Cat throwing up.

Status
Not open for further replies.
PMPS at +3 - 13.7
Not bad! Maybe get a +5 and, based on that, you might be able to take a break from more testing tonight.

ETA: I was judging this relative to the daytime numbers. I agree that a little snack to slow the drop is a good idea. We call it "steering" with food.
 
Oh that's quite a drop :facepalm:. Can you give him a tablespoon of some wet food? low carb is fine for right now. We're going to try and slow his drop :)
 
lol! HEHE Thanks for the vote of confidence!:DToday has been a definate learning experience at mach 1....looking forward to what to:cat:morrow brings in a positive way!
As scary as these situations are, they teach us the most about how our kitty responds and it builds our own confidence that we're able to get through it.
 
Just stopping in to see how Casey is doing. Delores you certainly got the full initiation into home testing today :eek:

Looks like Casey is responding very well to this dose, but he sure is keeping you on your toes!! Good luck with tonight's cycle. :cat: :cat:
 
Hi everyone!
PMPS +5-13.8 Could it be slightly elevated from the 13.7 +3 PMPS since I had to poke his ears twice cos he escaped once and the last poke he verbally protested... tho I cant say that I blame the poor guy... he has been SO good thru all of this.

yes today was scary but as you said a Confidence builder for sure!
Hitting the proverbial hay..gnight everyone and ty again.:cat:
 
Monday AMPS- 18.1 / .75 IU
+1 / 12.5
I need to redo the spreadsheet as it is not staying in Google Drive so I can update it when I am awake.
 
Monday AMPS- 18.1 / .75 IU
+1 / 12.5
I need to redo the spreadsheet as it is not staying in Google Drive so I can update it when I am awake.
Hi Delores,
That's a big drop at only +1. I'd give him a tsp of his regular low carb wet food to see if it slows his descent. Test again at +2. Also - when you have a minute could you please add to your signature info that he's on Caninsulin. Anyone who wants to help needs to know that.
 
okay I know I ned to figure the SS again but my mind is like a raw nerve right now from lack of sleep among other things.

ok so far
pmps 18.1 /.75IU
+1/15.8...fed tbls wet
+2/16.5
 
okay I know I ned to figure the SS again but my mind is like a raw nerve right now from lack of sleep among other things.

ok so far
pmps 18.1 /.75IU
+1/15.8...fed tbls wet
+2/16.5
I'm confused, Delores. Up above you gave the +1 BG as 12.5. That's why I suggested you give a little snack. If it was actually 15.8 that a less concerning drop. The 16.5 at +2 means you can hold off on testing until maybe +5 or so.

Yes, this is all very tiring. Right now we're watching Casey like a hawk to get data on how he responds to Caninsulin and to figure out his dosing. It won't always be this intense.
 
I'm confused, Delores. Up above you gave the +1 BG as 12.5. That's why I suggested you give a little snack. If it was actually 15.8 that a less concerning drop. The 16.5 at +2 means you can hold off on testing until maybe +5 or so.

Yes, this is all very tiring. Right now we're watching Casey like a hawk to get data on how he responds to Caninsulin and to figure out his dosing. It won't always be this intense.

your right Kris...I was having a meltdown and misquoted myself
should have read
pmps 18.1 /.75IU
+1 12.5
+2/15.8...fed tbls wet
+3/16.5
ty for your help I think im over emotional from lack of sleep
 
These numbers could be elevated because of the phenomenon we call bouncing - an overreaction after going low. You reduced the dose a little too. I think that another couple of 0.75 u doses should tell the story more clearly - ie., whether it's a good dose or not. Please update you SS with today's data when you can. :)
 
Looks like some bouncing but we need more data. I'd keep 0.75 u tomorrow AM and PM. Try a test at + 3/+5/+7 tomorrow daytime to see what the dose looks like. We can evaluate again after those numbers are in.

