Please get some mid cycle tests in today.Didn't get home until 9:00 pm. She was at 394 and was hungry. I fed her YA but decided to skip her shot because it was so late.
This happens with my civvie too! I was 30 minutes late with his mini meal this morning and he was puking. Fed him and he stopped. If I'm even later he will puke, eat some food, and repeat.Just a note too. If you feed her super late like last night, it could cause some tummy upset...my cats don't do well if they aren't fed on a pretty strict schedule. Enjoy the video festival and please do get some tests in today!
There's YA that I leave out for free-feeding. I've seen her spit up a couple times, but it wasn't food. It was transparent. I hope to get in a mid-cycle today. The last time, I was late, she got all blues the next day.Just a note too. If you feed her super late like last night, it could cause some tummy upset...my cats don't do well if they aren't fed on a pretty strict schedule. Enjoy the video festival and please do get some tests in today!
1 unit on the 245 should be a good dose. If that's what she got. Hard to tell with fur shots. I would make a note on the SS saying possible fur shot.My SS is completely messed up and I can't figure out what's wrong. So I put a background color on the line before today. I checked my meter a couple times and still can't figure it out. So I decided to start over today, Sunday, July 2nd. AMPS was 245. To top it off, I'm not sure if it was a fur shot, so I estimated she got about 1 unit. Sorry, sorry, sorry, sorry, sorry.
The good news is that the Cat Video Festival was hilarious. I had to really concentrate on my breathing to not get hiccups. Most of the funny clips were things my cats have done over the years, but with narration, it was hilarious. Just now, I went outside to find Chico and didn't see him. I'm dreading the day he figures out how to jump the wall. Of course, I'm terrified that he got taken by a coyote and opened the gate to check outside the yard, when he finally decides to show up. Then he rolls around in a pile of dirt because he knows I'll brush him before letting him in, and he enjoys that. Oy. I'm thinking of posting some of his antics on YouTube. Did you know that there's a book about how to make your cat famous on the internet and make a lot of money?
Oh yes, I think I'm turning into a cat and becoming crepuscular, and that's why I haven't been able to get midday shots.
They showed a hilarious Simon's Cat video. I found out about Simon over 10 years ago, when he had only done about 3 ot 4 videos. I was studying Flash at the time and did a report on him. Have you seen any Henri videos? He's a depressed cat speaking with a French accent. I'm going to test her now.1 unit on the 245 should be a good dose. If that's what she got. Hard to tell with fur shots. I would make a note on the SS saying possible fur shot.
Try to get a mid cycle today. Even though you suspect a fur shot it looks like it would be a good one to get some tests in, even if it's just one around +6.
I love watching cat videos. Simon's cat animation videos are hilarious.
Actually, I messed up. It's tomorrow night. I'm going to test her now at 7 pm.That's pretty late. Are you going to be able to give her the AM shot late and slowly walk shot time back? Is there any way you could arrive late to give her the shot tonight on time?
I'm against going up to 1.5 units until you get another curve.What do you think about raising the dose from fat 1 to 1.5? I just did a 10:30 test (+3.5) and she's not as low as I would like (249). I will try to get a +5 tomorrow. Maybe I'll wait to see what that number is. She's still very hungry all the time.
I could do a semi-curve today. I have a doctor's appt at 11:00, so it would have to be a +3, +6, +9, and then I have another event at 6:00, so that would be my PMPS next and it might be slightly late.I agree with Steph, no increase until some sort of curve on the current fat 1.0U dose. Prozinc doses are based on Pre-shot numbers AND NADIR. We're only seeing one part of the picture.
+3, +6, and +9 is a mini curve so that will due.I could do a semi-curve today. I have a doctor's appt at 11:00, so it would have to be a +3, +6, +9, and then I have another event at 6:00, so that would be my PMPS next and it might be slightly late.

Same here. I show up fashionably late with cat hair stuck to me somewhere!A mini curve is fine. My friends already know if there is an "event" scheduled to start when Maury is due for his routine that I will be fashionably late. My boy come first.![]()
I think I passed the nadir (233) and the numbers are still too high. I think it's time to increase the dase to 1.5 u. Don't you?A mini curve is fine. My friends already know if there is an "event" scheduled to start when Maury is due for his routine that I will be fashionably late. My boy come first.![]()
I'm not convinced... This could be a bounce cycle.I think I passed the nadir (233) and the numbers are still too high. I think it's time to increase the dase to 1.5 u. Don't you?
