Chuck's bouncy journey, part 16.

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by StephG, Mar 17, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    MiCo likes this.
  2. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +1 448
    Hopefully this isn't the beginning of a bounce.
     
  3. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Let the trampoline rest, Chuck :p
     
    StephG likes this.
  4. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +4 313
    +7 270
     
    MiCo likes this.
  5. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +10.5 235
     
  6. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    AMPS (+11): 257 (would have to skip on shot if not given early)
    Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water@+3. 1T YA @+6.5.
    Gave 7 units.
    DH will monitor closely.
    Shot was given at +11.25
    Do not copy my dosing.
     
    MiCo and Kris & Teasel like this.
  7. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +1 425
     
  8. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Boing!
     
    StephG likes this.
  9. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    He rode the trampoline all morning!
    +3.5 349
    +5.5 396
    +8 406
    PMPS (+11): 397
    Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water@+4. 1T YA @+7.
    Gave fat 7 units
    Have a friend checking after +1... I get nervous leaving the house but she took care of a diabetic dog so she kinda knows what she's doing.
    Edited to correct dose.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2017
    Rachel and MiCo like this.
  10. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    It's important to get away and keep up our own lives, too. Glad you have someone who can help out!
     
    StephG and MiCo like this.
  11. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +1.5 362
    +2.25 357
     
  12. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +3 371
    +4.5 332
    +6.5 313 :confused:
     
  13. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +8 287
    Correction on PM dose. I gave him a fat 7 units. Lucky for me I messed up the dose on the lower side. I always look at the chart but didn't have my phone on me at the time. Lesson learned.
    AMPS: 351
    Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water@+4. 1T YA @+7.
    Gave 7.2 units
    DH will monitor.
    Chuck isn't eating his dinner all at once. Has been this way since I started the supplements. Not sure why. Could be the Pancreas booster. I thought it was from the Zobaline but I moved that to his +4 snack in the PM cycle. He doesn't eat that right down either. Takes his time with it- eats about half and eats the rest a bit later before his +7 snack. I think Kitty might be eating his +7 snack. Piggy. I hope there's no issue that is causing him to not eat well. I think I'm going to try giving the Pancreas Booster in a separate snack. If he gobbles up his meal like he normally does I guess I will know it's the supplements I'm adding.
    We see the vet on Tuesday. Discussing switching to lantus then... and his teeth.
     
    MiCo and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  14. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Or maybe he's starting to eat "normal" compared to his "starving" eating that he had from the Diabetes?! I'm a worrier. I can't help it! Ever since I didn't catch his FD symptoms when they first started I get worried that I'm brushing things off to quickly.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2017
    Djamila and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  15. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +1 389
     
  16. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Maury has not been eating as much of his meals the past two days either and could kind of "take or leave" his lunch. I wondered the same thing, if he's eating like a "normal" kitty. I do not think I caught Maury's FD symptoms as early as I could have :( but the only symptom I had was increased hunger and then his hind legs is what pushed me to get him checked. I actually thought he was going to be diagnosed with Hyperthyroidism because we did have a cat with similar symptoms who was HT.
     
  17. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    So many variables to balance, Steph. Good idea to try the supplement in a separate snack.
     
  18. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    My civvies have been picky with meals lately too...they're not even always eating the entire meal. I really think it's from our wonky weather lately. They get like this most years...

    Is Chuck still acting okay?
     
  19. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Chuck is acting normal.
    PMPS 225!!!
    I think I'll try 7 units since the 6.9 didn't do much last time
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  20. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +2 327
    +5 254
    +7 228
    PMPS: 225
    Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water@+4. 1T YA @+7.
    Gave 7.1 units, hopefully I don't regret it.
    Snacks might be fed early.
    Will monitor closely!
     
