Canadain Feline needs urgent help.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Justin . Just wanted to let you know you are in the BEST of hands here on FDMB . Kris was my primary help with Elmo and I am convinced he would not be alive if not for her wisdom and advice . She is Elmo’s Fairy God Mother for sure :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Btw, you are doing awesome ... keep at it one step at a time . :):bighug::):bighug::)
 
Hi Justin . Just wanted to let you know you are in the BEST of hands here on FDMB . Kris was my primary help with Elmo and I am convinced he would not be alive if not for her wisdom and advice . She is Elmo’s Fairy God Mother for sure :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Btw, you are doing awesome ... keep at it one step at a time . :):bighug::):bighug::)
Gee thanks, Beth! :D
 
Welcome to the group, I’m new as well and these people are amazing and will help you in any way they can, I trust these fine folks and they know their stuff and if they don’t the will lead you to someone who does know, amazing group of people, so welcome:bighug:
 
Hi Justin . Just wanted to let you know you are in the BEST of hands here on FDMB . Kris was my primary help with Elmo and I am convinced he would not be alive if not for her wisdom and advice . She is Elmo’s Fairy God Mother for sure :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Btw, you are doing awesome ... keep at it one step at a time . :):bighug::):bighug::)
As well as Bellas
 
The last test before your preshot test will be at +10 (SS speak). Take all food away then. At +12 do your pre shot test, feed him his supper and give him 2 units again. He doesn't have to eat all his dinner - even a tablespoon or so is enough if he's a slow eater. Lantus is slow in onset so he doesn't need a lot of food on board. He can finish the rest of his dinner after his PM shot.

Try to get a before bed test this evening just to see how he's doing. You can leave a bit of food out overnight or not. I don't feed my guy at night either. If you leave any out you have to know that he'll have eaten all of it by the 2 hours before his AM pre shot test. In the AM it's the usual routine:
  • pre shot test (no food 2 hours before)
  • breakfast (at least some of it)
  • insulin injection.
Is he usually a good eater? That will help you enormously. As far as insulin dose in the days ahead, I'll suggest staying at 2 u for a few days while you get the new testing routine up and running. We need more data to see how he does on this dose before changing it. No need for a curve again tomorrow, just follow the basic testing routine I gave you earlier today.

He is normally a good eater, today has been trying, inticing him etc but he is eating so thats a plus
 
Hi Justin . Just wanted to let you know you are in the BEST of hands here on FDMB . Kris was my primary help with Elmo and I am convinced he would not be alive if not for her wisdom and advice . She is Elmo’s Fairy God Mother for sure :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Btw, you are doing awesome ... keep at it one step at a time . :):bighug::):bighug::)
And my Smokey. I couldn’t have done it without her!
 
I take it yellow is good yes?
It's good relative to where his BG began this morning. It shows us he's responding to the Lantus nicely. His BG range has to come down a little but you don't want to rush that while you're getting onto a new system of testing and dosing. Tonight will be the first time he gets a second dose in 24 hours, right?
 
It's good relative to where his BG began this morning. It shows us he's responding to the Lantus nicely. His BG range has to come down a little but you don't want to rush that while you're getting onto a new system of testing and dosing. Tonight will be the first time he gets a second dose in 24 hours, right?

Right, this is his first time getting 2 in 24hrs. Can't say he's never before but we were generally doing 1 dose in 24hrs for a long time. We never switched to 2 doses properly till now he's ready for another test now I'll put the number here in few mins
 
Yellow is good. Blue is better. You are targeting 80-150 or so for the nadir.

I'm very careful. And Leo doesn't nadir very well. So I just try to get him in the 150 range for his midpoint. Also some cats like Leo are different. Leo usually has his lowest reading at the 9 or 10 hour mark. But that's why you are doing the 12 hour test, so we can see what is going on.

I forecast a dosage increase in your future. Also...nice picture of your kitteh.
.
 
Yellow is good. Blue is better. You are targeting 80-150 or so for the nadir.

I'm very careful. And Leo doesn't nadir very well. So I just try to get him in the 150 range for his midpoint. Also some cats like Leo are different. Leo usually has his lowest reading at the 9 or 10 hour mark. But that's why you are doing the 12 hour test, so we can see what is going on.

