Charlie update

Charlie'sMom22

Member Since 2025
frantically packing a bag waiting for my mom to get here apologies for the shortness—
hadhfast breathing for a few days I chalked it up to the formula change in his food now has l-carnitine. He was pooping more frequently too but otherwise normal. Tonight out of nowhere started acting in pain, lethargic rapid breathing and shuddering (his classic sign when he’s in pain). Gave all meds—ondan, Cerenia, and 1.5ml of gabapentin. No improvement. He gingerly ate a tiny bit of food that I hand fed him. BG up from 133 to 261 in less than two hours

Heading to ER an hour away shortly is there anything specific I should ask for or know? I suspect he may have CKD or hyperthyroid but this seems like something else
 
Just saw this — please post an update when you know something.

Depending on what you mean by “rapid breathing,” that can be a clue. A resting respiration rate over 30 or open-mouth breathing are signs to take seriously. I would want at least bloodwork and probably an X-ray. Probably a fPLI test for pancreatitis as well. Pain can cause rapid breathing, but so can heart problems, fluid buildup, etc. If he is screaming in pain or can’t walk (especially with a cold paw), I’d want to rule out a saddle thrombus (blood clot).

Let the vet’s expert evaluation/analysis and the test results guide you.

I’ll be thinking of you and watching for an update. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Thank you so much for your thoughts and well wishes and healing vines ❤️ we’re home and he’s stable and eating. I had to skip his shot this AM because he came wayyy back down and was at 88 for AMPS. I needed sleep and couldn’t monitor.

As usual, the vet was not very helpful. They would not do a spec fpl. They gave him bupe for the pain but would not send any home with me. They gave him an antibiotic in case it was a UTI but didn’t do a cysto because of how fractious he is. They only did a mini blood panel to rule out DKA and infection—all good there. Mild dehydration as expected.

I was really hoping to check on his possible (probable) CKD and/or hyperthyroid but they didn’t get SDMA or T4. They didn’t do an xray so no answers re: the breathing either. But he got a bupe injection that seemed to help and I got some more gaba, so, wins there.

My theory is that it was another bout of pancreatitis, but a much more painful one. Of course I can’t confirm that without a spec fpl. I suspect a change in the formula of his premix triggered it. They added L-Carnitine which I understand aids fatty acid metabolism. Since the change He’s been pooping pretty much every day (which is great but HIGHLY unusual for him), pestering for food all the time, more energy, and breathing a bit faster than normal. Does anyone here know anything about L-carnitine and if it could rev him up enough to cause GI upset? I really don’t want to have to change his food again, I’m running out of options.

Planning to get follow up bloodwork in the next week-ish at a different vet. I am back to the drawing board on finding an IM that will consult with me remotely or having to research/interpret the labs myself. This is exhausting.
 
I’m also wondering if keeping him on a preventative dose of Cerenia every other day and gaba every day might help prevent or dull pancreatitis episodes in the future. Hovering over him constantly waiting for symptoms to arise cannot be the only way to treat this
 
I’m also wondering if keeping him on a preventative dose of Cerenia every other day and gaba every day might help prevent or dull pancreatitis episodes in the future. Hovering over him constantly waiting for symptoms to arise cannot be the only way to treat this
Hi Jess, I’m so relieved to hear you are home and he sounds like he’s recovering ❤️‍🩹
I know Deb kept Tiger on a maintenance dose of Cerenia to help him with GI issues and pancreatitis. You could take a look at his spreadsheet to see what she was doing.
I’m sure there are others that do the same. Maybe @squeem3 as well.

I hope you get some more answers to your questions. Sending lots of healing vines to sweet Charlie ☘️🍃☘️🍃🍃I hope you can both get some rest 🫂❤️‍🩹💖
 
Hi Jess, I’m so relieved to hear you are home and he sounds like he’s recovering ❤️‍🩹
I know Deb kept Tiger on a maintenance dose of Cerenia to help him with GI issues and pancreatitis. You could take a look at his spreadsheet to see what she was doing.
I’m sure there are others that do the same. Maybe @squeem3 as well.

I hope you get some more answers to your questions. Sending lots of healing vines to sweet Charlie ☘️🍃☘️🍃🍃I hope you can both get some rest 🫂❤️‍🩹💖
Thanks so much Staci 🫂 I took a look at Tiger’s spreadsheet. It looks like Deb was giving maybe 1/2 a tablet in the AM and PM. I think. Interesting. Did Tiger cross the rainbow bridge? I noticed one of the last notes on his spreadsheet was that they found cancer back in August 🥺

If you think of anyone else let me know. I’m going to do some more homework tomorrow. I hope we can get some rest tonight too I am bone tired 🙏
 
Thanks so much Staci 🫂 I took a look at Tiger’s spreadsheet. It looks like Deb was giving maybe 1/2 a tablet in the AM and PM. I think. Interesting. Did Tiger cross the rainbow bridge? I noticed one of the last notes on his spreadsheet was that they found cancer back in August 🥺

If you think of anyone else let me know. I’m going to do some more homework tomorrow. I hope we can get some rest tonight too I am bone tired 🙏
Yes, he did pass 😭
I’m so sad about it. I had a very special relationship with Deb and Tiger 💖
I’m quite sure if you wanted any more information, Deb would be happy to share her experience with you (just send her a direct message).

If I think of anyone else, I’ll let you know. You could do a separate post and ask that question, too.
Are you on the Cats With Pancreatitis page on Facebook? That’s another good source for information (I’m there too).

I hope Charlie is feeling better today and you both got some rest 🫂💖
 
Back
Top