Chester 3/11

Status
Not open for further replies.

turbocat

Member
So last night pmps was 406 and +3 was 250. That answered my question on whether his insulin is working or not. I had been giving him shots in his back area after we had some altercations with doing it in his sides a few weeks ago. I was able to shoot in his sides last night and this morning. I'm wondering if he had absorption problems. We had several days of pretty high numbers even around what should have been nadir.

amps today was 369. I reduced the dose to 1.5 this morning, but unfortunately I have to leave for a chunk of the day and can't test frequently. After reading some posts where ppl had consistently high numbers the whole curve it seemed the consensus was too high a dose and the liver was just dumping glucose all the time. Not sure if I am understanding that correctly, but it makes some sense. So, I'm pulling his dose back a bit and going to see if that helps at all.
 
How encouraging to see the lower number! Yes, a number of people vary the shot site and it does seem to make a difference in some cats.

Hopefully you will see some movement with the lower dose. Any tests you get will help you figure out what's happening. The concept is called rebound:
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Somogyi_rebound

If your rebound check doesn't improve the numbers, then it may be a matter of working around the dry food and finding a good dose.
 
Hi Jenny and Chester!
I am Donna and my sugar cat is Asher. Welcome/welcome back to pzi.

We have experimented with shooting sites and what seems to work best for us is near Asher’s shoulder on the side. He’s “big boned” :lol: so I try to find a place of his skin we can tent that has no fat under it.
When he crouches to eat, that is an easy area to pinch and shoot. I also think absorption is good for us there too. FWIW....

I don’t know your history, but do you have to feed dry to Chester for some reason? Looks like he was doing better earlier on less insulin but a food change would change insulin needs too.

Looking forward to chatting with you and getting to know you.

peace!
 
Good luck with the rebound check. It should tell you pretty quickly if reducing is the way to go.

Good to know the insulin is still good and you can take that out of the mix.
 
I think others are right....it looks like his best days have been on doses below 2 units. I understand you are feeding him EVO dry and it's the lowest carbs you can find, and that he didn't eat enough when you tried all canned. Have you tried mixing them? Also, does he free feed on the dry? Either way, not a problem. He has to eat. But if he's grazing all day, that will help everyone make sense out of his data. If he isn't grazing, that will also help. Food timing is important to know when evaluating his cycles.

Carl
 
amps 369
+2 333
+7 318 this was before a snack
pmps 360

I gave 2 units for pm shot. I know I should maintain the 1.5 for a few days but there was an little bubble I couldn't get out and then ended up with at least a partial fur shot so he probably only ended up with 1.5 or less. My scheduling is out of whack with the time change and his shot tonight was 30 minutes late due to I wasn't home in time.

Carl to answer your questions, no, there is no grazing. He get's 1/2 cup of EVO in the morning, which he does not eat all of. Around 3 pm he gets a snack, I put the leftovers from the morning down and close him in the bathroom with it. (He eats in the bathroom because there are four other cats in the house; two of them think his food is awesome. It does have a strong smell for dry food.) He doesn't usually finish it all for snack. Then evening I take what's left and add another 1/4 cup. (3/4 cup total for day.) Usually it's all gone but for a few kibbles. The other cats get a grain free dry food that sometimes he sneaks a few bites of, but I try to be vigilant and not let him. He is learning he isn't supposed to eat it; if I catch him on the washer & dryer where the others eat he hurries up and gets down when he knows he's caught. (Some of my other cats are poky eaters so I have to leave theirs out a while.) I have been considering adding canned to the dry to try and introduce it back, now that we have a routine and I have my bearings. The canned is a real pain because he mostly just licks it and he doesn't like the leftovers that have been refrigerated. But if he can eat some instead of the dry, even if he still eats some dry, I guess it's better than nothing.

Thank you ALL for the feedback! :mrgreen:
 
Hi Jenny & Chester

I winged Baxter off of dry food by mixing canned & dry for a few days until it was all canned food he was eating. Have you tried that? I really think you might see some lower numbers just days after he is all on canned.
Just a idea.
 
A couple of quick thoughts on food. We had no trouble switching our diabetic to all wet food but our civvie was another story, he was just addicted to dry and wouldn’t eat the wet. We have no doors in the downstairs of our house, so we had to get them both to eat the wet food so the hoover diabetic wouldn’t get into the dry food. We mixed chicken broth in with the wet food and put toppings on it like baked chicken (same as we use for test treats) or some catnip or a shrimp cut up. In about a week he came around and we got rid of all the dry in the house. I know some people use the bonita flakes on the wet food too to make it smell more like what a dry food kitty might like.

We now mix water with the wet food for both cats, like kitty soup/pudding. I smash it up with a fork in the water. Good for hydration and other reasons, but also is a good camo for food that has been in the fridge. Mix a little warm water in with that.
 
Chester 3/11 and 3/12

This morning his amps was 344. Getting better. I mixed a half can of Special Kitty Super Supper with a small amount, maybe and 1/8 cup, of his Evo. I shot 1.5. Once again I am going to be gone most of day until 3pm or so. Husband might be around, but I don't know if I can get him to test or not.
 
That’s not bad Jenny. Would be cool if you could get DH to test, but if not, you can always snag some numbers on your way in or our the door anytime. Every little bit of data helps you decide if a dose is working and what should be next. Good day and good numbers to you guys!

peace.....
 
off topic question: How do you change the subject line on a thread? I've seen people have a subject line keep changing in the same thread and you see the new subject line on the board list. I've tried it and mine stays the same. What's up?
 
I think if you go back to orig post and hit edit, then change the subject line, it will show up that way. So any new post will be under that heading, older posts will still have orig heading. Hope that helps.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top