  21. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Even without any supplements he's eating slower. But he only left about 1/3 in his dish. He just tried burying it like he was in the cat box lol silly boy.
    But 4.5oz plus 2 tablespoons of water might be too much for his belly. I'll play with the amount and try 4oz with 1 tablespoon water and do two snacks before +6 with 1 tablespoon water every 2 hours. Thinking out loud here... I'm happy to see he's stopping when full.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  22. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    My cats sometimes do that burying thing with their food dishes too. I've always wondered why...Anyway, those are some nice yellows! Hope he has a good cycle!
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  23. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +1 319:nailbiting:
     
  24. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    For the most part it's a survival instinct for their own protection :). There can be other reasons, of course :p
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  25. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +2 324 Got a bite or two of friskies pate... he was eating his snack and I thought it was safe to pee, bathroom is right by where they eat, but as soon as I came out of the bathroom he was jumping down from kitty's snack. *sigh* but it didn't hurt his numbers.
    +3 236 I'm going to let him ride it out and see where he goes. He gets another snack at +4.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  26. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    They are so good at being sneaky!!!
     
    StephG likes this.
  27. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +4 239
    +5.5 244
    +9 345 :banghead:
     
  28. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    AMPS (+11): 416
    Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water@+4. 1T YA @+7.
    Gave 7.2 units.
     
  29. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +1 508
    +2 393
     
  30. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Some nice yellows in there...the vet appt is tomorrow right? Let us know how it goes!
     
    MiCo likes this.
  31. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Yep it's tomorrow at 3. Nervous but looking forward to better control and possibly seeing why he's so high again.
     
    Rachel likes this.
  32. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Is he getting his teeth cleaned? or just a check-up? Fingers crossed it goes well and you find some answers. Are you still considering one of the L insulins?
     
  33. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    We are running blood work again and she's inspecting his teeth. My civvie needs them done too so I'm hoping I can get a discount! (Keep dreaming I'm sure) I'm going to discuss switching to lantus. I really love the ProZinc but it's too expensive and not working well. It's 27 cents per unit. If I get lantus from Mark's in Canada it's only 11 cents per unit. At 7.2 units THAT is much cheaper and ProZinc just doesn't last that long in Chuck. I thought about trying TID but idk if I can be here every time for shots.
     
  34. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Paws crossed for a good appointment and hopefully the only reason for his higher numbers lately is because he's Chuck :bighug:
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  35. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +3 349
    +4.5 263
    +5.5 266
    +6 271
    PMPS: 409
    Fed the usual with usual snacks.
    Gave 7.2 units
    +2.5 340
    +5 323
    +8 351 :banghead:
     
  36. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Thank you!
     
  37. MiCo

    MiCo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Cliff covers his food dish with little throw rugs (or blankets) if he can get a hold of them!
     
    StephG likes this.
  38. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Let us know how it goes tomorrow! :bighug:
     
    StephG likes this.
  39. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Thinking of you today, Steph! Looking forward to hearing the report.
     
  40. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Good luck at Chuck's vet visit today. :cat::)
     
  41. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Thanks everyone! I'm packing him up and out the door soon! I'll update a bit later!
     
  42. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    OK. That was a nice visit! She looked at his spreadsheet and is still amazed. She said the bloodwork isn't necessary at this point because his teeth don't look infected and his abdomen feels fine. No other symptoms other than the insulin increasing. She told me to test his urine and call her with the results. They use the human strips just like the ones I bought. If his urine is off she will prescribe an antibiotic. She said he could use a dental cleaning because he does have tartar buildup but she'd like to see his numbers a little better and have him set on his new insulin. She prescribed Lantus. She wanted to try vetsulin but I told her I rather try lantus because prozinc doesn't last long enough with him so I didn't think the vetsulin would either. She agreed. They don't keep it in stock but she gave me a prescription for 5 pens with 3 refills. That should be about a year of pens. She thought he would probably end up on close the the same dose as he is on with prozinc. She told me I should start with 5 instead of 7. I agree on starting lower but wondered if it should be even lower than 5. I'm nervous and a bit hopeful about the switch.
    I'm going to get some from my step-dad and try it before I order it. He has 1/3 ish of a vial left and said I could have it. Should be around 300ish units left in there so that might last a month or two. But it is about 3 weeks old and stored on the counter. Is that a problem? Should I use one of his vials he hasn't opened that is stored in the fridge? I don't want to start out with a weakened vial... then get the pens and kill him.
    He weighed in at 11 pounds 4 ounces. (only 2 hours after his meal so that 4 oz is probably his food) She was pleased with his weight gain.
    This visit cost me a whole $28. That's it!! I was sure they messed it up. They double checked the bill and it was right! At my previous vet I NEVER made it out of there with a bill less tha $150-$200! She gave me an estimate on the dental cleaning of $200-$250. No discount for two. Bummer.
     
