Changing Meter from Alphatrak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Little Bit’s Mom

Member Since 2020
Which human meter is the best to switch to? I have one more vial of alphatrak test strips, but want to switch after those are used due to the extremely high price if I can get something comparable much less expensive. Suggestions on human meters?
 
Which human meter is the best to switch to? I have one more vial of alphatrak test strips, but want to switch after those are used due to the extremely high price if I can get something comparable much less expensive. Suggestions on human meters?
Hey Olivia , do you live in the US
Most all of us use the Relion Prime from Walmart, costs 9 bucks
17.88 for 100 test strips
At least you can just run in and buy them in store
The test strips automatically suck up the blood when it touches the blood
It will need a tad bit more blood but I have never had a problem getting enough blood.
I still use the 28 gauge lancets, I free hand, never used the device for poking.
I used to use the Alpha Trak but couldn't keep up with the expensive price of the
strips, told my vet that I switched to the human meter and she was fine with it
This forum is based on numbers using human meters anyway

I love the Relion meter
If you switch there is only two things that has to be changed on your spreadsheet

For human meter the dark green numbers up top would be 50-99
Then the neon green would be <50
 
Last edited:
Hey Olivia , do you live in the US
Most all of us use the Relion Prime from Walmart, costs 9 bucks
17.88 for 100 test strips
At least you can just run in and buy them in store
The test strips automatically suck up the blood when it touches the blood
It will need a tad bit more blood but I have never had a problem getting enough blood.
I still use the 28 gauge lancets, I free hand, never used the device for poking.
I used to use the Alpha Trak but couldn't keep up with the expensive price of the
strips, told my vet that I switched to the human meter and she was fine with it
This forum is based on numbers using human meters anyway

I love the Relion meter
If you switch there is only two things that has to be changed on your spreadsheet

For human meter the dark green numbers up top would be 50-99
Then the neon green would be <50
Is there a difference between Relion premier and prime? Is one better than the other?
 
Just tell your vet you can't afford the price of the test strips

I vet knows I belong to this group and she was very impressed.
I told her I follow a lot of their advice and that Tyler wouldn't be doing this great if it wasn't for them

He is totally on board with me
When I had an appointment with her when I switched to the human meter I actually
wrote this down and showed her

Human Meter normal range 50-120
Told her about the SS and the color coding
Blk. BG >500
Red. 400-499
Purple 300-399
Yellow 200-299
Blue 100-199
Dark Green 50-99
Light Green Neon < 50
Just to show her how we do it

One time I went to another vet, because my vet was away and this vet didn't even understand about human meters

I have been going to my vet for over 18 or 20 years and she's always willing to listen and trusts me with what I am doing
 
the "take action" (too low, give some high carb food) numbers. On an AT2, that was 68. On human meters, it's 50, so going forward, that's the number you should remember.

Other than that, it might be helpful to note that normal BG on a cat runs around 50-120 on a human meter. All of the dosing methods on this site assume that the caregiver is using a human meter.
 
the "take action" (too low, give some high carb food) numbers. On an AT2, that was 68. On human meters, it's 50, so going forward, that's the number you should remember.

Other than that, it might be helpful to note that normal BG on a cat runs around 50-120 on a human meter. All of the dosing methods on this site assume that the caregiver is using a human meter.
Ok, so 50 is the take action number when I begin using the human meter. Thank you for your help!
 
Which human meter is the best to switch to? I have one more vial of alphatrak test strips, but want to switch after those are used due to the extremely high price if I can get something comparable much less expensive. Suggestions on human meters?

I'd suggest saving some AlphaTrak 2 strips to keep on hand in case something goes wonky with your other meter or if you need to doublecheck a number. The AlphaTrak 2 does read higher than human meters (up to 750, most human meters stop at 550); so if the human meter reads "HI" and you need the exact number, you could have the AlphaTrak 2 strips on hand for that.
 

I told Olivia the following
the "take action" (too low, give some high carb food) numbers. On an AT2, that was 68. On human meters, it's 50, so going forward, that's the number you should remember.

Other than that, it might be helpful to note that normal BG on a cat runs around 50-120 on a human meter. All of the dosing methods on this site assume that the caregiver is using a human meter.


Olivia replied
Ok, so 50 is the take action number when I begin using the human meter. Thank you for your help

@Wendy&Neko

@Panic

@JanetNJ

@Deb & Wink

Hi ladies I just want to be sure I gave Olivia @Little Bit’s Mom
the correct information about when to take action on a human meter, she
will most likely be switching to a human meter because of the cost of the
cost of the Alpha Trak test strips
She just joined Feb 2020
Since she is a new member should her take action number be higher than 50 on a human meter
Thanks ladies
 
I'd suggest saving some AlphaTrak 2 strips to keep on hand in case something goes wonky with your other meter or if you need to doublecheck a number. The AlphaTrak 2 does read higher than human meters (up to 750, most human meters stop at 550); so if the human meter reads "HI" and you need the exact number, you could have the AlphaTrak 2 strips on hand for that.
That’s a great idea. Thank you!
 

I told Olivia the following
the "take action" (too low, give some high carb food) numbers. On an AT2, that was 68. On human meters, it's 50, so going forward, that's the number you should remember.

Other than that, it might be helpful to note that normal BG on a cat runs around 50-120 on a human meter. All of the dosing methods on this site assume that the caregiver is using a human meter.


Olivia replied
Ok, so 50 is the take action number when I begin using the human meter. Thank you for your help

@Wendy&Neko

@Panic

@JanetNJ

@Deb & Wink

Hi ladies I just want to be sure I gave Olivia @Little Bit’s Mom
the correct information about when to take action on a human meter, she
will most likely be switching to a human meter because of the cost of the
cost of the Alpha Trak test strips
She just joined Feb 2020
Since she is a new member should her take action number be higher than 50 on a human meter
Thanks ladies
Yep you got it. :)
 
You should always have a few can of these on hand in case you need to bring his BG up and get some honey also

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

A must to have these on hand, it's really only the Gravy that is full of the carbs if you ever need to bring up his BG up
 
You should always have a few can of these on hand in case you need to bring his BG up and get some honey also

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

A must to have these on hand, it's really only the Gravy that is full of the carbs if you ever need to bring up his BG up
Thank you! I have one can of the FF gravy lovers (will get more) & karo syrup.
 

I told Olivia the following
the "take action" (too low, give some high carb food) numbers. On an AT2, that was 68. On human meters, it's 50, so going forward, that's the number you should remember.

Other than that, it might be helpful to note that normal BG on a cat runs around 50-120 on a human meter. All of the dosing methods on this site assume that the caregiver is using a human meter.


Olivia replied
Ok, so 50 is the take action number when I begin using the human meter. Thank you for your help

@Wendy&Neko

@Panic

@JanetNJ

@Deb & Wink

Hi ladies I just want to be sure I gave Olivia @Little Bit’s Mom
the correct information about when to take action on a human meter, she
will most likely be switching to a human meter because of the cost of the
cost of the Alpha Trak test strips
She just joined Feb 2020
Since she is a new member should her take action number be higher than 50 on a human meter
Thanks ladies
You're correct Diane.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top