Chuck's bouncy journey, part 13.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I also forgot to say that he's gained! 10.8 pounds Saturday night! Yay!!
The gain is great news! :) I agree that maybe trying to shoot while he's in a spot that he's comfortable with might work. Let us know how it goes.
 
+2 547
+4.5 485 micro .2 *DO NOT COPY MY DOSING*
Gave him 1/8th cup Stella & Chewy's for a snack... He's use to his snack and was not happy that he didn't get it! Turd.
 
AMPS (+11): 368
Fed 4.5oz 1/8th cup stella & chewy's at +7 because DH didn't put his snack in the autofeeder.
Gave 5 units from the backup bottle. Didn't open new one.
+2.5 403
+4.25 307
+7 255
+14 575
PMPS (+14.5): "HI" (DH had to leave early for work and I didn't get home by +12)
Fed 4.5oz .8oz pate snack at +2.25
Gave 5.7 units from new bottle.
Will monitor
 
+1.25 HI
+2.75 488
+4.5 413
NOT happy with his numbers tonight. I REALLY hope this bottle of insulin isn't weakened from being warm.
 
+5 334 Looks like it's taking the full 4 hours to start working full force. Maybe I should hold off on his "low carb" pate snack til +5 and give his YA at +2 or +3? Thoughts?
 
+5 334 Looks like it's taking the full 4 hours to start working full force. Maybe I should hold off on his "low carb" pate snack til +5 and give his YA at +2 or +3? Thoughts?
Ever since last week when my vet asked me to do a mini curve testing Cliff every hour for four hours after insulin, & he dropped at +4, I've been trying my best not to give him food or snacks until +4. I used to give a snack at +3.
 
Chuck use to race into the blacks if he got a snack after or near +6... But he seems to be dropping after +4 so I might try the snack later. :)
 
Chuck use to race into the blacks if he got a snack after or near +6... But he seems to be dropping after +4 so I might try the snack later. :)
Good luck! ECID, & while Cliff's evening #s have improved, I can't seem to duplicate those #s during the day. It's also impossible for me to wait until+4 to feed his first meal after shot in am. I drop food when I leave for work, usually around +3.
 
I have an auto feeder. I set it as he's eating his meal for 2 hours or 3 hours later and again at +5ish... He gets most of his meal at shot time. I played with less food at shot time and bigger snacks... He wasn't a fan of that.
 
End of last night's cycle:
+6 302
+9 303
+10 250
AMPS (+10): 250
Fed 4.5oz pate. .8oz pate snack at +2
Gave 4.8 units
+1.5 294
+2 221
+2.75 211
+5 258
+9 291
PMPS (+12): "HI"
FED 4.5oz. .8oz pate snack at +3 1T YA at +5

+2 588
+5 480
+7 396
 
I think Chuck is getting a bit dehydrated. I did the scruff pinch test and it doesn't snap back like my civvie's does. How much water should he be drinking? I've been trying to give him some of the stella & chewy's with 60ml water once a day on top of what he eats and drinks on his own. I don't think he's dangerously dehydrated but I rather not let him get there either...
 
I think Chuck is getting a bit dehydrated. I did the scruff pinch test and it doesn't snap back like my civvie's does. How much water should he be drinking? I've been trying to give him some of the stella & chewy's with 60ml water once a day on top of what he eats and drinks on his own. I don't think he's dangerously dehydrated but I rather not let him get there either...
Do you add extra water to all his wet food meals?
 
I don't do it with his big meal but I add an ice cube in his snack. Can I over-hydrate him? He drinks less when he's in the 200s and low 300s... but when he's high he drinks like a fish. I just bought him a smaller dish to put his food in at meal time. We use a 9 inch cake pan to feed him in now because he was eating so fast but he's slowed down a lot. I figured we would try it in the morning. How much water should I add into his food? Maybe an ounce or two?
I just gave him a few pieces of stella & chewy's with about 90ml water. He drank all the water and ate a little bit of the actual food.
 
I started adding water to their wet food.i don't measure the amt, but it's probably 1-2tbs for each cat's plate, each meal. My guys nev seem dehydrated since I started doing this.
 
