charlie's appointment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charliemeow

Very Active Member
Just wanted to give an update. We met with the new vet. Aside from pushing the d/m diet, they seem very knowledgeable. Willing to switch to whatever insulin I want He obviously preferred Lantus, but was fine when I said I'd rather try levemir first. He feels lantus offers the best chance of remission. But if Charlie is high-dose, I'd rather he be comfortable with a non-stinging insulin. But I'd be open to try that if lev isn't working. Charlie has a minor infection on his toe, so he's on ab's now. So, while we have the script for lev, we won't be starting it until we're done with the ab's, and until we get the results of his sterile urine culture back. All his other blood work was within the normal range. His bg at the vet was 395, but he gets super-stressed at the vets. I won't poke him again till his pmps. They insist that their clients hometest blood glucose. He is perfectly willing to test for acro. We're holding off on the test for now. We'll see if the new insulin or the ab's will help his numbers some. He is looking lean and mean with a body condition score of 5 (ideal)! So, aside from the exorbitant cost of today's visit (and the sales pitch), I think I'm generally pleased with this new vet office. The one thing that concerned me was that he said I should up Charlie's dose to 8u bid (from 6.5). But if he has an infection on his toe, and possibly an undiagnosed uti, I'd rather not increase that much. I'll probably increase to 7u tomorrow am, though. So, overally, not too shabby!
 
Not bad at all. Great that they will prescribe the insulin of your choice and encourage hometesting. I think you are very wise not to increase the dose to 8. Wonder if the abs/getting rid of the infection will make a difference in bg levels. They do for some cats.
 
Sounds like a great vet.. and I can appreciate your reluctance to start off with a jump to 8u, I would shoot that idea down with my own cat too. I've checked your numbers again, and I'm proud of your aggression. I *still* see numbers more like IAA than acro, so ... I'm crossing my fingers while saying this.. you may never need to have any testing done. With your aggression, AND if this is only IAA, you will break through the resistance before you ever need to run any tests.

Two things to know about IAA:
1. It's temporary
2. It's confusing. You will break through and get delicious numbers, and then without warning, the resistance will come back and it will be stronger than ever. Hindsight is always 20-20 with IAA.

Keep up the great work, and congratulations on your new vet :)
 
So glad to hear that the vet visit went well. Sorry to hear about Charlie's infected toe. I hope the ABs clear that up quickly and his numbers come down.
 
Oh, Claudia...... I am so very happy to hear this news. Seems like the vet may be a keeper. flip_cat
 
Congrats to you and Charlie on a good visit. Hope his footie feels better soon!

I wonder if the vets make quite a bit on these prescription foods. I almost laughed at the sales pitch we got with a picture book to point at and brochures, etc.

Good on you guys!

Donna
 
Claudia sounds like a keeper. and welcome to lev. i'm happy you'll be riding that train with me.
I bet I understand the vet's thought on 8u... :o but I know we won't do it.
You may want to post on Lantus if you use the Lev...the replies are fast...the transfer is a bit more confusing than i anticipated...harder to rid the mind of the pz thought process. wait till you shoot your first blue! scary!
but i am happy another insulin will be tried on Charlie...fingers and paws are crossed :-D
Lori and tomtom
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top