What exactly is a 'bounce' and what causes it? I gave her fat 1 and I'll do one more test at 10 (+4). I would really like to get her numbers down. Also, what do you mean by 'steer with food'?I agree with you Steph, looks like a bounce cycle. We need to see more mid cycle tests.
I feel the same way with Chuck. But it can take time to find the right dose for her needs at this time. It can change frequently too.I would really like to get her numbers down.
I don't see where the numbers have been low for 6 or 7 cycles. They've been consistently high.When the numbers drop too fast or too "low" (can just be lower than their body is familiar with) the liver "panics" and tries to raise the blood glucose levels. It pumps out stuff that raises the numbers and this is a bounce. This will cause higher numbers making it look like the dose isn't enough. Sometimes the dose is too much but without mid cycle tests we can never know. That's why we all urge testing mid cycle and at different times. It can last 6 cycles.
Chuck does this after blues and greens. He stays yellow or pink for a day or so. Sometimes red or black.
Steering with food is controlling how fast or how far the numbers drop. You feed extra low carb, med carb, or high carb food depending on the situation. When to feed is determined by mid cycle tests if it's needed.
I suggest looking over the yellow sticky threads at the top of the prozinc page as well as in the main health forum. There's a lot of info and a refresher could help. I read them often.
I don't see where the numbers have been low for 6 or 7 cycles. They've been consistently high.
While that is a possibility, your previous tests show that the 1 unit can work.If you get the AMPS number, and give a dose that is too low, then a diabetic cat would have BG numbers that rise after eating, and then slowly over the day, the BG would stay more or less the same, or slowly go down until the PMPS. The numbers would be too high all day. If that goes on for weeks and months, it will make the cat sick.
I'm thinking that this is the problem after doing the +5.
They tend to go lower at night? The AMPS have been the highest for the past several days. I'm going to increase to 1.5 tomorrow AMPS if she is higher than 299.While that is a possibility, your previous tests show that the 1 unit can work.
The only way to see if she needs more is by testing more.
In my opinion +4 to +7 is the prime time to test on prozinc. It's at full activity and close to nadir. If others disagree, please don't hesitate to say so.
You hold the syringe so you make the decision. But please make sure it's a safe one by planning on a few mid cycle tests on the first increased cycle. I also strongly suggest doing it on AM cycle first. They tend to go lower at night.
I would still get a +3 or +4 on pm cycles after the increase if you decide to do it.
Once you see lower preshots, in the 200s, you will need to get a few tests on that cycle too. 1.5 units can act much stronger on a 200s vs a 300+.
Anyone else have anything to add or disagree with?
Some cats do. Not all.They tend to go lower at night? The AMPS have been the highest for the past several days. I'm going to increase to 1.5 tomorrow AMPS if she is higher than 299.
If you are going to increase, please please listen to Steph's counsel to get mid-cycle tests in. First, to keep Chloe safe, and second to get the data to know if it's working. It doesn't do any good to move the dose around without getting the data you need to see if it's doing what you intend.
Also, dose increases are recommended to be 0.25 at a time, not 0.5 at a time, so if you're going to increase, I would recommend going to 1.25 for several cycles first. The smaller increase give Chloe's body time to adjust to the change in hormones. Moving 0.5 at a time can be hard on them.
I thought a fat 1 is the same as a 1.25 and that it would be a .25 increase to 1.5. Oh, and she eats like there's no tomorrow! and cries for more!
This morning she's at 157. Still eating like crazy. I haven't weighed her, but I can tell she's putting on some weight. What's that flap to the rear of the belly called? She's getting that again.Roberta, these people have been giving you excellent advice. I know that you want to get Chloe regulated or, even better, into remission. They're giving you the exact steps to follow but you're the one who actually has to carry them out. A structured testing routine and careful dosing is the way to get there - there's no escaping that reality.