No need to test a lot this evening - once before bed will be enough. Try to find some freeze dried meat treats for Casey - low carb and kitties love them. I buy Orijen brand for Teasel - original flavour and wild boar are his faves. Many people will poach or roast a plain chicken breast, cut it into small pieces and store in the freezer.
 
Looks like some bouncing but we need more data. I'd keep 0.75 u tomorrow AM and PM. Try a test at + 3/+5/+7 tomorrow daytime to see what the dose looks like. We can evaluate again after those numbers are in.

No need to test a lot this evening - once before bed will be enough. Try to find some freeze dried meat treats for Casey - low carb and kitties love them. I buy Orijen brand for Teasel - original flavour and wild boar are his faves. Many people will poach or roast a plain chicken breast, cut it into small pieces and store in the freezer.

Ok thanks Kris, I have some chicken breast I will roast for him!
 
AMPS-23.7
+2 - 21.7
Still high from bouncing Delores. I suspect, also, that the dose will have to go up carefully. Track BG today - no need for a ton of tests - just key times like +3/+5/+7. Same dose tonight and, numbers permitting, you can try 1 u tomorrow.
It won't likely be as dramatic as the other day in its effect. That was probably related to the aftermath of the very high dose he had received previously. He could have gone very low on 8 units without you knowing and it could have left him very insulin sensitive for a while after that. Then, even a much lower dose like 1 u will give a big response.

Keep testing, logging in your SS and posting for advice. We're here for you. :) Did he enjoy his roast chicken treats?
 
Looking good so far. He's down about 50% from AMPS which is ideal as a drop. If he's back up to near the same PS this evening as he was at AMPS you'll have an ideal Caninsulin curve even though it's in a higher than ideal BG range. It'll be a really good baseline to start from. I'm glad the roast chicken is a hit! :)
 
Looking good so far. He's down about 50% from AMPS which is ideal as a drop. If he's back up to near the same PS this evening as he was at AMPS you'll have an ideal Caninsulin curve even though it's in a higher than ideal BG range. It'll be a really good baseline to start from. I'm glad the roast chicken is a hit! :)

YAY !Only thing is he still wants to eat like 5 times a day...how do you handle that???
 
YAY !Only thing is he still wants to eat like 5 times a day...how do you handle that???
Is he under weight from the diabetes? If so you can feed him several small meals a day. Unregulated diabetics are literally starving because they can't get enough glucose from their food.

Have you taken the PMPS yet? It'll be 0.75 u again tonight. Aim for a +3 or so this evening.
 
Is he under weight from the diabetes? If so you can feed him several small meals a day. Unregulated diabetics are literally starving because they can't get enough glucose from their food.

Have you taken the PMPS yet? It'll be 0.75 u again tonight. Aim for a +3 or so this evening.
PMPS 18.2 -.75 U no he isnt underweight...he weighed 13 lbs when he was at the vets last week ( he had lost 3 lbs in around 2 weeks)and seems to be holding steady around this weight. I missed the +3 so I will do a +4
 
Last edited:
rechecked at +2 - 12.3
what constitutes a fast drop as opposed to a gradual drop? Thnks
That's a fast drop, Delores! Be prepared to steer with food as you did the other day. Two things could be happening: one is that the elevated bounce numbers are clearing up and two is the he's extremely sensitive to dose changes.

Give him a tsp or 2 of his low carb food now - no more than that because you might have to repeat it several times and you don't want to fill him up. Test again in 30 minutes to see where he is. You won't use higher carb interventions unless/until he's a lot lower.

SS housekeeping: you accidentally entered the BG first on the US SS in Canadian numbers so it shows as lime green. If you enter on the Canadian (world) SS first it'll automatically pop up on the US sheet already converted and properly colour coded. If you do the reverse it messes things up. Delete on the US sheet, do the conversion by hand (multiply the Canadian number by 18), enter it on the US sheet and go to the little paint can icon on the tool bar to properly colour code the SS cell.
 
That's a fast drop, Delores! Be prepared to steer with food as you did the other day. Two things could be happening: one is that the elevated bounce numbers are clearing up and two is the he's extremely sensitive to dose changes.

