Checkers AMPS 353...What to do tonite?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
Checkers has been on insulin for one week now. Checkers had been diet controlled for almost a year. I've been keeping a log of his bg numbers, and brought it to doc

I have been keeping at 1 unit all week, as per doc's instructions. He originally said 1.5, and I asked to "keep low, go slow". He readily agreed.
I gave 1.5 this AM, according to printout doc gave me. I thought 353 AMPS, warranted it.
His numbers have been good all day, as he stayed out of the way of the 2 grandkids visiting.

I'm unsure of what to shoot at PM. Stick to 1.5 if it's over 200, or go back to 1 unit as I've been doing.
I don't like to jump around on his first week.
Could I have advice please?
Thank you,
 
Hi Barb and Checkers

have you had a chance to read the Tilly Protocol in here?
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

We follow this protocol, and just to let you know, Lantus is based on nadir, the lowest number in a cycle.
Plus you also want to give each dose time to settle in and see how it is working thru a cycle for Checkers.

My suggestion right now is to read a bit about Lantus - if you have already - great!
Also, if you're around to collect a +11, one hour before your PMPS, hoping to get you some eyes on your dose question by then.

By the way, we really suggest some evening spotchecks, if u could try for a couple of spotchecks tonite, a +3 is a good indicator and a before bedtime check.

What's your schedule like daily?
 
I didn't want to wait for the +11 to ask, in case no one was here. In fact, that is half hour from now.
I do check one more time before bed. That would be 2 to 3 hours after the PM shot.
 
Hi Barb, welcome!

When you say Checkers was diet controlled, do you mean he was diagnosed as diabetic a year ago but not put on insulin? What made you decide to put him on insulin now? Does he have any other health problems that might be relevant? What is he eating?

Please post your +11 when you get it. I'll be here. :smile:
 
Hi Libbey. Checkers was diagnosed almost a year ago. Sort of. It was up and downs. He was diagnosed at the time of a dental, so it could have been "vet stress".
His story is too long to tell here and my old brain doesn't remember details. Our profile seems to have gotten lost at the board change.
I found this board last Feb, learned how to feed and hometest, I have kept him strictly on low-carb wet foods from Janet's list.
His bg was not high enough consistently to be put on insulin in this time. I have kept it in the 100's and low 200's......until this Jan.
It shot up into the low to mid 300's, and has stayed there. Took to doc, who found UTI. He was on Clav for two weeks. I was hoping that was raised his bg. Numbers did not lower.
I asked doc if it was time for insulin, and he agreed.

He has no other health problems. He had bloodwork at the time of the UTI diagnosis.
His teeth look clean, and he shows no sign of eating problems.
He behaves normally. No diabetes symptoms.

Got a +11.....286
My gut says 1.5. Is that too big?
Eats, urinates, deficates, plays normally.
He is almost 14.
 
ok, here's the deal:

Lantus is best dosed based on nadir (the low point in the cycle), not by preshot. Two days ago Checkers had a 59 at nadir. You don't want him going lower than that, so I probably would not have increased his dose yet. More than likely the 300's are just bounces (when he goes lower than his body is used to, his liver will release extra glucose into his bloodstream to make up for that, so they usually bounce higher after they hit a lower number). If Checkers were my cat, I would have held the 1 unit dose for at least a few more cycles after that 59 to see if he could get down to that range again. He had a lower than usual preshot reading last night, so it is very possible that he DID go lower again last night and this morning's 353 is a bounce from whatever happened last night.

What I'm saying in way too many words is that if I were you, I would probably go back to 1 unit. :smile: And try to get a before bed test EVERY night. You're doing a great job of testing during the day. Make sense?
 
Libby, I had a chance to sit and study what you said. It makes perfect sense. Thank you so very much for taking the time to explain that to me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top