Cali's dosing

Looking at his numbers from yesterday and today, I would not be surprised of he clears the bounce today. Let’s see if he starts trending downward all day toward PMPS.
 
Yes, I have the other meter and occasionally use it to verify the Libre 3 is giving accurate readings. I'll update me signature.
I'll keep a close eye on his progress today, thanks so much.
 
Please update his spreadsheet if you can. I wanted to check in on his progress for today and there was nothing on the spreadsheet for 11 August yet. Wait… Now I see the problem. It actually is 11 August, but on the spreadsheet it says August 10 for today and also for yesterday — so today’s date just needs to be changed to August 11.

I am rooting for him.😻
 
I brought Cali to a vet yesterday afternoon that specializes in endocrinology. Unfortunately, she does not prescribe insulin anymore, as she prefers to use Sevelgo.
Cali's weight was only 9.2 lbs at the vet, so he's getting more meals spaced through out the day. This is probably driving up his BC levels. I'll go back to his normal feeding routine as soon as possible.

We are also waiting on blood test results from yesterdays vet visit.
Cali appears to be dehydrated from excessive urination, which is causing constipation. I've asked the vet for advice.
 
Last edited:
I just took Cali's BC using my Care Sens N Feliz and the value is 50 lower than the Libre 3 shows.
Assuming all the Libre 3 BC values over the past day and a half are 50 higher than actual, that means his nadar is about 170 to 200, not 230 to 250. That's a big improvement!
I'll do another BG check using the Care Sens meter later today.

NOTE: I know the Care Sens meter is accurate because it matches the values reported by my other BG meter (Keto-Mojo GK+). I've tested both meters on the same drop of blood and they report values with 1% of each other.
 
Last edited:
I brought Cali to a vet yesterday afternoon that specializes in endocrinology. Unfortunately, she does not prescribe insulin anymore, as she prefers to use Sevelgo.
Cali's weight was only 9.2 lbs at the vet, so he's getting more meals spaced through out the day. This is probably driving up his BC levels. I'll go back to his normal feeding routine as soon as possible.

We are also waiting on blood test results from yesterdays vet visit.
Cali appears to be dehydrated from excessive urination, which is causing constipation. I've asked the vet for advice.
Once a cat has started insulin, you cannot use Senvelgo. It seems like I’m seeing a lot of cats going into DKA on those Senvelgo and Bexacat drugs. There certainly does need to be a lot of screening before they use them to make sure it’s appropriate for the cat.

If the blood work or your veterinarians examination revealed dehydration, you can do subcutaneous fluids at home I do them all the time, although not strictly for constipation.
 
If Callie is constipated, I would recommend starting a little bit of MiraLAX. It works quite well and is very well tolerated by cats.
 
That is very interesting about your handheld glucometer versus your libre. I generally find the libre and most of the glucometer track pretty closely together in the higher numbers in the 100s 200s 300s, but the place where the libre starts to go a little wacky is in the lower numbers … the 50s, 60s, 70s in particular where the Libre can read 50 points lower than a handheld human glucometer. I have some spreadsheets showing this difference. Most of our members have seen this when they’re using a libre and they always use a handheld glucometer to check it when it’s telling them that their cats glucose is too low.

I am glad that your two handheld meters seem to be pretty close together. It’s interesting that they would be that close, although it can happen. They can also be as much as 20% off. Glucometers are permitted to have a 20% meter variance, which means you can test the same drop of blood and get up to a 20% difference in the number. It’s not usually that high, but it can be sometimes. I’m glad that you didn’t get a variance like that when you checked it because it’s really frustrating.
 
Cali continues to improve. His extreme hunger is gone and he's consuming more regular amounts of food at scheduled intervals.
But, his thirst continues to be high and he is urinating excessively. Recent blood test results showed no dangerous conditions.

Cali's BG nadar levels are improving. Lots of blue numbers in his spreadsheet.

My main concern are the pre-shot values remain high, usually >350.
Could this be a food issue? He's on Friskies Classic Pate with mixed occasionally with small amounts of Dr. Elsy's Clean Protein Chicken Kibble.
He gets two daily anchor meals at 12 hours apart, along with smaller feedings every 3 hours.
 
I explained the high preshot BG levels to the Google AI. I summarized the AI response:
  • Don't increase the insulin dose because the Nadar is currently in the proper range.
  • In some cats, Prozinc will wear off prematurely after 8 to 9 hours, resulting in no protection from the liver releasing glucose into the system.
  • Avoid feeding the cat after +6 to reduce the BG plateau from rising even further after the insulin wears off.
  • Consider switching the insulin to glargine (Lantus) or detemir because they easily last 12 hours.
Looking at today's glucose curve, the insulin maintained a fairly flat Nadar for 5 hours, then the BG rose steeply at about +7.5. So, the insulin may indeed be wearing off prematurely. I'll keep monitoring to see if this pattern repeats.
 
Cali does indeed need an increase to 2 units. Normal blood glucose for a cat is between 50-120 (human HANDHELD glucometer.). Any lower numbers below 90 would need to be checked with a handheld human glucometer.
 
And, as I always say…. try not to feed after your cat’s typical nadir (around +6.) We like to see the food given in the early portion of the cycle when the action of the insulin is strongest.

I know your higher preshots are discouraging, but it really made me smile to see so much blue on Cali’s SS!
 
Back
Top