Charliemeow
Member Since 2010
Just wanted to give an update. We met with the new vet. Aside from pushing the d/m diet, they seem very knowledgeable. Willing to switch to whatever insulin I want He obviously preferred Lantus, but was fine when I said I'd rather try levemir first. He feels lantus offers the best chance of remission. But if Charlie is high-dose, I'd rather he be comfortable with a non-stinging insulin. But I'd be open to try that if lev isn't working. Charlie has a minor infection on his toe, so he's on ab's now. So, while we have the script for lev, we won't be starting it until we're done with the ab's, and until we get the results of his sterile urine culture back. All his other blood work was within the normal range. His bg at the vet was 395, but he gets super-stressed at the vets. I won't poke him again till his pmps. They insist that their clients hometest blood glucose. He is perfectly willing to test for acro. We're holding off on the test for now. We'll see if the new insulin or the ab's will help his numbers some. He is looking lean and mean with a body condition score of 5 (ideal)! So, aside from the exorbitant cost of today's visit (and the sales pitch), I think I'm generally pleased with this new vet office. The one thing that concerned me was that he said I should up Charlie's dose to 8u bid (from 6.5). But if he has an infection on his toe, and possibly an undiagnosed uti, I'd rather not increase that much. I'll probably increase to 7u tomorrow am, though. So, overally, not too shabby!