Chloe 9

Status
Not open for further replies.
I agree. Taking the best care of these little critters forces all of us to change things in our lives. You just have to do what you have to do ... setting a schedule, setting alarms, missing events or arriving late/leaving early, etc., etc., etc. It isn't easy but it's necessary.
 
I agree. Taking the best care of these little critters forces all of us to change things in our lives. You just have to do what you have to do ... setting a schedule, setting alarms, missing events or arriving late/leaving early, etc., etc., etc. It isn't easy but it's necessary.
Yes, I start back to work in a couple of weeks. But I won't be able to take pottery classes this fall.
 
PMPS - 184. Is she bouncing around? I'll try to get another test about 10 pm. She's always ravenous- is that normal?
 
PMPS - 184. Is she bouncing around? I'll try to get another test about 10 pm. She's always ravenous- is that normal?
I saw you posted about using the u100 syringes with the conversion chart. Are you still using them?
I would try 1 unit or a skinny 1 unit on the 200s. You'll probably get two shootable preshots that way.
184 it's pretty close to 200 so maybe the regular 1 unit will work. Getting the mid cycles will show how low she's going and give you more info on how much she could get on a preshot in the high 100s.
Edited to add: I don't think the 184 is a bounce number. A normal curve on prozinc will look like a smile. So starting at 200s and then going down (how low, we don't know without a test) then going back up slowly to about the same as the previous preshot. Once you get the dose for this type of curve for almost every cycle, you tweak the dose to bring down the preshots to blues and then eventually greens. It can take a long time so patience and routine are important.
 
Last edited:
I saw you posted about using the u100 syringes with the conversion chart. Are you still using them?
I would try 1 unit or a skinny 1 unit on the 200s. You'll probably get two shootable preshots that way.
184 it's pretty close to 200 so maybe the regular 1 unit will work. Getting the mid cycles will show how low she's going and give you more info on how much she could get on a preshot in the high 100s.
Edited to add: I don't think the 184 is a bounce number. A normal curve on prozinc will look like a smile. So starting at 200s and then going down (how low, we don't know without a test) then going back up slowly to about the same as the previous preshot. Once you get the dose for this type of curve for almost every cycle, you tweak the dose to bring down the preshots to blues and then eventually greens. It can take a long time so patience and routine are important.
No, I quit using the u-100's long ago. I just need to order supplies before I run out. Chloe seems constantly hungry. I see her licking bowls even 2 hours after her shot. I'll do a mid-cycle test tomorrow.
 
I think you should try an even 1 unit tonight if she's in the 200s and get a +4 to see where she's going on it.
I'm not sure how much you gave this morning because it's not entered.
 
How much are you feeding her, what are you feeding her, and when are you feeding her? You've mentioned a few times that she's constantly hungry. We would love to help you with that.
I give her a can of wet food after her BG reading and before AM shot. She is usually yowling for food. Once she gets it, she starts gobbling it up (I should take a video of it) and then Chico butts in and they take turns. I've seen her eating scraps off the floor and/or licking the bowls as much as 2 hours after her shot. When it goes up the sides of the bowl, she waits for me to come rearrange it in the middle and maybe add a little water. Then she goes to sleep until dinnertime. I was feeding her 9-lives and Fancy Feast. I sometimes leave YA out, but she's too spoiled to eat kibble. This morning, I caught Fuzma eating it. I don't mind that she eats so much because she was all skin and bones.
 
Do you know how much Chloe weighs, and has the vet ever said what her ideal weight would be?
 
I think you should try an even 1 unit tonight if she's in the 200s and get a +4 to see where she's going on it.
I'm not sure how much you gave this morning because it's not entered.
I give her shot at around 7 am. Your time would be about 9 or 10 am. I will give her an even 1 unit tonight like you said, but you'll be asleep when I do a +4.
 
Do you know how much Chloe weighs, and has the vet ever said what her ideal weight would be?
Right now, she weighs 8 lbs. When she was first diagnosed, 2/24/2017, she weighed 8.2 lbs. I guess she hasn't gained any weight. It just seems like it because she is more peppy.
 
Do you think you could feed her a little more during the day? So give her one 3oz. can at AM shot time, maybe a 1/2 can around +6, another full can at PM shot time, and a 1/2 can at bedtime? So altogether it would be 3 cans.

Diabetic cats can't absorb their food very well when they aren't regulated, so sometimes they need to eat more. Two cans/day isn't a lot, and especially if Chico is taking some of that away from her.
 
Chuck was the same way. I add 2 tablespoons of water to his food and it fills him up more. He gets 4.5 oz food for his meal, the rest of the can at +3 with a tablespoon of water and an ice cube. Then half an ounce FF pate with an ice cube at +6. Same for each cycle. It it's a lot of food but it helped him gain and he's maintaining at 12.1 pounds. Up from 9 pounds in September 2016.
I also make it a priority to test any time he's acting really hungry. He does this when going low and sometimes just because he's a little piggy.
 
