Chewy and Kitty (tid) 2/19......

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning from Diabetic Alley!

So, which one should I start with today?!

Kitty, AMPS 271, I shot 3.2 units. I don't know what was going on with her, but her PMPS was 582 :o last night! I have to assume it was a bounce, as there is no contraband in the house. I stuck with the 3.2 last night and this morning she is back to "normal" ....and, Yes, I tested twice!!!

Chewy, AMPS 357, I shot a Fat 1 unit. The 1 unit gave decent drop yesterday, but it does appear that he is going to need a little more. I will test him today and see if the "fat" makes any difference. He is a sweet boy and is starting to settle in nicely. He is a talker and loves attention. I think I am falling for him!

Sally (dog), since it is raining here and I have the time, I might as will give you a quick Sally update. I have increased her dose from 9 units of N to 10. Her preshots are coming down, but she still has some room to drop on her nadir. She seems to be feeling much better, I just need to get her numbers down further. Diabetes and the complications are much harder on dogs than cats, so I need to be a little more aggressive with her dosing.

Wow! Am I crazy??? Believe it or not, I do have a life outside of Diabetic animals! :lol:

We have had very little "winter" weather this year, but today and tonight we are expecting some ice, freezing rain and light snow....so, the animals and I are hunkered down in front of the fire! It makes for a great day to get some spot checks in on the sugar babies!!!!

Wishing everyone a great day from Diabetic Alley (AKA Kittyville!).......
 
kse said:
Good Morning from Diabetic Alley!

:lol: :lol: :lol:

I don't know how you do it but I guess everyone is glad you do!
Regarding kitty...think that PMPS is due to her now sharing her turf with Chewy? :smile:
 
Dom & Jack want to come hunker down by your fire! I'm sure your girls & Chewy would love that! Silly old house - 4 fireplaces and can't use a single one of them!!! & Mom's too cheap to crank the heat! :sad:

Glad Chewy is settling in so well. Will try to get by and see him today... if I ever get moving! Everyone here decided a nice gray raining day is a good day to stay hunkered down!
 
Morning Kim!
I was wonderin' why Sally got demoted off your subject line.... :-D

Chewy's home...just as well admit it, he's already sitting firmly ensconced in your heart!

I'm going to test Sassy (drooler pup) later today - I have a feeling I'll find high numbers. THANK YOU for the info on canine diabetes a couple of days ago. I started reading yesterday...now if I can just keep all these conditions separate in my mind. DH with hypokalemia periodic paralysis, cat with CHF, dog with CHF, cat with diabetes and now maybe dog with diabetes. I never even desired a medical degree.... :roll: :roll:

BIG HUG!!!
 
kse said:
Good Morning from Diabetic Alley!

So, which one should I start with today?!

Kitty, AMPS 271, I shot 3.2 units. I don't know what was going on with her, but her PMPS was 582 :o last night! I have to assume it was a bounce, as there is no contraband in the house. I stuck with the 3.2 last night and this morning she is back to "normal" ....and, Yes, I tested twice!!!

Maybe Kitty was upset with Chewey?

kse said:
He is a sweet boy and is starting to settle in nicely. He is a talker and loves attention. I think I am falling for him!

I say he's there, everything is going good....he might as well stay! Petunia says it's ok. :lol:


It was in the 60's here yesterday....we now have sleet...ugh. I do believe I heard it's supposed to be in the 50's tomorrow again, this has been a weird winter.
 
Hey Barb.... I was thinking about keeping Chewy, but then I considered how unfair that would be since I didn't take Petunia!! Go away........ I don't need any encouragement from YOU! :lol: Maybe you can get someone in Lantus Land to take him!

Yes, the weather is CRAZY!
 
Chewy

AMPS 357 shot Fat 1 unit
+6 208 not bad-- only the forth cycle of insulin
 
kse said:
Hey Barb.... I was thinking about keeping Chewy, but then I considered how unfair that would be since I didn't take Petunia!! Go away........ I don't need any encouragement from YOU! :lol: Maybe you can get someone in Lantus Land to take him!

Yes, the weather is CRAZY!

Petunia is perfectly happy here....pestering everyone so she gives her blessing. :lol: I don't really know anyone in Lantus Land cause I'm not posting. :o There's really not much to post about....her dose is staying the same cause she will throw me a good number then shoot back up again. :roll:
 
Tick, tock...tick, tock....time for Kitty's midshot...BUT, she tested 149...so, we wait! So much for the nap I had planned!

This makes me feel even more certain, that yesterday's 582 was a bounce off a low number.


Edited to add....+9 midshot....268 shot 3.2---- almost doubled in 1 hour!
 
Hi Kim,
Sounds like everyone is doing really well
and Chewy is absolutely adorable!
Glad all is well down there , except the weather!

Babara, miss seeing you post, please come back more often!
 
Chewy today:


AMPS 357 shot Fat 1 unit
+6 208

PMPS 329 shot Fat I unit


I am thinking that this is not too bad for a cat on it's forth cycle of insulin. If he stays in this range, I probably will increase a little after a few more cycles. He actually seems to look better to me today...do you think they can improve that quickly? He only urinated once today--small plum size and he is drinking very little. No ravenous appetite-- eats a can of FF each cycle-- I am leaving food out, he needs to eat.

I had forgotten how great bid dosing was-- what a difference 4 hour makes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top