    MiCo likes this.
  43. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Wow! What a great visit! Although it will be sad to see you head over to the Lantus group! You should still pop in here and give us updates on how Chuck is doing. When do you think you'll start? As far as dose, there are quite a few people over in the Lantus forum who have made the switch and might have some ideas about how to determine a starting dose over there.

    And I clearly need to move. I can't even imagine a vet visit for $28. That's amazing. And it sounds like you have a great vet too!
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  44. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    This is absolutely wonderful, Steph! I'm so happy for you and Chuck. :):):):) You can do like I do and rent some space here after the move to Lantus Land.
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  45. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I'm so glad the visit went well, Steph! I'll be sorry to see you go...but please do pop in and update us!
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  46. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Great news and it didn't cost you an arm and a leg! Please make sure to rent space like Kris & Teasel :cat:. Otherwise all of us newbies will bombard Rachel :p
     
    MiCo, Djamila and StephG like this.
  47. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I've been reading up on the sticky's in Lantus land. Oh man. It's like starting all over again! I think I might start tomorrow afternoon, if I get some from my step-dad before then. Happy to see that he didn't really spike from the vet visit. I'll be happy to "rent space" here. I just hope they are ready for my panic and helicopter mom type! haha
    AMPS 477
    Fed usual with usual snacks
    Gave 7.2 units
    +2 479
    +4.25 361
    +6 390
    PMPS: 314
    Fed usual with usual snacks
    Gave 7.2 units
    +1 427
    +2.5 309 right when we got home from the vet
    +3 348
     
    MiCo and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  48. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I have also decided if we can't get anywhere with Lantus I will be making an appt with the specialists at Cornell Animal Hospital in Ithaca, NY. They're the ones who cared for Bubba when he was in heart failure. WAAAAYYYYY more expensive but they are the best around here.
     
    MiCo and Sharon14 like this.
  49. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    I think the switch will be good for Chuck. It is a very different mindset, but before long you'll have the hang of it! I recommend you post in Lantus forum before you switch and ask for dosing advice.
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  50. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +5 243
    +7 172
    He just had to show off today. :rolleyes:
     
  51. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I just posted my million and one questions in Lantus land.
     
    MiCo, Sharon14 and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  52. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    He doesn't want to leave the ProZinc group :p
     
    MiCo, Djamila and StephG like this.
  53. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +9 166
     
    MiCo, Sharon14 and Djamila like this.
  54. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Lol...now he gives you good numbers!
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  55. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    HAHA right?! I figured he'd be spiking by now from picking up on my anxiety about switching to Lantus. But he's cool as a cucumber!
     
    MiCo likes this.
  56. Frank's Mom

    Frank's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    I'm totally jealous of you right now. I think I'd cry at anything under 200. Also, while Chuck is bouncing all over and I know it's driving you crazy, it helps me feel so much better about the high and fluctuating numbers I've gotten the last 3 days, esp since you've obviously been doing this much longer than me.
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  57. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Those numbers don't look too bad for him still eating some dry! Once he gets off the dry you might see better numbers!
    We don't see under 200 very often! We celebrate when we do!
    I would do anything to see those numbers on 1 unit! Looks like you're doing all the right things so keep at it and soon you'll be celebrating blues too!
     
    MiCo likes this.
  58. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Couple pics! Chuck at the vet being a scaredy-cat and the other is him relaxing at home after the vet. LOL he sleeps in the strangest positions! That one makes him look normal weight, almost fat! The flash on the camera gives him more of a creme color...
     

    Attached Files:

    MiCo and Sharon14 like this.
  59. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    AMPS 233...
    Thinking 7 units?
     
