Chuck's bouncy journey, part 16.

Status
Not open for further replies.
AMPS (+11): 257 (would have to skip on shot if not given early)
Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water@+3. 1T YA @+6.5.
Gave 7 units.
DH will monitor closely.
Shot was given at +11.25
Do not copy my dosing.
 
He rode the trampoline all morning!
+3.5 349
+5.5 396
+8 406
PMPS (+11): 397
Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water@+4. 1T YA @+7.
Gave fat 7 units
Have a friend checking after +1... I get nervous leaving the house but she took care of a diabetic dog so she kinda knows what she's doing.
Edited to correct dose.
 
Last edited:
+8 287
Correction on PM dose. I gave him a fat 7 units. Lucky for me I messed up the dose on the lower side. I always look at the chart but didn't have my phone on me at the time. Lesson learned.
AMPS: 351
Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water@+4. 1T YA @+7.
Gave 7.2 units
DH will monitor.
Chuck isn't eating his dinner all at once. Has been this way since I started the supplements. Not sure why. Could be the Pancreas booster. I thought it was from the Zobaline but I moved that to his +4 snack in the PM cycle. He doesn't eat that right down either. Takes his time with it- eats about half and eats the rest a bit later before his +7 snack. I think Kitty might be eating his +7 snack. Piggy. I hope there's no issue that is causing him to not eat well. I think I'm going to try giving the Pancreas Booster in a separate snack. If he gobbles up his meal like he normally does I guess I will know it's the supplements I'm adding.
We see the vet on Tuesday. Discussing switching to lantus then... and his teeth.
 
Or maybe he's starting to eat "normal" compared to his "starving" eating that he had from the Diabetes?! I'm a worrier. I can't help it! Ever since I didn't catch his FD symptoms when they first started I get worried that I'm brushing things off to quickly.
 
Last edited:
Or maybe he's starting to eat "normal" compared to his "starving" eating that he had from the Diabetes?! I'm a worrier. I can't help it! Ever since I didn't catch his FD symptoms when they first started I get worried that I'm brushing things off to quickly.
Maury has not been eating as much of his meals the past two days either and could kind of "take or leave" his lunch. I wondered the same thing, if he's eating like a "normal" kitty. I do not think I caught Maury's FD symptoms as early as I could have :( but the only symptom I had was increased hunger and then his hind legs is what pushed me to get him checked. I actually thought he was going to be diagnosed with Hyperthyroidism because we did have a cat with similar symptoms who was HT.
 
+8 287
Correction on PM dose. I gave him a fat 7 units. Lucky for me I messed up the dose on the lower side. I always look at the chart but didn't have my phone on me at the time. Lesson learned.
AMPS: 351
Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water@+4. 1T YA @+7.
Gave 7.2 units
DH will monitor.
Chuck isn't eating his dinner all at once. Has been this way since I started the supplements. Not sure why. Could be the Pancreas booster. I thought it was from the Zobaline but I moved that to his +4 snack in the PM cycle. He doesn't eat that right down either. Takes his time with it- eats about half and eats the rest a bit later before his +7 snack. I think Kitty might be eating his +7 snack. Piggy. I hope there's no issue that is causing him to not eat well. I think I'm going to try giving the Pancreas Booster in a separate snack. If he gobbles up his meal like he normally does I guess I will know it's the supplements I'm adding.
We see the vet on Tuesday. Discussing switching to lantus then... and his teeth.
So many variables to balance, Steph. Good idea to try the supplement in a separate snack.
 
My civvies have been picky with meals lately too...they're not even always eating the entire meal. I really think it's from our wonky weather lately. They get like this most years...

Is Chuck still acting okay?
 
Even without any supplements he's eating slower. But he only left about 1/3 in his dish. He just tried burying it like he was in the cat box lol silly boy.
But 4.5oz plus 2 tablespoons of water might be too much for his belly. I'll play with the amount and try 4oz with 1 tablespoon water and do two snacks before +6 with 1 tablespoon water every 2 hours. Thinking out loud here... I'm happy to see he's stopping when full.
 
My cats sometimes do that burying thing with their food dishes too. I've always wondered why...Anyway, those are some nice yellows! Hope he has a good cycle!
 
+2 324 Got a bite or two of friskies pate... he was eating his snack and I thought it was safe to pee, bathroom is right by where they eat, but as soon as I came out of the bathroom he was jumping down from kitty's snack. *sigh* but it didn't hurt his numbers.
+3 236 I'm going to let him ride it out and see where he goes. He gets another snack at +4.
 
