Cat Not eating Much, Crouching like He's in pain

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katharine Maurice

Member Since 2018
In February of this year, my cat Seamus was diagnosed with diabetes – BG 24.5. He was lethargic, ate ravenously, had huge pee’s and a very greasy looking coat. At this time his weight was 14.4 lbs. We did blood tests, urine test, his kidneys were ok, nothing unusual showed up except a bladder infection. The vet started him on Caninsulin once daily beginning with 2 units – and gave him an antibiotic for the bladder infection. I got a meter and began home testing his BG levels. Over the next 2 ½ months, we slowly increased his insulin dosage as his levels were not coming down – or not coming down enough. After a month we hit 6 units at which point he began responding, and his BG level started coming down. His level came down to a BG of 6.1 at which point we began reducing his injection amounts. He was much brighter and active, his food consumption was closer to normal, his pee’s were also closer to normal. His coat was looking much better, kept. Over the next weeks we reduced his insulin eventually to 4.5 units, which at his lowest time of day, he tested with a BG level of 2.4. The vet thought he might be going into remission and had me stop insulin injections for 3 days. At the end of the 3 days he tested with a BG level of 26. (This was 4 weeks ago) We began insulin again starting at 3 ½ units, reduced by half units at a time to now where he is getting 1 unit once daily and has a BG level of 6 at his lowest time of day. During this last month, however, he has lost his appetite. I really struggle to get him to eat, he does not really eat dry, he doesn’t seem to like it. He will eat a few bites, then walk away, go back in a bit, then walk away. I fear in the day when I’m at work, he just sleeps and doesn’t eat at all. He’s eating Weruva, Wellness, BFF, Core, Ultra, Fancy feast, friskies…all soft food, I’m trying everything to keep him eating anything. He looks like he wants to eat, goes over and sniffs it, then walks away. He doesn’t seem to want to play any more , he doesn’t purr a whole lot anymore. He sleeps and seems weak, his coat is looking a little greasy again (not as bad as it did once) . He now weighs 12 lbs. He also seems to hunch down on all 4’s a lot now, like he’s uncomfortable. I took him to the vet last week, she said his bladder is small, doesn’t feel full, he doesn’t feel like he’s constipated. She gave him a 10 day antibiotic in case he has a bladder infection. He doesn’t care if you feel around his belly, it doesn’t bother him. I don’t know what could be going on. I’m taking him next week to run blood tests again. Does anyone have any ideas of what possibly is happening to him??
 
Sounds like he could be nauseated. Test for pancreatitis as Jane suggested. The nausea goes hand in hand with it. Poor fella, hope he feels better soon and you get some answers from your vet. Head bumps and scritches
 
Thank you all for responding!! I'm at my wits end watching him. I will for sure have him tested for pancreatitis. I can't get in to see my vet until Tuesday of next week as they are booked up...should I go to an Emergency vet instead? I can go tomorrow. Also, I started giving him a drop or 2 of CBD 2x a day the day before yesterday. Last night, about an hour after his drop, he came around and ate a bit, walked away, came back and ate a bit more. He did this about 5 times. I think he actually ate a meal - not a tonne of food, but supper.
 
I agree with testing for pancreatitis. Whether you take him to the emergency vet or not.. I think that depends on him. If he's eating and generally looks fine, you can probably wait, but if he's not eating and looks miserable and dehydrated, I would say, yes, take him in asap. Not eating can quickly escalate into more serious things.

I just started Spot on CBD oil and his response has been amazing. His appetite is better than it has been in months and he seems generally more relaxed... and no vomiting/nausea at all since he started on it. He's on the upside of a flare, though, so I'm not sure how well it would have worked had he been in the worst of it. It sounds like it may be helping a bit, but you probably want to get him on some Cerenia & bupe as well to get him through the worst if he's having a flare.
 
Yes, he does still sit in the meatloaf position, head up....unless he falls asleep, then face down on the couch cushion. The picture that is my avatar is him last night after the CBD oil and after eating some. (First time in a while he has hung around like this!!) I think the CBD may be helping to relieve his pain a bit. If it is Pancreatitis (and I suspect you all are right) what should we expect for treatment? I read that they don't cut out food anymore, is there anything I shouldn't allow. Are steroids ok?
 
Tyler is currently in hospital for a pancreatitis flare. He will be getting fluids and pain relief.
He will still be offered food as he needs that for his diabetes. His insulin and other meds will still be given.
Once he is considered stable he will come home with pain relief meds.
From there it will probably be a two course of steroids as this is his 2nd bad bout.

Next week will not do. If he has pancreatitis it needs to be seen to now. He could go rapidly downhill in less than 24 hrs

@Katharine Maurice
 
Yes, he does still sit in the meatloaf position, head up....unless he falls asleep, then face down on the couch cushion. The picture that is my avatar is him last night after the CBD oil and after eating some. (First time in a while he has hung around like this!!) I think the CBD may be helping to relieve his pain a bit. If it is Pancreatitis (and I suspect you all are right) what should we expect for treatment? I read that they don't cut out food anymore, is there anything I shouldn't allow. Are steroids ok?
Pancratitis is treated with a painkiller such as bupe, cerenia for nausea, and sub q fluids.
 
If he continues to not eat, and you don't see him acting himself, if it were my cat I would get him in sooner than later. Basically with pancreantitis it's a matter of pain control, fluid control and nausea and puke control during a flare. Some, like my own baby girl has it chronically and every day gets all that mentioned above. It's a nasty bit to have on top of diabetes. I would say most of the time they go hand in hand, but ECID. The steroids can be used you just have to be aware his insulin needs might change. But whatever helps them. You just dose around the higher numbers if needed.
 
Hi all. So we spent the day yesterday at the emergency veterinary hospital. This vet felt a lump up high in his abdomen so we did xrays as well as blood work and testing for pancreatitis. The test came out negative for the pancreatitis, blood work was all normal, the xrays showed that he has a tumor in the area of his pancreas. The vet cannot tell for sure if the tumor is on his kidney or pancreas. He gave us 5 days of Bup and 5 days of Cerenia. I will go to see my regular vet on Tuesday, but i don't think it looks good. The visit yesterday cost $1200, and he told me that an ultrasound would be another $800 and wouldn't even tell me how much for a biopsy. I can't afford it anyway :-( . Seamus is very good today since he is not in pain, he's up, and eating, looking out the windows and coming for pets. Thank you all for your advice and support.
 

Attachments

  • Maurice%2c Kathy^__Seamus_Animal 4-18lb - ABDOMEN-RL_141313.jpg
    Maurice%2c Kathy^__Seamus_Animal 4-18lb - ABDOMEN-RL_141313.jpg
    32.3 KB · Views: 93
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top