  60. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Well maybe 7.1 he still had room to drop today.
     
  61. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    AMPS: 233
    Fed the usual with usual snacks
    Gave 7.1 units.
    DH will monitor.
     
  62. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    So I've been thinking about the switch to lantus. I have that almost full bottle of ProZinc that I thought was damaged from being warmed. I was thinking of trying another dose out of it to see if it really is compromised. If it's not then I'd like to donate it if there's anyone near me. I just would hate to see it thrown away if it's still good. If no one is near me I might just let it hang out in the fridge. Once I start lantus I can call the vet to see if they have anyone in need.
     
  63. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Oy,
    +1 464
    First picture is 9/17/2016 (10 days on insulin around 9.3 pounds I believe)
    Second picture is 2/7/2017 (5 months on insulin around 10.4 pounds) I'll have to get an updated one for him at 11 pounds tomorrow! You can see how gray he's getting too. I look at his skinny picture when I feel like he's still too skinny and get anxious about it. He's getting there!
     

    Attached Files:

    Kris & Teasel and Sharon14 like this.
  64. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Could post in the Supply Closet to see if anyone needs it.

    Chuck! What are you doing?? Trying to make mom crazy??
     
  65. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Pictures are worth a thousand words, right? His little flat ears at the vet, all stretched out and relaxed at home...and oh my goodness he was skinny! his coat looks healthier now, too. You've done such a good job taking care of him!
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  66. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Photos are a great way to prove there's progress even if you think you're getting nowhere day to day. :)
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  67. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Still studying up on Lantus, Steph? You're a good candidate for TR because you test/monitor a lot. Complicated kitties will likely still be complicated on Lantus, as Teasel's SS shows, but you might see less BG volatility. It requires a very different mindset - that depot always has to be considered. Overall, things happen slowly and it can take days to see the effects of a dose. The scariest thing for me was shooting on low PSs. I'm getting a little more used to it.
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  68. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Yeah. I think we will try the TR. I gave him ProZinc this afternoon. I hope to start lantus Friday afternoon. I would start tomorrow afternoon but I don't be home all day Friday to test so I rather do it when I know I'm going to be home for a couple days.
     
    MiCo and Kris & Teasel like this.
  69. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +4 318
    PMPS: 394
    Fed usual with usual snacks
    Gave 7.3 units out of vial I thought was damaged.
    +2 352
    +4 277 **vial is not damaged!*
     
  70. Frank's Mom

    Frank's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    7 units. I didn't know why someone told me 1 unit at starting was a great dose. Now I see why. Yuck. Poor Satan. (Have you seen the new Chuck Norris commercial?)
     
  71. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    The commercial with the salt or pepper shaker? LOL yeah! Man he's gotta be like 500 years old now! Yep he was originally started on 7 units twice a day "whether he eats or not". It almost killed him. I started over at 1 unit and saw some success as we increased his dose. I think he might have a high dose condition. He hasn't been tested yet.

    I FINALLY got a urine sample... I have been impatiently waiting since 6pm! (4 hours). I tested it twice with my 10 panel urine dip sticks. He's got a UTI. Poor baby. He shows no symptoms of it!
    Glucose: 250+ (last test was 318)
    Bilirubin: Neg
    Ketone: Neg
    Specific Gravity: 1.025
    Blood: Neg
    PH 6.0-6.5 was hard to distinguish
    Protein: Trace
    Uro Bilinogen: Normal
    Nitrite: Neg
    Leukocytes: small(70)- medium(125)

    The first strip was "normal" but then I did another and actually used a timer and sure enough the leukocytes popped up positive. I'll be calling the vet in the morning and hopefully getting him started on antibiotics. I rather not wait for it to get worse.
     
    Yong & Maury GA and MiCo like this.
  72. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Poor Satan! (It's just fun to say that). But seriously, I'm sorry to hear he has an infection! My strips only test BG and ketones. I'll have to look for those next time. Were you just checking for ketones? Or were you suspicious of something?
     
