Chuck's bouncy journey, part 17.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oh Steph what a GREAT reaction he's having to Lantus! I love seeing that blue!!

Ohhhh that back pain sounds bad! Hoping you feel better soon!
 
Seriously making me debate the switch too :bookworm:
I gave ProZinc 6 months to start working right... I don't know what is recommended but for us once we got to 16 units a day it was getting too expensive. I mean it was too expensive from the beginning but we did our best to budget for it. I hate to say this but money was really a big part in our decision to switch and also seeing Teasel's switch to Lantus. I NEVER expected this kind of reaction. I'm keeping in mind that "new" insulin can be a bit wonky in a cat so these results might change. I'm hoping the duration of the shot doesn't change! He's surfing along great and seems to be bouncing in the mornings.
 
I gave ProZinc 6 months to start working right... I don't know what is recommended but for us once we got to 16 units a day it was getting too expensive. I mean it was too expensive from the beginning but we did our best to budget for it. I hate to say this but money was really a big part in our decision to switch and also seeing Teasel's switch to Lantus. I NEVER expected this kind of reaction. I'm keeping in mind that "new" insulin can be a bit wonky in a cat so these results might change. I'm hoping the duration of the shot doesn't change! He's surfing along great and seems to be bouncing in the mornings.
You and Chuck deserve to have an easier time of it, Steph! :) I hope it continues.
 
We had another blue +12!! I was too nervous to shoot on a 140 so I stalled waiting by for advice. Ended up shooting on a 224 @+12.5.
 
Starting him on s boulardi in the morning and discontinuing the pumpkin. Of course after I split up the entire can into half ounce blobs and froze them. I'm hoping it makes a difference in his numbers or at least helps him process food better as it goes through his system helping him gain.
 
We're all joining you in that prayer! It's so nice to see him getting some good numbers! Funny how invested we get in each other's kitties.
 
:nailbiting: I just shot 8.5 units on a 128!! Super nervous. Testing +1 in twenty minutes.
When have you ever had a blue PS, Steph? This is terrific! If he does what's expected with Lantus, he's coast along (surf as they call it) in a flat range of blues. Wait until you shoot your first green - you'll be given the BOS award ("balls of steel"). :D
 
Holy crap! First of all, hooray for the low PS. Second, I think I would spend the entire day staring at him to make sure he's okay. It has to be hard to switch your mindset that he's going to be okay with the new rules.
 
Oh my goodness! I just read your post in the Lantus forum. You were staring at him the whole cycle. Great job managing that drop! Does that mean he gets a reduction, or do you have to wait and see?
 
Wowwwwww!!!!! Yeah Lantus is it's own thing...I think intellectually I would knwo that the cycles were flatter and the depot is a thing, but coming from HERE I'd be in a panic!
 
Holy cow what a morning!
I had a feeling we night go to low but I figured it was left over prozinc panic. And of course I either over did it with the Karo or he bounced hard from the 43.
I gave 8.5 again tonight since he's HI. I'm not sure if he'll get a reduction or if I just need to make sure he's not too low to shoot. I don't know. My brain is still mush.
 
Yeah his first lime green. I freaked out. I don't think I gave to much Karo but with him is hard to tell. He's got a hair trigger bounce and I'm sure that lime green pulled that trigger hard!
 
So we reduced his dose to 8.25 tonight. I was thinking we might be being too cautious but after seeing his blue surf tonight so far it reminds me why I should ALWAYS consider the Pro's input since I have NO idea what I'm doing with lantus yet. The more data we get the better I feel about it all. I'm over the moon with his numbers. I'm sure some people think I'm a nut celebrating numbers that are technically still a little too high. I'm sure one peek at my SS and it's a "oooohhh now I get it" type moment.
:cool::cool:
 
Oy! Another interesting night in lantus land!!
Nadir was 85 @+12!! DH and I were quite confused on what to do. We didn't want to lose progress but couldn't deal with low numbers again. I only got 3 hours of sleep last night. Zzzzzzz. 3 year old twins are easily keeping me awake though!
Cut dose in half to drain Depot a little or a lot as it turns out. Did beautiful til +7.
Went from blues straight to red!
Bounce and too little insulin. Restarting 8 units for his pm shot.
 
Oh he is lovely!!! I adore the way he was "attacking" and then started getting head scritches and was like...I'll just stay here and let this happen.
 
Haha yeah that's his game plan all along! He loves his ears rubbed and will hold your hand/arm tight against his head to get them rubbed. Then a few nibbles. Once he gets his back feet going out gets a little painful. He loves to rough house. You know how some people lightly pat a dog's face to get them to play? We do that with both our cats and they love it. Of course with them you only have to touch their face and tap a couple times. I swear they think they're dogs.
 
upload_2017-4-15_11-24-56.png

Love his markings and colourings!
 
Omg, he is gorgeous! Is he a polydactyl? Hard to tell in the video.
Man, your numbers make me want to switch to lantus. And I'm only a month in. But in another month I'm going to need a new vital of prozinc.
 
No he's not polydactyl. He's always had "snowshoe" feet... Well that's what I call them. I always thought they were too big for his body.
We've had a bit of a set back from me playing it too safe.
We were going through a vial per month too. It got too expensive for us.
 
10 units? holy cow, Chuck! Glad he's putting some weight back on though!
Yeah we suspect IAA and/or acro... Saving for the tests. I got the feeling the vet didn't think it was necessary because of the limited treatment options but for the sake of what little sanity I have left we are going to get the tests done. If they're both negative then we'll know for sure his pancreas is just an a**h**e. :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top