Chuck's bouncy journey, part 17.

Status
Not open for further replies.
+1 410
+2 353
+4 384
+5 340
PMPS: 312
Fed usual. Messed up the feeder. 1st snack +5 and +8.
Gave 7.5 units
+1 480
+3 348
+5 318
 
He seems to be feeling ok. He's spent some time outside in the yard and then stole a few bites of kitty's pate. Getting daring! That's when I realized I messed up the times on his feeder. He should have had his snack by then and decided he'd make a run for it. He jumped up and went to town on kitty's food. Had a few bites before I could even get over there. Turd. He won't be too happy with me later. They need their flea drops tonight since it's getting nice out again and they're enjoying outside time. He doesn't like the drops but they don't "hurt" him. But how dare I put wet stuff on him?! haha
I'm waiting for a urine sample to test for ketones.
 
+8 351 I'm thinking about trying 7.6 on his lower 300s. DH thought 7.8 could be too much but It's not getting him down at all. *sigh*
 
No his UTI is still there. This afternoon will be day 6 I think out of 16. Just got a fresh urine sample. Still small-moderate leukocytes but more of the small color. Negative ketones. Glucose read 500+ but BG only 337. I think I'm going to give 7.6 this morning.
 
AMPS: 337
Fed 4.5oz pate + 2T water. .8oz pate +1T water + .5 tsp pumpkin @+4. 1tsp YA @+7.
Gave 7.6 units
DH will monitor.
 
These are the test strips I use. I also have ketone only strips.
 

Attachments

  • 1490722834973-1056242024.jpg
    1490722834973-1056242024.jpg
    41.9 KB · Views: 114
AMPS (+11.5): 310
Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water. 1tsp YA @+7.
Gave 7.8 units
DH will monitor.
 
+4.5 324
+5.5 364
+6.5 372
+11 319
PMPS: 387
Fed the usual. He's back to eating all of his meal at once. :cat: Next time I'll know to check urine for infection when he stops eating his whole meal at one time.
Gave 7.8 units
+3.5 302
+6 308 I'm annoyed. I could scream. I thought for sure we would be well into the lower 200's by now. I just don't get it. I'm tempted to start giving him .2units of his shot at +2 to see if that would keep him from going up after his next meal... I rather not because we are switching to lantus. I have been thinking about switching to lantus on Sunday. that will be day 11 of his antibiotic. I'm frustrated. :banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
I understand your frustration! Did you ask the Lantus brains about starting while on antibiotics? I would think as much as you test, it would probably be ok but I'm not sure.
 
Someone thought it would probably be ok... I don't want to make a bad decision due to my impatience... Sigh. I worry too much most of the time.
 
Just checked your L&L thread and see that it was Julie that said it was ok. She's pretty good one to listen to, but you could ask Wendy and others. I agree to do it when you can monitor for several cycles.
 
Lol...oh Steph! I'm so sorry his numbers aren't getting to where you want them! I'm certainly going to miss your posts over here, but I really hope the Lantus is a better fit for Chuck!
 
I'm sure I'll check in daily!
AMPS: 370
Fed 4.5oz pate + 0.5 tsp pumpkin +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water @+4. 1 tsp YA @+7.
Gave 8 units.
DH will monitor.
Hoping for more YELLOWS than pinks!
 
OMG. I was just looking around in Lantus land and I saw a member mention her cat sack. They use one of these at my old vet to do Chuck's ears because he will dig down to your bones in two swipes of his back claws when trying to clean his ears. So I decided to google it thinking maybe I can get one to do his ears at home. HAHA I googled "cat sack"... apparently my "safe filter" isn't on... I can't stop laughing. Who in the world takes these pictures?! I quickly realized I should have googled "cat grooming sack"!
Definitely needed that laugh!
 
HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHA! I'm not going to google that but I can just IMAGINE the results you got! Oh Steph, that's hilarious!

Please do check in as often as possible when you move to L! We'll miss you horribly.
 
