Hi, I received a lot of help from members about Lantus in the past few days. I got ideas for starting dose, how long to hold dose, feeding, etc. I read the article from Australia about guidelines for the phases and stickies members sent me.
I would love if one or two a more people would chime in their opinions so I can make a decision on a starting dose.
My vet says to skip one cycle of Pro Zinc before changing to Lantus to make sure it is out of the system. My cat is running on the high side. Is this necessary or Ok?
Also the starting dose, my cat was on 1.75 of Pro Zinc but it probably needed to be increased. nadirs ranged from mid 200's to 190. Preshots hight. I didn't do a curve though. A month ago 1.25-1.5 was working pretty well with nice nadirs.
My cat has been on Pro Zinc for 3 months.
Initially we started on 2 units and went up to 2.5 on Pro Zinc and then down to 1.25 and then had to go back up.
According to ideal weight chart, my cat should start at 1.25. Another member says that 1 unit would be the safest start since I can't do midcycle until evening cycle or weekend. My vet says 1.5 could be a good start but I will probably have to go up based on my cat's blood sugar.
could I have a few more thoughts on starting dose? I want to start but I still not 100% sure about starting dose? Should the dosage on Prozinc be taken into consideration?
I would love if one or two a more people would chime in their opinions so I can make a decision on a starting dose.
My vet says to skip one cycle of Pro Zinc before changing to Lantus to make sure it is out of the system. My cat is running on the high side. Is this necessary or Ok?
Also the starting dose, my cat was on 1.75 of Pro Zinc but it probably needed to be increased. nadirs ranged from mid 200's to 190. Preshots hight. I didn't do a curve though. A month ago 1.25-1.5 was working pretty well with nice nadirs.
My cat has been on Pro Zinc for 3 months.
Initially we started on 2 units and went up to 2.5 on Pro Zinc and then down to 1.25 and then had to go back up.
According to ideal weight chart, my cat should start at 1.25. Another member says that 1 unit would be the safest start since I can't do midcycle until evening cycle or weekend. My vet says 1.5 could be a good start but I will probably have to go up based on my cat's blood sugar.
could I have a few more thoughts on starting dose? I want to start but I still not 100% sure about starting dose? Should the dosage on Prozinc be taken into consideration?