Canadain Feline needs urgent help.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Anyway, should I always feed and take away or let him free eat during day?

How does Gooey like to eat?

Some give a +3 and +6 snack using a feeder.

Some only feed everything in the morning (as they have really good eaters) and don't feed the rest of the day.

Jones free feeds as that is the best way to get him to eat.
 
How does Gooey like to eat?

Some give a +3 and +6 snack using a feeder.

Some only feed everything in the morning (as they have really good eaters) and don't feed the rest of the day.

Jones free feeds as that is the best way to get him to eat.

Yeah Gooey would rather eat some now, some in a bit most times. If possible I will allow free eating, if of course it is able to be done and control glucose as well.
 
It's a pain to skip doses, but Kris is right - you were correct to skip the dose. Some cats have variation. With Leo, he gets 4.5 in the AM and 2.0-2.5 in the PM. His BG goes down a lot at night. It's not common, but some cats have the same pattern.

This really highlights the importance of testing before dosing. It is amazing that some people continue to dose without testing. They are just inviting a hypoglycemia event.

Anyhow, nice 12 hour curve. It really shows what is going on with the AM dose from yesterday.
 
f possible I will allow free eating, if of course it is able to be done and control glucose as well.

I make it work. Just pick it up 2 hours before your PS if you can. Jones has more issues with the steriod he is on then with free feeding.

For me it was important to get him to eat...so putting a bowl down and expecting him to eat a half a can of food then picking it up was just not going to happen. Even a quarter can of food was not going to happen. Through observation I was able to determine for the most part he eats most of his food up to +6, then maybe a bite at +9 and then he is usually done and wants fresh food again.
 
+2hrs from pmps he was 18.4
So he came down a little. You need some data for a couple of days at 1.5 u. A couple of SS items:
  • you accidentally put the month as 04 instead of 03
  • your data for yesterday should be in the third row down, not the second
  • try to get your test numbers on your SS as soon as you can because if you need advice quickly we need to see an updated SS
These are niggly little things but they help us to help you. :)
 
So he came down a little. You need some data for a couple of days at 1.5 u. A couple of SS items:
  • you accidentally put the month as 04 instead of 03
  • your data for yesterday should be in the third row down, not the second
  • try to get your test numbers on your SS as soon as you can because if you need advice quickly we need to see an updated SS
These are niggly little things but they help us to help you. :)

I will sort this this eve for sure.
 
Can someone review my SS now and make sure its right. I see people have better ones, not sure how to edit them to show the month in big across SS lol
 
Can someone review my SS now and make sure its right. I see people have better ones, not sure how to edit them to show the month in big across SS lol
Looks fine except the dates column on the US version (purple columns) starts on the wrong day - Mar. 3 instead of Mar. 4. The dates on the world version are fine.

The horizontal bar I've added with the month in it is just something I did to modify my own SS. I played around with the insert option on the tool bar as well as merged cells, coloured the background, etc.
 
Last edited:
Looks fine except the dates column on the US version (purple columns) startes on the wrong day - Mar. 3 instead of Mar. 4. The dates on the world version are fine.

The horizontal bar I've added with the month in it is just something I did to modify my own SS. I played around with the insert option on the tool bar as well as merged cells, coloured the background, etc.

Ahhh ok I'll check the other ones like the us one and make it right

PMPS in an hour we see where Gooey is at
 
The 10 mL vial contains 1000 units of Lantus. If you've been giving 3 u a day that's 333 days of doses or almost a year. Problem is, by 6 months that Lantus is probably not potent enough any longer. I'm sure Costco pharmacy carries the 5 pack of cartridges - much better way to go. That begs the question: how old is your current Lantus vial?
Many people use Lantus vial longer than six months and have said so on this forum. So long as it's not cloudy and has no floaties it's fine.

@Justin best place for strips is on eBay. I'm in Canada and find it far less expensive that way. Yeah and Lantus cheaper from any pharmacy. No prescription needed here.
 
Many people use Lantus vial longer than six months and have said so on this forum. So long as it's not cloudy and has no floaties it's fine.

@Justin best place for strips is on eBay. I'm in Canada and find it far less expensive that way. Yeah and Lantus cheaper from any pharmacy. No prescription needed here.

I get them at Costco. I can check eBay and compare. Thanks
 
I suggest you stay at 1.5 u and try to get some numbers between + 3 and + 7 or +8. We need those to see his response to this dose.

Also - time to start a new thread because this one is very long. If you want something easy you can use "Gooey on Lantus 1" or similar and then just reuse that title and change the number when you start a new thread.

If you want detailed, specific help with Lantus dosing when you're well into this new routine I suggest you post on the Lantus forum. They have specific dosing guidelines to follow and a lot of very experienced people to help. Why not go have a look at that forum to see the wealth of info in those yellow stickies on the forum main page. You can always post here of course but that forum is where you'll get a lot of very specific advice for all kinds of dosing situations - when to raise a dose, how long to hold the dose, what to do if a lower than normal number pops up, etc.
 
Lovely AMPS today but too low for you to give insulin yet - you'll get there. I suggest you try 1.25 u tonight. The goal is to find a dose high enough to bring down BG into low blue or high dark green but low enough that you don't end up skipping shots. :)
 
24 at pmps yikes. Sticking with 1.5 for now because I simply don't know how to proceed he doesn't eat at night and morning is normally low

Other I can take advice of 1.25 and see where he at overnight and am. 1.5 should be fine as he is very high at moment
 
24 at pmps yikes. Sticking with 1.5 for now because I simply don't know how to proceed he doesn't eat at night and morning is normally low

Other I can take advice of 1.25 and see where he at overnight and am. 1.5 should be fine as he is very high at moment
The red last night is from not getting insulin in the AM. Lantus works best when the same dose is given AM and PM. If BG is too low at one of those times, it's best to lower the dose a little so you don't have to skip an AM or PM shot. That's why I suggested going to 1.25 u.
 
The red last night is from not getting insulin in the AM. Lantus works best when the same dose is given AM and PM. If BG is too low at one of those times, it's best to lower the dose a little so you don't have to skip an AM or PM shot. That's why I suggested going to 1.25 u.

Gotcha, you are right I'll get there
 
Thank you everyone for the help here, I know I should of opened a new thread however things have changed for our lovely feline. He developed a bad skin problem and he will not survive. We are putting him down in am. Thank you all for the help I am so grateful that you are here to help. Gooey has issues unrelated to diabetes now. Gonna miss him

Extra thanks to @Kris & Teasel who went beyond way and above for us. Thank you for your kindness and guidance, although his diabetes is much better unfortunately he is not. Lots of love to you and everyone else here
 
Last edited:
I'm sorry to hear of your loss Justin. Many of us here on the forum know the pain of losing a sweet kitteh.

May sweet Gooey fly freely and land softly at the Bridge, waiting for you there.cat_wings>o
.
 
Thank you everyone for the help here, I know I should of opened a new thread however things have changed for our lovely feline. He developed a bad skin problem and he will not survive. We are putting him down in am. Thank you all for the help I am so grateful that you are here to help. Gooey has issues unrelated to diabetes now. Gonna miss him

Extra thanks to @Kris & Teasel who went beyond way and above for us. Thank you for your kindness and guidance, although his diabetes is much better unfortunately he is not. Lots of love to you and everyone else here
I'm very glad I was able to help but I'm so sorry you have to let Gooey go. :(:rb_icon:cat_wings>o
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top