I think Chuck started out dehydrated. His "snap back" test improved A LOT since the beginning but with him being lazy and laying on the table vs his chair it made me wonder if he's feeling icky from being a bit dehydrated so I tested and it seemed normal until I tested my civvie. Then I felt awful. I should have checked sooner... shoulda, coulda, woulda... Going to try to get more water in his diet. I just worry about over hydrating-- I know it's a thing with subQs but he doesn't get those...
 
+10 351
AMPS (+11): 333
Fed 4.5oz with 2 tablespoons water. .8oz pate + 1 tablespoon water for snack at +2. 1 tablespoons YA at +5
Gave 5 units.
DH will monitor. Hoping for a quiet cycle. I irritated my back at walmart and then again trying to straighten out a cushion... Just couldn't leave it crooked! *derp*
 
+1 403
+2 270
Looks like a repeat of AM cycle on 2/18... Not giving any extra food because he already had his snack so paws crossed for surfing in blues!
 
Maybe someone else can chime in abt how much water they add, and your concerns abt overhydration? I've been adding water since mid January and I really think it helps. Plus, I use warm water and I think it helps "warm-up" food that I'm pulling from the fridge--which my guys used to be picky abt eating "leftovers" but now I don't think they notice!
 
I don't do it with his big meal but I add an ice cube in his snack. Can I over-hydrate him? He drinks less when he's in the 200s and low 300s... but when he's high he drinks like a fish. I just bought him a smaller dish to put his food in at meal time. We use a 9 inch cake pan to feed him in now because he was eating so fast but he's slowed down a lot. I figured we would try it in the morning. How much water should I add into his food? Maybe an ounce or two?
I just gave him a few pieces of stella & chewy's with about 90ml water. He drank all the water and ate a little bit of the actual food.
I don't think he'll overhydrate with water added to wet food. He'll pee out the excess. There's a danger of that happening when people are giving subQ fluids to kitties with heart issues. I add warm water to make a lumpy "stew" of the wet food. I do it for all three of mine and it shows up as more big lumps in the litter box but I swear it helps coat condition and Teasel's sister's tendency to get mild cystitis.
 
I don't think he'll overhydrate with water added to wet food. He'll pee out the excess. There's a danger of that happening when people are giving subQ fluids to kitties with heart issues. I add warm water to make a lumpy "stew" of the wet food. I do it for all three of mine and it shows up as more big lumps in the litter box but I swear it helps coat condition and Teasel's sister's tendency to get mild cystitis.
Kitty gets crystals in his urine. He has litterbox avoidance because of it. That and he was declawed by his first owner. He uses "chucks" pee pads to pee on and just recently he's been pooing in the box! I spent countless dollars on expensive litters to get him to use the box and when I switched to plain old non-scoopable"clay" litter he started pooing in there!! He's quite prissy. Anyway, he could benefit from more water too. He also gets constipated and will literally run around the house trying to poop anywhere when he is constipated. Breaks my heart but the miralax gave him a upset belly even though it was 1/16th of a tsp split in two meals am/pm. I'll try adding some water for him too. I know he won't eat a soupy consistency but he's well hydrated according to his snap back test so a tablespoon should work for him. Chuck seems a little brighter today. Not stretching out on the table like the last few days. I opened the door and they are exploring outside. It's incredibly warm here in upstate NY, 63 degrees in the end of February?! We are loving it! My floors, not so much lol they're covered in muddy drooler footprints. :rolleyes::)
 
+4 297
+8 234
PMPS: 353
Fed 4.5oz with 2T water. .8oz pate + 1Twater at +2.5. 1/16th c YA at +4.5 and 5 pieces S&C with 1/4c water at +9.
Gave 5.1 units
Will monitor.
 
Last edited:
AMPS (+10): 493
Fed 4.5oz chicken & tuna pate with 2 T water. .8oz pate + 1 T water at +2.5 and 5 pieces S&C with 1/4 c water at +5.
Gave 5.6 units.
DH will monitor.
 