Yep it's tomorrow at 3. Nervous but looking forward to better control and possibly seeing why he's so high again.
 
Is he getting his teeth cleaned? or just a check-up? Fingers crossed it goes well and you find some answers. Are you still considering one of the L insulins?
 
We are running blood work again and she's inspecting his teeth. My civvie needs them done too so I'm hoping I can get a discount! (Keep dreaming I'm sure) I'm going to discuss switching to lantus. I really love the ProZinc but it's too expensive and not working well. It's 27 cents per unit. If I get lantus from Mark's in Canada it's only 11 cents per unit. At 7.2 units THAT is much cheaper and ProZinc just doesn't last that long in Chuck. I thought about trying TID but idk if I can be here every time for shots.
 
+3 349
+4.5 263
+5.5 266
+6 271
PMPS: 409
Fed the usual with usual snacks.
Gave 7.2 units
+2.5 340
+5 323
+8 351 :banghead:
 
My cats sometimes do that burying thing with their food dishes too. I've always wondered why...Anyway, those are some nice yellows! Hope he has a good cycle!
Cliff covers his food dish with little throw rugs (or blankets) if he can get a hold of them!
 
OK. That was a nice visit! She looked at his spreadsheet and is still amazed. She said the bloodwork isn't necessary at this point because his teeth don't look infected and his abdomen feels fine. No other symptoms other than the insulin increasing. She told me to test his urine and call her with the results. They use the human strips just like the ones I bought. If his urine is off she will prescribe an antibiotic. She said he could use a dental cleaning because he does have tartar buildup but she'd like to see his numbers a little better and have him set on his new insulin. She prescribed Lantus. She wanted to try vetsulin but I told her I rather try lantus because prozinc doesn't last long enough with him so I didn't think the vetsulin would either. She agreed. They don't keep it in stock but she gave me a prescription for 5 pens with 3 refills. That should be about a year of pens. She thought he would probably end up on close the the same dose as he is on with prozinc. She told me I should start with 5 instead of 7. I agree on starting lower but wondered if it should be even lower than 5. I'm nervous and a bit hopeful about the switch.
I'm going to get some from my step-dad and try it before I order it. He has 1/3 ish of a vial left and said I could have it. Should be around 300ish units left in there so that might last a month or two. But it is about 3 weeks old and stored on the counter. Is that a problem? Should I use one of his vials he hasn't opened that is stored in the fridge? I don't want to start out with a weakened vial... then get the pens and kill him.
He weighed in at 11 pounds 4 ounces. (only 2 hours after his meal so that 4 oz is probably his food) She was pleased with his weight gain.
This visit cost me a whole $28. That's it!! I was sure they messed it up. They double checked the bill and it was right! At my previous vet I NEVER made it out of there with a bill less tha $150-$200! She gave me an estimate on the dental cleaning of $200-$250. No discount for two. Bummer.
 
Wow! What a great visit! Although it will be sad to see you head over to the Lantus group! You should still pop in here and give us updates on how Chuck is doing. When do you think you'll start? As far as dose, there are quite a few people over in the Lantus forum who have made the switch and might have some ideas about how to determine a starting dose over there.

And I clearly need to move. I can't even imagine a vet visit for $28. That's amazing. And it sounds like you have a great vet too!
 
I've been reading up on the sticky's in Lantus land. Oh man. It's like starting all over again! I think I might start tomorrow afternoon, if I get some from my step-dad before then. Happy to see that he didn't really spike from the vet visit. I'll be happy to "rent space" here. I just hope they are ready for my panic and helicopter mom type! haha
AMPS 477
Fed usual with usual snacks
Gave 7.2 units
+2 479
+4.25 361
+6 390
PMPS: 314
Fed usual with usual snacks
Gave 7.2 units
+1 427
+2.5 309 right when we got home from the vet
+3 348
 
I have also decided if we can't get anywhere with Lantus I will be making an appt with the specialists at Cornell Animal Hospital in Ithaca, NY. They're the ones who cared for Bubba when he was in heart failure. WAAAAYYYYY more expensive but they are the best around here.
 
I think the switch will be good for Chuck. It is a very different mindset, but before long you'll have the hang of it! I recommend you post in Lantus forum before you switch and ask for dosing advice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top