'll home by +3 or +3.5
I think he will be fine. Doesn't start dropping a lot until +4/+5 anyway.
Nervous but excited over better numbers. Hopefully we can get his body to accept the lower numbers without the bounce... Eventually...
Yellow is a pretty and cheerful colour! Yep! That's the way to stay sane - by not expecting instant positive results. :rolleyes:
 
Tonight was a strange journey.
PMPS 243
+2 465
+4 368
+6 256
+8.5 175
+11 122
+12 121!!
We are not feeding him until 3am which would be +12.5

I'm not sure what dose to try! I kinda hope he starts going back up a little bit over the next 45 minutes...
 
Last edited:
IMG_20161216_190442.jpg

Helping mommy make curtains. Silly boy! Kitty waiting for a mini meal on his table in the background. Oh how I love my boys!
The other picture is a new favorite place to sit/lay while waiting for dinner or breakfast. He can see the table and make sure I'm not sneaking around without his knowledge! LOL
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20161214_004943.jpg
    IMG_20161214_004943.jpg
    49.1 KB · Views: 116
:eek: +1 186
Gave him .2 oz of friskies turkey and giblet pate. I'm not sure if the whole 4 units will be used up on his usual food spike or not. I figured a little snack couldn't hurt.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top