changing to lantus dose and questions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Hi, I received a lot of help from members about Lantus in the past few days. I got ideas for starting dose, how long to hold dose, feeding, etc. I read the article from Australia about guidelines for the phases and stickies members sent me.

I would love if one or two a more people would chime in their opinions so I can make a decision on a starting dose.

My vet says to skip one cycle of Pro Zinc before changing to Lantus to make sure it is out of the system. My cat is running on the high side. Is this necessary or Ok?

Also the starting dose, my cat was on 1.75 of Pro Zinc but it probably needed to be increased. nadirs ranged from mid 200's to 190. Preshots hight. I didn't do a curve though. A month ago 1.25-1.5 was working pretty well with nice nadirs.
My cat has been on Pro Zinc for 3 months.
Initially we started on 2 units and went up to 2.5 on Pro Zinc and then down to 1.25 and then had to go back up.


According to ideal weight chart, my cat should start at 1.25. Another member says that 1 unit would be the safest start since I can't do midcycle until evening cycle or weekend. My vet says 1.5 could be a good start but I will probably have to go up based on my cat's blood sugar.
could I have a few more thoughts on starting dose? I want to start but I still not 100% sure about starting dose? Should the dosage on Prozinc be taken into consideration?
 
Yes, the dose of Prozinc should be taken into consideration.

No, you do not need to skip a dose of Prozinc before you start your cat on the Lantus.

How about splitting the difference, and starting with 1.25U of Prozinc?
 
Which is LOWER - ideal weight or current weight?
Take the LOWER of the 2 weights.
Divide by 2.2 to conver to kilograns.
Multiply by 0.25.
Round down for safety.
That would be the estimated starting dose if no other insulin had been used.

I'd go 1/2 to 3/4 of the way between that and the current ProZinc dose if it is more than half a unit greater. It takes 5 days for the Lantus to build up on the 1st dose and then the nadir is used for further adjustments. If you start too high, you may overdose the cat.
 
I am currently giving 1.75 of pro Zinc. What would you suggest to start with? My cat is 11 pounds 13 ounces. I think ideal body weight might be a little less. The vet said she could be leaner?

1.25 units if 11 pounds is ideal body weight. I am not sure how to calculate exact ideal body weight.
 
I'd drop a pound off if the vet is saying she could be leaner; or call and ask what the ideal weight should be.
 
Based on everyone's response, I only feel comfortable starting with 1 or 1.25. Thank you for an opinion. I feel more confident when I hear it from you guys since I don't have as much experience.
My second vet is better but I am not sure if she is well versed in Lantus. Although, she has clients that have good results with it.
 
It's easier to start out at a lower dose, and increase as needed. We know how to do that. ;-) We've got a great protocol for dosing with the Lantus that we use. Once the insulin is in your cat Lovey, you can't take it back out. No problems here with being conservative and playing it safe.

Let's see how she does. Keeping our fingers crossed the Lantus works better for her than the Prozinc.
 
Thank you. Carl, Larry, yourself, Sienne, Dyana, BJM I wonder what BJM stands for. and Deb and others also recommended the lower dose or close to it. :cool: I think I have the opinion of all the members! Thank you very much. you know, I am usually don't have this much trouble making up my mind.
 
I pray for a good response to Lantus. That helps! Thanks again for all the input today. I am going to pick up the Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top