Bunny 166 then 172 after 30 min--what to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AJHJ

Member Since 2016
Hello everyone,
Bunny was at 166 at his AMPS. I stalled 30 min and he was at 172. I can test again in 20 min and then I have to leave for work. If he gets to 180 or higher, I was planning on giving 1.5u (down from 2.4). Thoughts?? I won't be home to monitor today so wanted to be very safe. Should I go even lower? Last time he had a blue preshot I didn't give his dose and he jumped to over 400. He generally stays pretty high and flat. Would love some advice.
Thanks!
Angela
 
I am probably too late. Yes, I like the 1.5 See what it does tonight. Perhaps experimenting on lower preshots (yes, I am assuming they will be in your future :D) with a higher dose when you are home to monitor. (Assuming the 1.5 looks too low - it could be fine) Still like the stalling though. I am always nervous about shooting below 180, especially if you won't be there.
 
Thanks, Sue. I hope I have more low preshots in my future!! I agree about experimenting with higher doses with low preshots when I'm home to monitor. Just didn't want to chance it today. I'll send an update at PMPS. Wouldn't it be nice if he stay's blue! :)
 
Bunny is 206 at PMPS tonight :). He was at 304 this morning and gave him 2.4. I will be home to monitor tonight. I'm thinking keep with the 2.4 dose and see how he does. Earlier in the week he was at 258 at PMPS. I gave him 2.4, and he was at at 214 at +7.5--may have gotten blue but unlikely green. Sound like a reasonable plan?
 
As long as you can monitor and have plenty of test strips and MC and HC food to steer should you need to. Get a +2 so you have an indication of how active the cycle will be.
 
I have plenty of strips and both medium and high carb food at the ready. I'll get a +2 and be prepared to do many more, if necessary. If it were you, would you do the full 2.4 or go with 2.2 or 2.0??
 
I have plenty of strips and both medium and high carb food at the ready. I'll get a +2 and be prepared to do many more, if necessary. If it were you, would you do the full 2.4 or go with 2.2 or 2.0??
Do what makes you comfortable as you hold the syringe. You shot 258 at this dose. It if makes you more comfortable reduce it a bit maybe to 2.2. . All the data that you get tonight is good data.
 
Thank you! So nice to the experts are out there!

I echo Sue's comment--3AM???!!! every day??? I will likely get up around then tonight to check in on Bunny (depending on how he does early in the cycle), but don't think I'll make a habit of it ;)
 
Thank you! So nice to the experts are out there!

I echo Sue's comment--3AM???!!! every day??? I will likely get up around then tonight to check in on Bunny (depending on how he does early in the cycle), but don't think I'll make a habit of it ;)

When you are my age the bladder makes you do things you never would have done! LOL
 
221 @ +2... he had a nice dinner so the rise is probably understandable. I'll test again in 2 hours, but I don't think we have to worry about this cycle. :)
 
That's not a big food hike. I usually get 50-60 points with Bubba but ECID. I don't see a lot of data of Bunny's +2's so it's hard to say. So, I am glad that you will get another test in a few hours.
 
more info... gave him a handful of science diet indoor cat dry (40% carb) and a tablespoon of science diet savory chicken (22% carb) mixed with a bit of honey.
 
Glad you caught the low. The HC should bring him up. You just need him to stay up, so 3 rising tests before you relax. He earned a dose reduction for tomorrow, even if he bounces for amps.
 
50 @ +4.33... gave him another tablespoon of science diet chicken with a bit of honey... getting worried... anything else I should be doing????
 
You can rub some honey right on his gums. He is right on the edge of hypo so you don't want to overreact with a lot of carbs, but I know the low numbers are scary. You'll need to get three rising tests, so you might have a late night.

Great that he has no signs. If he did, you'd want to immediately head to the Er vet with honey in hand.

Tomorrow he may bounce high, but I'd still reduce.
 
Should I keep giving him HC food, or just wait and see what happens every 20 min? I gave him 3 "temptations" treats after this last BG test. He's asking for more. I don't want to overdo it with the HC food/treats.
 
It's my bedtime. You are doing great. Remember, three rising tests (if he'd start to drop, not rise - honey or gravy works best and fastest.). I wouldn't expect him to drop, but you never know.

Tomorrow he is likely to be high - bouncing from all the carbs and the low number. I wouldn't overreact. Maybe 2/2.2 on a red?
 
Thank you, Sue! I can't tell you how much I appreciate your help. Have a good night. We'll be fine. :)
 
525 this morning at AMPS. I'm torn between 2 and 2.2. I think I'll give 2.0 because I won't be home to monitor. I could probably give 2.2, but I just don't want to push it.
 
Bounce! Not unexpected, but you did a great job. 2 sounds fine. It may take awhile for him to normalize again, so just figure you are data gathering again....
 
Last edited:
Yes, not unexpected but disappointing all the same. We'll see where he's at tonight. Thank you Sue and Bobbie & Bubba for the advice! And thanks to everyone for the support. That was scary although also not entirely unexpected, I suppose, considering the low PMPS.
 
I am just catching up and now and Bunny did a dive last night and a bounce today! Good thing we have peeps in all different time zones to support. You did a great job last night and was cool as a cucumber!

@Rachel , I set an alarm but I usually wake up now before it goes off since I am used to this and also I have a tiny bladder. :facepalm:
 
I was up at 3am this morning to test Bunny and thought of you Bobbie & Bubba! Impressed you do it every day--I was surprised I could see straight!
 
Hi again... Bunny was 383 this morning (gave 2.2u), 208 at +4 and now 61 at +8. I gave him a tablespoon of HC food (Science Diet canned chicken dinner) which he happily gobbled down. I also put out more of his regular food (merrick chicken pate). Clinically, he seems great. I don't want to overreact because he should be either at nadir or just past it. I wasn't home between +4 and +8 to check today. I'll monitor again in 20 min. Thinking ahead to his PM dosing... any guidance on what to give for various ranges? I was thinking:

2 (lower?) if he's mid-high pink
1.5 (lower?) if he's high yellow
1.25 mid yellow
1 if low yellow

I won't be home to monitor until late tonight so will miss +2 through probably +6. I don't want to give him too much!!!

Thanks for any advice!
Angela
 
101 @ +8.75. Will be very curious to see what his PMPS is and would appreciate guidance on evening dosing.
Thank you!
 
Hey Angela, I think Bunny is telling you that 2.20 is too much going back to the PM cycle of the 14th. He bounced the next morning and looks like he cleared that bounce today. Since you can't be home to monitor it would be prudent to reduce and I like your scale above to keep him safe. Maybe some others will weigh in. If you can get +2 right before you leave and if he is the same number or lower, give him a little food to help slow him down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top