caturday update Asher/vet visit

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Hi Kids:
Hope everybody is doing good today.
Vet visit went great. The ride was not what the kitties liked best but they were pretty good with it. No probs on the way there.

New vet said all the right things, was very kind, the staff made a big fuss over the cats, all really good. Tom was impressed with all of them.

With dosing he is on the same page as us. Actually said at the last lecture he went to on FD many vets do not aim for non diabetic numbers (like the numbers a non diabetic cat would have), so pre shoots in the 200s and nadirs in 100s is good to him as long as the cat has no symptoms and acts normal. He was impressed with your google spread sheet too :)

Both cats do need dentals and I think we’re going to get them both done at once. Our appointment is first week of April. Seems like traveling together is better even
tho they don’t like the car. For a variety of reasons this just seemed like the thing to do.

Both cats had accidents in their crates on the way home, I think we were practically home when it happened. Pee wasn’t bad since the towels in the crates took care of that, but Alby saw fit
to do #1 and #2, then sit/step in it, so we had a ruckus cleaning him up when we got home. Most was forgotten when we had a shrimp treat for being brave boys. Momma had a glass of wine :)

The trip didn’t seem to mess up Asher’s numbers, he was 290 something last night and this morning 249, so I ain’t complainin :)

Yay. Thanks for your support and good vibes. Rush rush tryin to get stuff done today. I’ll stop back later..... cat_pet_icon
 
I have been waiting for an update. Well, they are good on the way to the vet. Maybe the trip home at least means you didn't have to do a clean up at the vets?

I am so glad you felt good about the vet and his office. And it sounds like he at least tries to keep up to date on FD. Hurrah!

Do you feel better about having the dentals done now?
 
Yes I feel much better about the dentals and everything. I won’t dread going to the vet now for anything.

Actually another reason we r gonna do both cats at once for dentals is Alby needs a rabies shot and he sometimes has reactions to shots. They are going to do his dental first so when he wakes up and is back to normal, they will give him his shot so they can keep an eye on him until Asher is done and ready to come home. That so he doesn’t have a reaction in the middle of the trip home. He has gone into shock the last time he got shots. I am doing no shots now except the required rabies shot.

Anywho, much needed relief on the vet front. So glad we made this move. Sorry I didn’t post last night. I was beat and Tom is out of town now for a few days.
 
Oh Donna, I'm so happy for you and the boyz! What a relief to have found a practice and vet that you can work with and trust. Congratulations!!

party_cat
 
Glad to hear that you found a good vet! From my experience, most vets do not aim for non-diabetic numbers because most of their clients do not home test. Without home testing, I believe it is dangerous to aim for those numbers because of the risk for a hypo. With testing, you can adjust the dose more frequently to keep kitty in a good range. My mantra is that I cannot expect my kitty to go OTJ and into non-diabetic numbers if he never sees non-diabetic numbers. Just food for thought! :-D
 
Thanks everyone.
@ Kelly, yes I think this vet is up to date with everything FD pretty much, but he told us flat out that we do way more (testing and otherwise) than any of his other diabetic clients. So I can see why he doesn’t want to see non diabetic numbers if people don’t test. Eeeek, scary. Just so happy we have a vet that wants to work with us.

We are going to keep on trying to get Asher a bit lower. It seems when we got to 2.2 units before, he nadirs late and then we have to hold off shooting in the evening. That screws things up schedule-wise. I don’t care if I have to retest and stay up late to shoot, but I need to shoot in the morning before we leave for a job if we have work out of town, so there lies the dilemma of a schedule pushed back. I have to try to up the dose when I know we’ll be working at home or at least Tom is here.

The 2.1/fat 2 has been working pretty good so maybe we’ll try the 2.2 soon.

Also thinking we may need to recalibrate dose after the dental. But time will tell on that. April 7 is the big day.

On that note, this vet says the night before the dental we feed and shoot as per usual, then withhold food after midnight, and in the morning no shot and no food. Once he is home after the dental, food and shot go back to normal. You guys agree with that? Just curious.
 
I would ask on Health about dentals, Donna. It sounds right. I think there are varying vet and poster ideas, but usually there is a pretty good consensus on what works.
 
Yup, that is the usual thing to do. You will have to keep a watch on the numbers the night after the dental since anesthesia can make the evening numbers go lower than they usually do.
 
The new vet sounds great, especially encouraging that they've made an effort to stay up on feline diabetes. So glad you found someone! Asher and Alby deserve the best. Still can't get over your other vet (crazy!).
 
Thanks for the good wishes guys. Just happy for another trip around the sun :)

We’ve been busy with work the last couple days and Tom was out of town for the weekend, so I feel behind in everything, including being here! So sorry I haven’t been around much :(

Asher is doing well and Alby is good now that Tom is home. He’s a daddy’s boy and was pretty stressed from the vet trip last Friday, it went on a couple days but he seemed to come around late Sunday and certainly
Monday when Tom got home.

I’ll try to catch up this week and get the spreadsheet caught up too. We have had higher numbers the last two days so I’m moving to the 2.2 units sooner than later. Prob tomorrow morning...

Good night and good numbers to everyone!
cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top