The gain is great news!I also forgot to say that he's gained! 10.8 pounds Saturday night! Yay!!
Aw ... we know you love Chuck, Steph!+2 547
+4.5 485 micro .2 *DO NOT COPY MY DOSING*
Gave him 1/8th cup Stella & Chewy's for a snack... He's use to his snack and was not happy that he didn't get it! Turd.

Ever since last week when my vet asked me to do a mini curve testing Cliff every hour for four hours after insulin, & he dropped at +4, I've been trying my best not to give him food or snacks until +4. I used to give a snack at +3.+5 334 Looks like it's taking the full 4 hours to start working full force. Maybe I should hold off on his "low carb" pate snack til +5 and give his YA at +2 or +3? Thoughts?
Good luck! ECID, & while Cliff's evening #s have improved, I can't seem to duplicate those #s during the day. It's also impossible for me to wait until+4 to feed his first meal after shot in am. I drop food when I leave for work, usually around +3.Chuck use to race into the blacks if he got a snack after or near +6... But he seems to be dropping after +4 so I might try the snack later.![]()
Do you add extra water to all his wet food meals?I think Chuck is getting a bit dehydrated. I did the scruff pinch test and it doesn't snap back like my civvie's does. How much water should he be drinking? I've been trying to give him some of the stella & chewy's with 60ml water once a day on top of what he eats and drinks on his own. I don't think he's dangerously dehydrated but I rather not let him get there either...
I don't think he'll overhydrate with water added to wet food. He'll pee out the excess. There's a danger of that happening when people are giving subQ fluids to kitties with heart issues. I add warm water to make a lumpy "stew" of the wet food. I do it for all three of mine and it shows up as more big lumps in the litter box but I swear it helps coat condition and Teasel's sister's tendency to get mild cystitis.I don't do it with his big meal but I add an ice cube in his snack. Can I over-hydrate him? He drinks less when he's in the 200s and low 300s... but when he's high he drinks like a fish. I just bought him a smaller dish to put his food in at meal time. We use a 9 inch cake pan to feed him in now because he was eating so fast but he's slowed down a lot. I figured we would try it in the morning. How much water should I add into his food? Maybe an ounce or two?
I just gave him a few pieces of stella & chewy's with about 90ml water. He drank all the water and ate a little bit of the actual food.
Kitty gets crystals in his urine. He has litterbox avoidance because of it. That and he was declawed by his first owner. He uses "chucks" pee pads to pee on and just recently he's been pooing in the box! I spent countless dollars on expensive litters to get him to use the box and when I switched to plain old non-scoopable"clay" litter he started pooing in there!! He's quite prissy. Anyway, he could benefit from more water too. He also gets constipated and will literally run around the house trying to poop anywhere when he is constipated. Breaks my heart but the miralax gave him a upset belly even though it was 1/16th of a tsp split in two meals am/pm. I'll try adding some water for him too. I know he won't eat a soupy consistency but he's well hydrated according to his snap back test so a tablespoon should work for him. Chuck seems a little brighter today. Not stretching out on the table like the last few days. I opened the door and they are exploring outside. It's incredibly warm here in upstate NY, 63 degrees in the end of February?! We are loving it! My floors, not so much lol they're covered in muddy drooler footprints.I don't think he'll overhydrate with water added to wet food. He'll pee out the excess. There's a danger of that happening when people are giving subQ fluids to kitties with heart issues. I add warm water to make a lumpy "stew" of the wet food. I do it for all three of mine and it shows up as more big lumps in the litter box but I swear it helps coat condition and Teasel's sister's tendency to get mild cystitis.

Definitely wondering if it's not normal from the warming incidents.Are you wondering about your new bottle of ProZinc?
Unfortunately, Steph, the only way to know is by getting a new bottle - $$$+5 340
AMPS (+13): 361
Fed 4.5oz + 2T water. .8 oz pate + 1 T water at +2.5. 1T YA at +5.5.
Gave 5.8 units. Will monitor.
I definitely think my bottle of ProZinc has been damaged from being warm too long. Can I still continue to use it or should I test it with a new bottle? I'm trying to find a more stable temp area in my fridge. I've got an old fridge and the back freezes and the front sweats. Pain in my butt. Had the insulin in an area that ran about 40-41 degrees but the last few days the "high" temp it reached was 44-45 which I think is to high.
Try that backup bottle first.I also have the backup bottle in the fridge. The end of the bottle from January I believe... Idk not the last bottle but the one before that. But that was in the same spot as this bottle in the fridge when the door was left open. It didn't get the extra warming time in my purse like this new bottle though. Maybe I should try his am dose with that bottle? I would go back to the lower dose that was working for him, around 5 units.
I hate to waste $110 and gave to get a new bottle but whatever is best for him. I could keep this one as a 2nd emergency back up since it does have some effect on his numbers, for now.