+4 337
PMPS (+13): "HI"
Fed 4.5oz+ 2T water .8oz pate + 1 T water at +2.5 1T YA at +5.
Gave 5.8 units.
+2 517
NEGATIVE KETONES
+8 396
AMPS (+11): 553
Fed 4.5oz+ 2T water .8oz pate + 1 T water at +2.5 1T YA at +5.
Gave 5.8 units
 
+4 323
+5 304
PMPS (+12): 316
Fed 4.5oz + 2T water. .8oz pate + 1T water at +2. 1T YA at +5. 1T YA at +9.
Gave 5.1 units.
+1 472
+2 421
+3 394
AMPS (+12): 423
Fed 4.5oz + 2T water. .8oz + 1T water at +2. 1T YA at +5.
Gave FAT 5.2
 
+1 549
+2 480
+4.25 382
+5.25 383
PMPS (+12): 394
Fed 4.5oz + 2T water. .8oz pate + 1 T water at +2.5. 1 T YA at +5.
Gave 5.4 units.
+2 502
+ 336
+7 291

I've been thinking about trying some SP Pancreatrophin PMG. I can get a bottle of 90 tablets for about $20. I don't think he has pancreatitis or anything like that but I wondered if it would help his pancreas heal and become more productive?
I also have been thinking about trying the Zobaline b12 supplement to help with his neuropathy. He doesn't like his back end messed with much and I assume it's from the diabetes. He walks "normal" but the zobaline can't hurt can it?
 
+10 390
AMPS (+11): 344
Fed 4.5oz + 2T water. .8oz pate + 1T water @ +2.5. 1T YA @ +5.
Gave 5.6 units.
Will monitor.
 
+5 340
AMPS (+13): 361
Fed 4.5oz + 2T water. .8 oz pate + 1 T water at +2.5. 1T YA at +5.5.
Gave 5.8 units. Will monitor.
I definitely think my bottle of ProZinc has been damaged from being warm too long. Can I still continue to use it or should I test it with a new bottle? I'm trying to find a more stable temp area in my fridge. I've got an old fridge and the back freezes and the front sweats. Pain in my butt. Had the insulin in an area that ran about 40-41 degrees but the last few days the "high" temp it reached was 44-45 which I think is to high.
 
I also have the backup bottle in the fridge. The end of the bottle from January I believe... Idk not the last bottle but the one before that. But that was in the same spot as this bottle in the fridge when the door was left open. It didn't get the extra warming time in my purse like this new bottle though. Maybe I should try his am dose with that bottle? I would go back to the lower dose that was working for him, around 5 units.
I hate to waste $110 and gave to get a new bottle but whatever is best for him. I could keep this one as a 2nd emergency back up since it does have some effect on his numbers, for now.
 
Unfortunately, St
+5 340
AMPS (+13): 361
Fed 4.5oz + 2T water. .8 oz pate + 1 T water at +2.5. 1T YA at +5.5.
Gave 5.8 units. Will monitor.
I definitely think my bottle of ProZinc has been damaged from being warm too long. Can I still continue to use it or should I test it with a new bottle? I'm trying to find a more stable temp area in my fridge. I've got an old fridge and the back freezes and the front sweats. Pain in my butt. Had the insulin in an area that ran about 40-41 degrees but the last few days the "high" temp it reached was 44-45 which I think is to high.
Unfortunately, Steph, the only way to know is by getting a new bottle - $$$ :( The data since you started this bottle suggests there might be a problem with this insulin. He'd been doing well and now you've lost thew blues.
 
I also have the backup bottle in the fridge. The end of the bottle from January I believe... Idk not the last bottle but the one before that. But that was in the same spot as this bottle in the fridge when the door was left open. It didn't get the extra warming time in my purse like this new bottle though. Maybe I should try his am dose with that bottle? I would go back to the lower dose that was working for him, around 5 units.
I hate to waste $110 and gave to get a new bottle but whatever is best for him. I could keep this one as a 2nd emergency back up since it does have some effect on his numbers, for now.
Try that backup bottle first.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top