Then half an ounce FF pate with an ice cube at +6. .....
I also make it a priority to test any time he's acting really hungry. He does this when going low and sometimes just because he's a little piggy.

Did you mean half a can of FF pate? Or is it really half an ounce? And I agree about testing when a kitty acts super hungry. When Sam acts hungry in the middle of the day, it's often a sign his numbers are on the move.
 
I give her shot at around 7 am. Your time would be about 9 or 10 am. I will give her an even 1 unit tonight like you said, but you'll be asleep when I do a +4.
There will be others online that can help. I believe we are 3 hours difference. The test is just to see how low she might be going. If she is between 100-150 around +4 I would give her a snack before bed.

He only gets half an ounce of FF at +6. Sometimes it's closer to .75 ounce. Usually any more than that and it hits the brakes on the insulin. We might start another .5 oz at his double dip time of +9 or +10.
 
There will be others online that can help. I believe we are 3 hours difference. The test is just to see how low she might be going. If she is between 100-150 around +4 I would give her a snack before bed.

He only gets half an ounce of FF at +6. Sometimes it's closer to .75 ounce. Usually any more than that and it hits the brakes on the insulin. We might start another .5 oz at his double dip time of +9 or +10.

Ah! That makes sense now! Thanks
 
Do you think you could feed her a little more during the day? So give her one 3oz. can at AM shot time, maybe a 1/2 can around +6, another full can at PM shot time, and a 1/2 can at bedtime? So altogether it would be 3 cans.

Diabetic cats can't absorb their food very well when they aren't regulated, so sometimes they need to eat more. Two cans/day isn't a lot, and especially if Chico is taking some of that away from her.
The 9-lives is a 5.5 oz can. I usually let Chico outside to let Chloe eat. Also, Fuzma will come out to eat, too, when Chico is outside. Chico only likes to be outside when I'm there with him and, like me, it's too hot by 7:30 am. I'm getting my kitchen and bathroom floors re-tiled tomorrow. They have to rip out the old vinyl, so I'm sure it will take all day. I'll just close the doors to Chloe's room (our bedroom). Happy news! I found the nozzle to the Feliway spray under the fridge when I was cleaning. Once the floors are done, I will assign each cat their own bowl for food and feed them in the same place every day.
 
PMPS -161. I gave them each their own bowl. I gave Chloe a 5.5 oz can and I split another can between Chico and Fuzma. They finished eating about 5 minutes ago, but Chloe is still going strong. Chico and Fuzma only ate half their portion, so Chloe is eating their left-overs and licking the cans. I'll let you know when she's finished eating.
 
LOL...Sounds like she might take awhile! Now for a caution in the other direction: if she eats too much at once she's going to puke, so you might want to slow her down!
 
LOL...Sounds like she might take awhile! Now for a caution in the other direction: if she eats too much at once she's going to puke, so you might want to slow her down!
She finished at 6:50 and started licking her paws. So 20 minutes of non-stop eating. This is typical for her, but I haven't seen her vomit except for a hairball. Should I test her in 2 hours to see if her BG went up and if it's over 200, give her a reduced dose?
 
No. Please only give a dose at dose time. If you give it two hours late it will mess up your morning shot time. She may very well be higher tonight since she didn't get insulin and also ate more than normal. Don't worry about it. And tomorrow morning just give her one unit, even if she's high. It looks like that fat 1 unit is a bit too much.
 
She finished at 6:50 and started licking her paws. So 20 minutes of non-stop eating. This is typical for her, but I haven't seen her vomit except for a hairball. Should I test her in 2 hours to see if her BG went up and if it's over 200, give her a reduced dose?
I agree with Djamila.
Just skip the shot tonight and give her an even 1 unit tomorrow morning. That way you should get a shootable preshot in the evening too.
 
I agree with Djamila.
Just skip the shot tonight and give her an even 1 unit tomorrow morning. That way you should get a shootable preshot in the evening too.
Okay. I'd like to end this thread, though. It's too long. I started a Chloe 10 yesterday. Thanks.
 
When a dose is too big it can give a low or late nadir.
I think today it gave her a late nadir. You could still get the +2 just to see how much the food raised her bg levels and if her body might be helping. If you don't get a +2 tonight that is ok.
 
This spreadsheet is fantastic. Our cat, Gilbert, isn't cooperative enough at the vet to obtain a glucose curve, so we started one today.

Can you please tell me how you created a graph from the spreadsheet in order to identify the nadir and curve? Thank you so much.
 
This spreadsheet is fantastic. Our cat, Gilbert, isn't cooperative enough at the vet to obtain a glucose curve, so we started one today.

Can you please tell me how you created a graph from the spreadsheet in order to identify the nadir and curve? Thank you so much.
I am going to private message you instructions I got from another member.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top