Give him a tsp or 2 of his low carb food now - no more than that because you might have to repeat it several times and you don't want to fill him up. Test again in 30 minutes to see where he is. You won't use higher carb interventions unless/until he's a lot lower.

SS housekeeping: you accidentally entered the BG first on the US SS in Canadian numbers so it shows as lime green. If you enter on the Canadian (world) SS first it'll automatically pop up on the US sheet already converted and properly colour coded. If you do the reverse it messes things up. Delete on the US sheet, do the conversion by hand (multiply the Canadian number by 18), enter it on the US sheet and go to the little paint can icon on the tool bar to properly colour code the SS cell.
That's a fast drop, Delores! Be prepared to steer with food as you did the other day. Two things could be happening: one is that the elevated bounce numbers are clearing up and two is the he's extremely sensitive to dose changes.

Give him a tsp or 2 of his low carb food now - no more than that because you might have to repeat it several times and you don't want to fill him up. Test again in 30 minutes to see where he is. You won't use higher carb interventions unless/until he's a lot lower.

SS housekeeping: you accidentally entered the BG first on the US SS in Canadian numbers so it shows as lime green. If you enter on the Canadian (world) SS first it'll automatically pop up on the US sheet already converted and properly colour coded. If you do the reverse it messes things up. Delete on the US sheet, do the conversion by hand (multiply the Canadian number by 18), enter it on the US sheet and go to the little paint can icon on the tool bar to properly colour code the SS cell.

Redid the SS (crosses fingers)
tested bg at +4-10.8
 
Generally speaking (nothing written specifically) if you get a drop that's like more than 50% in first couple hours, that's a BIG drop. So it's good to give a small snack to slow him down. Good thing is it seems after that big drop and some snackies, he settles down. The steep drop is not uncommon with Caninsulin. You're doing very well, Delores :). Just curious, what made you go back to 1.0U? Or is that a typo?
 
Generally speaking (nothing written specifically) if you get a drop that's like more than 50% in first couple hours, that's a BIG drop. So it's good to give a small snack to slow him down. Good thing is it seems after that big drop and some snackies, he settles down. The steep drop is not uncommon with Caninsulin. You're doing very well, Delores :). Just curious, what made you go back to 1.0U? Or is that a typo?
I suggested it after I saw the numbers on 0.75 u. I figured the overreaction on the first dose of 1 u was related to sensitivity caused by (likely) lows from the previous 8 u dose. In retrospect, it might have been better to keep 0.75 u for a couple more cycles. Today's data will be good info and it looks like 1 u is a success after that early drop.
 
When you have a minute, Delores, go to the far right section of your SS and put in a note about any snacks you gave to keep his BG up - what food you used, when and how much.
 
I suggested it after I saw the numbers on 0.75 u. I figured the overreaction on the first dose of 1 u was related to sensitivity caused by (likely) lows from the previous 8 u dose. In retrospect, it might have been better to keep 0.75 u for a couple more cycles. Today's data will be good info and it looks like 1 u is a success after that early drop.
Ah ok. Good point, Kris :)
 
ok I noted on SS I gave him tbsp chicken at +2 and +9 cos he is down to 8.1
is this fairly normal in the beginning to bounce around as you find the best dose?
I SO see the importance of home testing cos u sure cant tell by just looking most of the time
 
ok I noted on SS I gave him tbsp chicken at +2 and +9 cos he is down to 8.1
is this fairly normal in the beginning to bounce around as you find the best dose?
I SO see the importance of home testing cos u sure cant tell by just looking most of the time
That 8.1 is a nice number. With a human meter like you have the worry begins when they're around 3 and lower. Yes, there can be a lot of erratic BG levels at the beginning.

Was that Tbsp of chicken in the form of cat food? If so, note that it was low carb cat food in your note section. Sometimes we feed other things to get them up.

So far, today's curve looks very good.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top