I forecast a dosage increase in your future. Also...nice picture of your kitteh.
.

I'm suspecting 3 a dose every 12hrs but I won't rush there, we see how he does
 
Sorry, Justin, for our hijacking your thread but it’s just how we feel about Kris and how we know what an awesome help she will continue to be for you ... you can trust her to help as tho Gooey was her own . Testimonial finished, Kris;):bighug::cat:

Naw its all good, in fact comforting to know Kris has good rep around here, I feel I am in good hands :)
 
It's looking like Gooey might also be in the - late nadir club. Or it could just be a variation today. Like I said with Leo, he rarely has his low BG at +6hrs, and is usually much later. The good thing is that we are see a nice BG drop in response to the insulin.
 
It's looking like Gooey might also be in the - late nadir club. Or it could just be a variation today. Like I said with Leo, he rarely has his low BG at +6hrs, and is usually much later. The good thing is that we are see a nice BG drop in response to the insulin.

13.4 at +12hrs pmps time to dose, we still think 2 units is good?
 
Hi @Justin! I just noticed your last comment saying he was at 6 for AMPS and that was almost an hour ago. Did you give the insulin?
 
No because I don't want him to go too low, need to know what to do now :(. I'm scared

Did Gooey eat between the 6 and 7.3 readings? Just curious if the rise is from food.

6 isn't too low to give insulin. It can be scary at first that's for sure but if you're home to monitor him it's ok. Do you have high carb food on hand & corn syrup in case it's needed if he goes low? For high carb food I keep Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers on hand as well as Wellness Signature Selects (they are higher carb than the FF Gravy Lovers).

It sounds like you were only giving insulin once per day which was bad advice as others have said. Lantus needs to be given every 12 hours. That could explain why Gooey was not feeling well & not eating well (maybe).
 
Did Gooey eat between the 6 and 7.3 readings? Just curious if the rise is from food.

6 isn't too low to give insulin. It can be scary at first that's for sure but if you're home to monitor him it's ok. Do you have high carb food on hand & corn syrup in case it's needed if he goes low? For high carb food I keep Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers on hand as well as Wellness Signature Selects (they are higher carb than the FF Gravy Lovers).

It sounds like you were only giving insulin once per day which was bad advice as others have said. Lantus needs to be given every 12 hours. That could explain why Gooey was not feeling well & not eating well (maybe).
Yes he has eaten, although very little
 
Ok. Did you decide if you're following the Start Low Go Slow method or Tight Regulation protocol?

If Start Low Go Slow the don't shoot number is a bit higher than Tight Regulation (for beginners until you get more comfortable).
 
@Justin Since you're new and the SLGS method says not to shoot if the number is below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L) than it's ok that you didn't give the shot. You can get back on schedule tonight at shot time (assuming his PMPS reading warrants it). In the meantime you can decide which method you want to follow, SLGS or TR.
 
@Justin Since you're new and the SLGS method says not to shoot if the number is below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L) than it's ok that you didn't give the shot. You can get back on schedule tonight at shot time (assuming his PMPS reading warrants it). In the meantime you can decide which method you want to follow, SLGS or TR.
Yes very new lol

I'll not give him shot and check him later
 
Yes very new lol
I'll not give him shot and check him later

Sounds good :) If you haven't already, maybe you can go out today & get your Hypo Toolkit stocked up with the high carb foods & corn syrup. The corn syrup I bought is Crown Lily White Corn Syrup. I did try honey & maple syrup as well but Merry gets a bigger spike from Corn Syrup so that's what I use now.

I'm in Ontario too, near Belleville.
 
Sounds good :) If you haven't already, maybe you can go out today & get your Hypo Toolkit stocked up with the high carb foods & corn syrup. The corn syrup I bought is Crown Lily White Corn Syrup. I did try honey & maple syrup as well but Merry gets a bigger spike from Corn Syrup so that's what I use now.

I'm in Ontario too, near Belleville.
Good idea, thank you. Hamilton,ON here
 
Hello and lurking from the Kawarthas. You've done a most excellent job this weekend (and have had excellent help). It does get easier as you become more familiar.
 
Hello and lurking from the Kawarthas. You've done a most excellent job this weekend (and have had excellent help). It does get easier as you become more familiar.
Yeah a little confusing at this point, he seems to be very late coming out of insulin after 12hrs. Not sure where to go from here but we get there!
 
