Charlie PMPS 84 I'm so confused

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
Got help from husband to do a pre-test (the hardest, he wants his grub, he wants it now) about 20 minutes before his normal time. 84!

He's down to.25 u. Do I try again in a bit to test? Skip the dose? He earns a reduction under the SLGS. Reduced to what? Do I just say insulin over him?
 
Charlie's spreadsheet doesn't say "done with insulin to me". He shouldn't be seeing anything but low blues or preferably all upper greens to go without insulin. After the 0.25 unit dose, there is one we call 0.1 units.
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg


Hopefully just a little more insulin support will do the trick. And you are right, with SLGS, you don't shoot if under 90.

Did you get an AMPS test this morning? The spreadsheet is blank.
 

Attachments

  • 49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
    49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
    8.8 KB · Views: 88
I didn't. Getting him at pre-shot time has been nearly impossible. Even when I get up at 5 to give him a snack so he won't be as starving. I rarely have an extra set of hands to help.

So, would you stall or skip and do the .1u in the morning? And bribe my husband to hold him again for a preshot?
 
That sounds doable. I will try to get hubs to help test in the morning too.

And apparently he just helped himself to someone else's kibble. I was so worried about him I managed to not close the door where the other cat's food is and he scarfed it up
 
Those pinks and yellows in the spreadsheet could be from kibble raids. Anyway of changing the other cat's diet?
 
I would like to in the long run. But I don't want to try right now because one of the other five has been on antibiotics for a bite wound for three weeks (Harold) and is barely eating his normal kibble and isn't really touching the wet food, not even the one we call 'The World's Best Food' TM (fancy feast savory centers). So, switching him right now would be hard. That's what Charlie got into tonight. A big bowl of kibble and savory centers and some chicken baby food for good measure.

One of the picky girls will happily eat Charlie's chicken and liver FF but the other one won't. The other two girls probably would be happy with FF, they like food, period.

Am in discussions with husband to switch those two (his cats he had before we got married) to FF.
 
He's currently laying on my chest purring and apparently has no regrets about eating the kibble buffet meant for his brother (we're pretty sure Charlie is the one who bit Harold, having all of a sudden gone from I'm dying to feeling like a million bucks)
 
Thank you for that link.
He was 214 this morning. He just had brey, lots of shrimpy treats and his .1 U dose. The pictures on the fine dosing page are helpful.

Will try to get him at 5hr, which seems to be his nadir although he's clearly big mad at me right now.
 
Back
Top