  73. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I actually bought these strips from Amazon. They're "URS-10 Urine reagent strips for urinalysis" I got 100 strips for ten bucks I think. I can't really remember. I bought them in the peak of my Prednisone induced anxiety attack because I was certain my dog was dying from kidney failure. Kinda funny now but at the time I was devastated. She was completely fine and healthy but my mind would not have it.
    Anyway, the vet told me to test his urine with it to rule out UTI for the reason he has increased his need for insulin. I thought she was probably going to be wrong because he has no symptoms. Yeah it's not an awful infection but it's there. She said they use the human strips there too then run the urinalysis through a machine or whatever it is after it's a high positive. I REALLY like that she's so into letting me do things at home. Saves money and stress on Chuck. They would have to squeeze a sample out or they could do a needle aspiration. She didn't want to do either and I agreed.
     
  74. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    It's amazing how our minds do that to us, isn't it?

    So what now? Does staring antibiotics tomorrow alter your timeline for switching insulin?
     
    StephG likes this.
  75. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I don't think so. I still plan on switching to Lantus on Friday afternoon. I will probably start lower around 7 units. I think tomorrow afternoon I'm going to try 7.4 units ProZinc depending on his PS. I could do another week of ProZinc to sort out dose size just in case. I don't want to load him up with lantus then have his needs drop lower and cause a hypo. I realize this can happen with ProZinc too but I'm much more comfortable steering or aborting the cycle on ProZinc. He's kinda predictable on it. I'll ask the vet when I pick up the antibiotic tomorrow.
    Maybe Kris will have some insight on what I should do...
     
    MiCo and Djamila like this.
  76. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Poor thing! Yeah, I'd be tempted to wait out the week on ProZinc so he gets on the meds and starts feeling better before starting a new insulin...especially with the depot since you have no data on how he reacts to that yet. But that's just coming from me with no experience with the depot either! Kris will probably have good insight for us on this one.

    I hope the antibiotics make him feel better! Does he seem to be in any pain?
     
    MiCo and StephG like this.
  77. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hi Steph,
    The UTI puts a different light on it I think. We know it can raise numbers so it might be wise to wait a week to start Lantus. The good thing with ProZinc is that it's gone after 12 hours but the Lantus depot can confound things. Some people do a dose for dose switch but I wouldn't be comfortable with that myself. I'd given Teasel 3 u of ProZinc just before the switch and dropped him to 2.5 u of Lantus. I fast tracked him (3 days at starting dose instead of the protocol's 5 to 7 days) to 2.75 u because he wasn't new to insulin. Since then I've been playing around in the 2.5 u to 3 u range.

    The depot is a silent player in this game. It shrinks and expands in response to dose and the change in its size happens slowly over several cycles. That's why when you shoot a dose you always have to keep in mind where kitty is in the dose change process - new dose, same dose for several cycles, dose increase, dose decrease, etc. I've said it before - it's like steering a tank instead of a sports car.
     
    StephG likes this.
  78. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Yes that Depot is what terrifies me. I think I will keep him on ProZinc until he's done with the antibiotic. I'm still waiting to hear back from the vet. I'm going there at 430 either way. I want to get him started on it. He doesn't act any different. I did notice while cleaning the box that there was smaller spots. Even his sample last night wasn't that big. Guess I missed that sign. I figured he was slowing down from better numbers or from the insulin. But hindsight is 20/20. Adding the 3 tablespoons water I think should have increased it a bit... Funny how my brain rationalizes things so easily sometimes but then becomes an anxiety attack prone blob of cells at other times.
     
  79. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    AMPS:364
    Fed his usual with usual snacks.
    +2 427
    +4 239
    +4.5 254
    +9.5 208
    Show off!
     
  80. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    It's easy to miss those signs, Steph unless they are constantly in and out or there is blood or crying from pain. With Elektra, every time she has a cystitis flare up, I only notice because of the in and out of the box...the smaller spots of urine never seem to tip me off.
     
    StephG likes this.
  81. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    PMPS: 491!! Race to the top I guess!
    Fed the usual with usual snacks.
    Gave 7.4 units.
    I'll be home at +3.5 or +4 to monitor.
     