+2 408
+4 288
+6.25 345
PMPS (+13): 300
fed usual with usual snacks.
Gave 8 units
+3 432
+5.25 287
+8 376
I'm not sure if he got into any dog food contraband. We are dog sitting for a good friend who had her baby at 30 weeks! Mom and baby are ok. I'm not use to having to pick up the darn dish anymore and I left it down with a few pieces in it... I figured dexter finished it since he always does. ugh. Anyways even if he did that's not that big of a jump. Hopefully he continues to surf. DH is on duty for both meals and shots tomorrow. I'm going to tell him to give 8 units for AM and possibly 8.2 for PM. Depending on how his cycle looks. We are running low on the "new" bottle of prozinc so we will have to switch to the other that we thought was damaged. We were discussing starting him on lanuts on saturday but we have a baby shower and bday party to go to this weekend so the earliest we would switch is monday.
Kris & Teasel do you still think we should hold off til the antibiotic is done? He's on day 7 today. Half way through it tomorrow.
I'm surprised his increased dose isn't helping his post-meal spike. I just don't get why he's going up 100 pts at least and dragging it out so far. With him it seems like he needs a faster acting right at dinner then his usual prozinc. Hopefully Lantus can help level him out at least.
Ok off to bed... Long busy day tomorrow.
 
+2 408
+4 288
+6.25 345
PMPS (+13): 300
fed usual with usual snacks.
Gave 8 units
+3 432
+5.25 287
+8 376
I'm not sure if he got into any dog food contraband. We are dog sitting for a good friend who had her baby at 30 weeks! Mom and baby are ok. I'm not use to having to pick up the darn dish anymore and I left it down with a few pieces in it... I figured dexter finished it since he always does. ugh. Anyways even if he did that's not that big of a jump. Hopefully he continues to surf. DH is on duty for both meals and shots tomorrow. I'm going to tell him to give 8 units for AM and possibly 8.2 for PM. Depending on how his cycle looks. We are running low on the "new" bottle of prozinc so we will have to switch to the other that we thought was damaged. We were discussing starting him on lanuts on saturday but we have a baby shower and bday party to go to this weekend so the earliest we would switch is monday.
Kris & Teasel do you still think we should hold off til the antibiotic is done? He's on day 7 today. Half way through it tomorrow.
I'm surprised his increased dose isn't helping his post-meal spike. I just don't get why he's going up 100 pts at least and dragging it out so far. With him it seems like he needs a faster acting right at dinner then his usual prozinc. Hopefully Lantus can help level him out at least.
Ok off to bed... Long busy day tomorrow.
Hi Steph,
I think it's probably OK to switch on Monday if you can monitor. You're getting near the end of your ProZinc so that makes sense. Start thinking about the dose you want to start him at and maybe post on the Lantus forum for help with that.
 
AMPS: 419
+2.25 389
+3.75 298
+5 274 Got a few bites of Kitty's pate so I cancelled his +7 snack.

I will post on the lantus forum tomorrow about dose size. I'm thinking about starting at 6 but think maybe 7 would be better? We will see what they think. I think Chuck needs to go up to 8.2 units this afternoon. We will see what his PMPS looks like then decide... His Nadir just isn't low enough.
 
AMPS: 419
+2.25 389
+3.75 298
+5 274 Got a few bites of Kitty's pate so I cancelled his +7 snack.

I will post on the lantus forum tomorrow about dose size. I'm thinking about starting at 6 but think maybe 7 would be better? We will see what they think. I think Chuck needs to go up to 8.2 units this afternoon. We will see what his PMPS looks like then decide... His Nadir just isn't low enough.
They'll be able to help you. :)
 
WOOOOHOOOO!!!!!! Way to go, Chuck!

My old boss used to say, "No minute like the last minute!" So I guess it makes perfect sense he would throw pretty blues right before you switch to Lantus...
 
Haha yeah! He's acting like he's starving. Probably not use to "slightly" high numbers. Hope we don't see a bounce but I'll try not to be too greedy. I'll take the blues with a LITTLE bounce... I already told him that he's not allowed to jump on the trampoline! I'm just happy to see him under 250!! Being under 200 has made my week!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top