We seem to be stuck between old board and new while they are switching things over.
I get different views different times. Not all posts are together for this thread.
I am going to add ( or at least try to add) the missing posts here and will try to get the other view and add these there.
I think some aren't aware there are 2 board views currently. There are new posts on both views.
What is missing from this thread:
Re: Cat's Numbers Barely Moved Today--Any Idea Why?
by Cheryl and Winnie » Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:29 pm
Hi Carli,
Any more numbers today?
The easiest way for us to look at the numbers is to post them as "+" # hours after shot.
When you test before a shot in the morning that would be AMPS ( AM Pre Shot), evening/night shot would be PMPS ( PM Pre Shot) and then the "+" hours after shot.
Everyone is on different schedules and time zones, so this takes that out of the equation.
Let me convert your numbers for you :
6/15/13
AMPS ? 2u lantus
+4.5 281
PMPS 262/250 2u. lantus
+4 237
Does that make sense to you ? Many members make a spread sheet. I was here before the time of spreadsheets, but you can click on my signature, under Winnie's Profile and see examples of how to post numbers. If you look under a lot of newer members signatures you will see links to their spreadsheets. That may help you to take a look to see the format. IGNORE the actual numbers on those sheets.
Couple of comments :
1. At +4 Lantus is just kicking in. Sometimes numbers go up before they go down. I'm not going to overwhelm you with why now. All in good time : ) It is nice to know when the insulin is kicking in, so that number is good to have.
BUT for now the number you really want to look at is around +6 and +8 where Lantus "usually" has peak action.
ECID ( Every Cat Is Different ) You'll see "ECID" a lot around here .
2. You do not have enough data to tell what is going on yet. You'll get there. It's ok. There is absolutely NOT enough numbers to say that this curve is flat and that the insulin is not moving the numbers.
We need those nadir (+6/+8 ) numbers !!
3. You skipped a shot the other day, ( I remember your posting, not sure exactly when that was)
We all do it at some point, don't worry, but that can affect BG numbers
4. You just lowered your dose. It takes awhile for dose to settle.( To see the effect of the dose change)
5. Re: the difference in PMPS numbers -- meters will vary w/i a % amount. And different factors when getting drops of blood can vary a bit ( it is common to test and get different -- but within range -- numbers from different ears ! Point is Not enough difference between 262 and 250 to worry about. It's Ok . You can get to the specifics later if you want.
Some questions for you : Is he still yowling ? I am still thinking that he was going too low on 3u.
Please DO NOT increase your dose. In fact, it's still possible with those numbers that he may need less.
Lantus is dosed based on the Peak action ( aka "nadir" ) numbers NOT the preshot.
Still always important to test before each shot.
Better to ride a little high then go too low. Too high while we figure things out -- AS LONG AS there are no ketones. Is fine. Wendall has not had ketone issues before,if I remember correctly. So it's ok.
You can get urine test strips at the pharmacy to check for ketones. It's a good idea to have them, and check once in a while. If you need help on how. That will be a separate post.
Ask the pharmacist if you can't find them.
I am trying hard not to overwhelm you.
PLEASE let me know and I can break it down further if needed.
Did you get more numbers today ? Can you please post them ? if you need help putting them in the right form, let me know and I'll be happy to help. ( or someone will jump in ! )
If you want to start a spreadsheet and need help. Please ask !
Cheryl w/civies Quincy & Lucy , and forever in spirit, Winnie and Wolfie <3
My Furred Loves :
Winnie (5/1/90-8/13/09)
FD dx 12/05 Lantus and R insulins
Profile
Wolfie (6/9/91-6/21/10)
civie extraordinaire
Cheryl and Winnie
Posts: 1915
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 4:51 pm
Location: Western NY
Member since: 18 Dec 2005
_______________________
Re: Cat's Numbers Barely Moved Today--Any Idea Why?
by Cheryl and Winnie » Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:39 pm
I did some more thinking Carli, because of the numbers you told me, and the fact that you are away all day at work, if I were in your place, I would drop to 1u 2x day and stick with that dose for awhile. Lantus is not an something you adjust daily based on numbers. I feel it would be better to drop the dose and stick w/ it for awhile. ( Do some data gathering)
You were at 3u to start, and as discussed, he was probably going too low based on behavior.
You dropped to 2u.
The numbers you are getting and have yet to post,along with the fact that you are in the process of changing his diet, lead me to think that this would be the safest course of action.
I do want to say that it is your cat, so ultimately your responsibility and choice.
IF it were my cat, I would drop to 1unit. Next shot !
Please keep us posted.
ed: clarification
Last edited by Cheryl and Winnie on Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cheryl w/civies Quincy & Lucy , and forever in spirit, Winnie and Wolfie <3
My Furred Loves :
Winnie (5/1/90-8/13/09)
FD dx 12/05 Lantus and R insulins
Profile
Wolfie (6/9/91-6/21/10)
civie extraordinaire
Cheryl and Winnie
Posts: 1915
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 4:51 pm
Location: Western NY
Member since: 18 Dec 2005
___________________________________________
Re: Cat's Numbers Barely Moved Today--Any Idea Why?
by Tigger's Friend » Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:16 pm
If you haven't got information yet on how to set up a spreadsheet, Sue & Oliver sent me this link:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
It was a little tricky & took me awhile - you have to have a google account, or set one up if you don't. It is a google document, so you go to google documents once you're set up / logged in.
From there, the link is pretty self explanatory, especially if you're familiar with URLs (I'm not ) I'm still trying to get a photo of Tigger on the profile!!!
Having the spreadsheet really helps me, & if you look at mine, Tigger's got some flat readings, & today he's bouncing all over - usually his +9 is the highest - I have no clue why, tho.
Also, I just got 2 different numbers on my PMPS, too: 238 & 287, both taken with the same meter from the same ear prick. 1 before treat, 1 after, maybe that made a difference. But - for me, both those numbers were well below the 339 +9 number. Like the more experienced members say, ECID - every cat is different, but keep checking the whys - you're asking good questions!
Suzanne & Tigger
10 y/o
Prozinc 6/8/13
ReliOn Confirm
Tigger's SS
img src="http://https://plus.google.com/photos/103599838632831553979/albums/5890260318961160785"
Tigger's Friend
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 5:25 pm
Location: Nipomo, California, USA
Member since: 15 May 2013
Top