  82. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +3.25 316
    Started 17mg Enrofloxacin beef flavored tabs once a day for 16 days. I looked it up and it's generic baytril. I figured I'd try to just give it to him as a treat and I was shocked that he ate it! Nothing on the pill. Gobbled it right up! :eek::D Hopefully he continues to do that every day. If not I'll just crush it into his food.
     
  83. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +4.25 345
    +6.5 316 *sigh*
    Scored two free 3ml lantus pens from my Aunt!! My step dad figured out that he paid $45 a vial so I'm hoping he'll sell I've to me for that same price! But only after we get started a through the pens.
     
  84. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +9 284
    AMPS: 269
    Fed usual meal and snacks
    Gave 7.2 units
    +2 456
    +4 269
    +5 251
    That +4 snack still seems to stop him in his tracks... Thinking about trying a zero carb food for his snacks.
    Kris & Teasel, someone said on my lantus post that with TR there's no dry food allowed... Does this include Young Again? I have a ton of it left and will not waste it. My civvie loves it so I can feed it to him. At this point Chuck only gets 1 teaspoon. I was giving a tablespoon but he was going up from that much so I use a regular spoon and give him one spoonful. And he gets the extra 3 tablespoons water each cycle.
     
  85. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Hi Steph,

    Yes, the TR protocol is strict on the no dry food point. People who feed some dry follow the SLGS protocol. The dose reduction cut off points and how long you hold the dose are different as well. Having said that, ECID and I'm making up my own protocol with Teasel. I'm officially following TR, as in no dry , testing frequently, using 68 on my AT meter as the dose reduction point BUT I'm not increasing his dose after 3 days if he hasn't shown me good numbers. He's such a bouncer that I have to let that run a lot longer. Case in point - on his recent dose of 2.5 u he's been in bounce numbers almost the whole time until the 10th cycle yesterday when he threw me a green 79 (AT) for PS for PMPS. If I had increased his dose after 6 cycles of "too high" he might have bottomed out badly.

    What I did was:
    • start the Lantus at a slightly lowered dose
    • fast tracked so I increased after 6 cycles instead of the TR rule of 5 to 7 days (for newbies - you aren't one either),
    • followed the TR rules as I made my way up to 2.75 u then 3.0 u
    • moved up and down between 2.75 u and 3 u as he showed me some lime greens
    • learned to bite the bullet and dose on a green PS
    • got a few no shots within a couple of days
    • decided that I had to go back to 2.5 u - with resultant disappearance of blues and dark greens
    • tried a fat 2.5 u for a couple of doses and got more lime green
    • said to myself, "To hell with this! I need to follow Teasel Rules!" and am now doing it my way with a nod to TR. I'll let him run on a dose (maybe for 5 or so days - not sure yet, need more data) and let the lowest he gets to somewhere in there be my dose guide. That dark green PS last night tells me to stay at 2.5 u for now. All the while I'll watch for signs of him getting stuck.
    In my opinion Chuck will need his own version of Lantus protocol. I suggest trying the TR as written for a bit and as time goes on you'll get a feel for what works and what doesn't. Teasel has been on it 6 and a half weeks now so I'm getting a good idea of what I have to modify. No doubt there'll be new lessons along the way.

    I hope this helps! I understand the anguish around making the decision to switch. It wasn't easy for me either. :)
     
    StephG likes this.
  86. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I'm lucky to have you here to help!! I probably wouldn't want to switch without seeing your results and knowing you've done it!
    I'm not understand why he can't have ya zero... Even in the small amount he gets... But if I can find a zero carb that works as a snack with higher calories to help him keep gaining I'll cut out the YA. I really think that's what's helping him gain. I'll look at the new food chart tonight.
     
  87. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    It really comes down to doing what's best for Chuck, Steph. If he needs that YA to keep him happy and put on weight, stick to it. That's more important I think. The Lantus protocols are a guide for people to use when they need to know what to do in the beginning. They're good for people who are more comfortable with a defined structure guiding their dosing decisions. They work very well with kitties that are more predictable and neither Chuck nor Teasel are in that category, although they might get that way eventually. There are a few bounce-crazy Lantus cats that have settled down.