Hello, lurking from Alberta.

You did great yesterday and so did Gooey! That 6 is quite a surprise! That is a great number!

If he has been going from low numbers to high numbers, I wonder if he is feeling a little nauseated. This should calm down once his numbers are normalized a bit.
 
Now he is 17.1 perhaps I need to insulin him. Any advice? He is due for shot in 4hrs
 
You have to remember your next shot will need to be 12 hours from when you give insulin. If you can’t give it on a every 12 hour schedule from now but 4 hours from now is the time you can always give it, I would wait. Best to stick to schedule.
 
You have to remember your next shot will need to be 12 hours from when you give insulin. If you can’t give it on a every 12 hour schedule from now but 4 hours from now is the time you can always give it, I would wait. Best to stick to schedule.

Normally yes but he didn't get insulin when he was supposed to because he was way too low to give any. This confuses me. Do I give now and adjust schedule? Or do I wait to when 12hrs passes from when he was supposed to get it?
 
Normally yes but he didn't get insulin when he was supposed to because he was way too low to give any. This confuses me. Do I give now and adjust schedule? Or do I wait to when 12hrs passes from when he was supposed to get it?
Unless changing the schedule isn't an issue, I would just wait until his normal shot time.
 
Now he is 17.1 perhaps I need to insulin him. Any advice? He is due for shot in 4hrs
I've been out today and missed all the excitement. Here's my take on it and some suggestions:
  • he's been getting 3 u once a day and you had no data to show you what it did to his BG
  • yesterday he had a total of 4 u in 24 hours and you tested his BG at the end of this 24 hour period and he was down to 106 - a beautiful number by the way
  • getting at least one before bed test last night might have given a clue as to what was coming (20/20 hindsight!)
  • it's possible to dose Lantus on a pre shot number of 106 but it's early days for you so you might want to work your way to that over time
  • try 1.5 u tonight at the regular dose time (12 hours after the time he would have received the morning dose if you'd given it
  • get at least one test before bed tonight.
Scary for you but he was in no danger. You're in the phase now of testing and logging data to learn his responses.
 
There’s no need to rush and change your routine. I would stick to schedule, unless this change would be more convenient for you in the long term, it’s not necessary. Take food away at least 2 hours from when you will shoot, test-feed-shoot as normal.
 
Yes, remove all food at least two hours before this evening's pre shot test. Also, the very long duration you had with the AM dose yesterday can be a sign that the 2 u dose was a little too high. If that dose was still working into the second cycle it would have added its residual effect to the evening 2 u dose and that could be why the pre shot BG was so low this AM.
 
I've been out today and missed all the excitement. Here's my take on it and some suggestions:
  • he's been getting 3 u once a day and you had no data to show you what it did to his BG
  • yesterday he had a total of 4 u in 24 hours and you tested his BG at the end of this 24 hour period and he was down to 106 - a beautiful number by the way
  • getting at least one before bed test last night might have given a clue as to what was coming (20/20 hindsight!)
  • it's possible to dose Lantus on a pre shot number of 106 but it's early days for you so you might want to work your way to that over time
  • try 1.5 u tonight at the regular dose time (12 hours after the time he would have received the morning dose if you'd given it
  • get at least one test before bed tonight.
Scary for you but he was in no danger. You're in the phase now of testing and logging data to learn his responses.

Sorry I was freaking out :( I was at work as well and my wife didnt know what to do, not giving him a shot was the best option I could come up with. I was shocked he was so low at amps time this AM. Low meaning good for sure but didn't think he would be there at that time. Could it be because he doesn't eat overnight and perhaps requires more during daytime?

Anyway, should I always feed and take away or let him free eat during day?

And yes I should have tested him again before bed. They say 12 hours yet he seems to hang onto it longer lol, or maybe its just him right now. not sure. I will update you all with PMPS and go from there. I agree 1.5 might be good for the night.
 
Yes, remove all food at least two hours before this evening's pre shot test. Also, the very long duration you had with the AM dose yesterday can be a sign that the 2 u dose was a little too high. If that dose was still working into the second cycle it would have added its residual effect to the evening 2 u dose and that could be why the pre shot BG was so low this AM.

Hey, this makes perfect sense to me
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top