Katharine Maurice
Member Since 2018
In February of this year, my cat Seamus was diagnosed with diabetes – BG 24.5. He was lethargic, ate ravenously, had huge pee’s and a very greasy looking coat. At this time his weight was 14.4 lbs. We did blood tests, urine test, his kidneys were ok, nothing unusual showed up except a bladder infection. The vet started him on Caninsulin once daily beginning with 2 units – and gave him an antibiotic for the bladder infection. I got a meter and began home testing his BG levels. Over the next 2 ½ months, we slowly increased his insulin dosage as his levels were not coming down – or not coming down enough. After a month we hit 6 units at which point he began responding, and his BG level started coming down. His level came down to a BG of 6.1 at which point we began reducing his injection amounts. He was much brighter and active, his food consumption was closer to normal, his pee’s were also closer to normal. His coat was looking much better, kept. Over the next weeks we reduced his insulin eventually to 4.5 units, which at his lowest time of day, he tested with a BG level of 2.4. The vet thought he might be going into remission and had me stop insulin injections for 3 days. At the end of the 3 days he tested with a BG level of 26. (This was 4 weeks ago) We began insulin again starting at 3 ½ units, reduced by half units at a time to now where he is getting 1 unit once daily and has a BG level of 6 at his lowest time of day. During this last month, however, he has lost his appetite. I really struggle to get him to eat, he does not really eat dry, he doesn’t seem to like it. He will eat a few bites, then walk away, go back in a bit, then walk away. I fear in the day when I’m at work, he just sleeps and doesn’t eat at all. He’s eating Weruva, Wellness, BFF, Core, Ultra, Fancy feast, friskies…all soft food, I’m trying everything to keep him eating anything. He looks like he wants to eat, goes over and sniffs it, then walks away. He doesn’t seem to want to play any more , he doesn’t purr a whole lot anymore. He sleeps and seems weak, his coat is looking a little greasy again (not as bad as it did once) . He now weighs 12 lbs. He also seems to hunch down on all 4’s a lot now, like he’s uncomfortable. I took him to the vet last week, she said his bladder is small, doesn’t feel full, he doesn’t feel like he’s constipated. She gave him a 10 day antibiotic in case he has a bladder infection. He doesn’t care if you feel around his belly, it doesn’t bother him. I don’t know what could be going on. I’m taking him next week to run blood tests again. Does anyone have any ideas of what possibly is happening to him??