    The way I look at it is that you can't always balance our ECID mantra with the notion of a set protocol that MUST be followed. We learn to make independent dosing decisions with ProZinc and that gives us confidence to know when something works and when it doesn't. The Lantus protocols are a really good general guide to follow, especially as you start. There are very experienced people there who have/had kitties with many complex issues who can advise you. They, too, learn over time how much your kitty is with the program - or not. We're very far down the FD road with very hard to figure out kittties and that experience is our bedrock.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017
    MiCo, StephG and Sharon14 like this.
  88. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Remember, also, Steph that YOU are very experienced. A lot of people who start on Lantus are not. They don't have the data that you have so they can't make the decisions about what is best for their cat based on data...they have to start with a defined protocol that has worked for others and tweak it from there if needed. Remember that Bobbie had to change the Lantus protocol around to include R when Bubba was throwing ketones...and now he is OTJ!

    I think with your experience and data, and the fact that Chuck is Chuck...well you gotta do what you gotta do. :)
     
    Yong & Maury GA, MiCo, StephG and 2 others like this.
  89. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I don't know what I'd do without you all!! Well it would probably end with a pretty white jacket that helps me hug myself. :confused:
    You guys are great at keeping me centered and focused!
     
  90. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    AMPS: 529 (Bounce?)
    Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate + 1T water @+4. 1 teaspoon YA @+7.
    Gave 7.4 units.
    DH will monitor.
     
  91. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Maybe from his blue last night? :)
     
    StephG likes this.
  92. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Probably a bounce...oh that trampoline!
     
    StephG likes this.
  93. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Ugh. I was expecting better numbers this afternoon but I guess he could still be bouncing...
    AMPS: 579
    +2 "HI"
    +4 378
    +6 411
    PMPS: 319 (possibly a low reading)
    Fed the usual with usual snacks.
    +2 537 :blackeye:
     
  94. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Is the antibiotic making him feel unwell?
     
    StephG likes this.
  95. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I'm not sure. DH is home with him so I'll have him keep an eye out to see if he notices any different behavior.
     
  96. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Ok so DH didn't see any symptoms of not feeling well. He is eating like his new normal. Eating most of his meal then laying close to it and finishing it about half hour later.
    +4 416 0.2u given *DO NOT COPY MY DOSING*
    +6.5 329
    +9 292
    PMPS (+12): 254
    Fed 4.5oz +2T water. .8oz pate +1T water. 1 teaspoon YA @+7.
    Gave 7.2 units.
    DH will monitor.
    +1 364 A bit nervous about this number but he should be fine. I think it's only a 100 point increase because of the late micro dose. Might see some blues again today.
     
  97. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    So we are going on vacation in May... to Cape Cod, MA. I will be using lantus by then and have my friend, who has experience giving insulin to a dog, set up to give chuck his insulin. I'm thinking by then I'll know what dose will keep him in acceptable "higher" numbers and away from potential hypo range. It's only 8 shots (pm, 3 whole days then AM) that I'll be gone for. But then we are going on vacation again (never vacation this much!) in August to Wells Beach, ME for a week! I'll be gone for 14 shots! My stomach turns to think about it. I hope to really be able to know a dose to keep him in safe range with no risk of hypo. The first 3 of those days I'm stuck looking for someone to give him his shots. I don't know if our housemate will do it. He seemed reluctant to even test him for our May vacay. I'm thinking way ahead of myself here but I need to know I have it covered before I put money up for a vacation that long! I think I might ask my Aunt who is a nurse. She's comfortable with lantus because my Uncle is on it and has given shots to her dog before.
     
  98. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    +2 324
     
  99. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Sounds like wonderful vacations! Try not to worry. You have plenty time before you leave to get someone trained and learn about how Chuck responds to Lantus. The peeps in the L&LL forum will help you with a vaca dose too.
     
  100. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    You'll have enough Lantus experience by then Steph, to know what dose is high enough to keep his numbers in an "OK" range - ie.,under dosing slightly. The L&L pros can also help when you get closer to departure.
     
    StephG likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page