Buddy's SS up and going questions on how to share info

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wow, Buddy is having an active cycle. I saw Kris was here to help you. You're in good hands. That is exciting that Buddy is responding so well to the change to wet food. It looks like you'll get to lower his insulin. Of course you probably would rather not have this much excitement.
 
Took it at 4:00 it was @57, gave him FF
I took a reading @ 4:00 and he was @57, I gave him some FF grilled it has gravy. When should I test again.
So far he's staying flat, probably propped up from the dry food, etc. I'd say you could test again at 4:30 PM, post here and then leave him without food after that until you test at 5 PM. We want to see if his BG will stay flat or even begin to rise without the assistance of food. If you dosed him at 8 AM, you're now a little past +8 as we call it (8 hours past the AM dose - we refer to times this way because there are people here from all over the world) and if he's still low that suggests a late/prolonged nadir which can happen when a dose is too high.

Sorry for all the poking you have to do but it's the only way to keep Buddy safe.
 
Wow, Buddy is having an active cycle. I saw Kris was here to help you. You're in good hands. That is exciting that Buddy is responding so well to the change to wet food. It looks like you'll get to lower his insulin. Of course you probably would rather not have this much excitement.
He has been eating wet food all along but I took his dry food away today and look what happened.
 
He has been eating wet food all along but I took his dry food away today and look what happened.
Exactly the reason why we tell people to remove dry food from the diet. It can greatly reduce the BG numbers and need for insulin. Some cats can be managed with a low carb wet food diet alone, no insulin. Imagine what would have happened if you's followed the vet's dosing advice??!!
 
So far he's staying flat, probably propped up from the dry food, etc. I'd say you could test again at 4:30 PM, post here and then leave him without food after that until you test at 5 PM. We want to see if his BG will stay flat or even begin to rise without the assistance of food. If you dosed him at 8 AM, you're now a little past +8 as we call it (8 hours past the AM dose - we refer to times this way because there are people here from all over the world) and if he's still low that suggests a late/prolonged nadir which can happen when a dose is too high.

Sorry for all the poking you have to do but it's the only way to keep Buddy safe.
He is @ 80. Should I do anything. I am going to need to go to Walmart pretty soon and buy test strips. I just want Buddy safe
 
Exactly the reason why we tell people to remove dry food from the diet. It can greatly reduce the BG numbers and need for insulin. Some cats can be managed with a low carb wet food diet alone, no insulin. Imagine what would have happened if you's followed the vet's dosing advice??!!
I know, found that out the night he came home from curve.
 
He is @ 80. Should I do anything. I am going to need to go to Walmart pretty soon and buy test strips. I just want Buddy safe
Hurray! He's rising! No more food for now and test again at 5 PM. That will probably be the last test until PMPS. Can you get to Walmart after that? Thank heavens you can get the ReliOn meter's (relatively) cheap strips ... :)
 
So far he's staying flat, probably propped up from the dry food, etc. I'd say you could test again at 4:30 PM, post here and then leave him without food after that until you test at 5 PM. We want to see if his BG will stay flat or even begin to rise without the assistance of food. If you dosed him at 8 AM, you're now a little past +8 as we call it (8 hours past the AM dose - we refer to times this way because there are people here from all over the world) and if he's still low that suggests a late/prolonged nadir which can happen when a dose is too high.

Sorry for all the poking you have to do but it's the only way to keep Buddy safe.
I did give insulin at 8a.m.
 
Hurray! He's rising! No more food for now and test again at 5 PM. That will probably be the last test until PMPS. Can you get to Walmart after that? Thank heavens you can get the ReliOn meter's (relatively) cheap strips ... :)
I can test at 5p.m., if he is coming up do you think he will be safe till I come back. I bet he will not eat anything tonight after having the other food. I will do a blood test @7:30 and if he is eating shot at 8:00.
 
I can test at 5p.m., if he is coming up do you think he will be safe till I come back. I bet he will not eat anything tonight after having the other food. I will do a blood test @7:30 and if he is eating shot at 8:00.
Yes, if he's coming up at 5 PM, I think he'll be OK. Is it far to Walmart? As far as eating his supper, even a little meal will be OK I think. He might not even get any insulin tonight if his PS is too low.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hypo-links-be-prepared-just-in-case.48385/
Check out the links above when you have time and then assemble a "hypo kit" that includes extra test strips, cans of grave style wet food, etc. as well as a list of "what to do" instructions. Buddy wasn't hypoing - yet - today but you want to be prepared in case it happens sometime. Hopefully you can avoid it with testing and proper dosing but you never know.
 
He is @ 98. What is my next move, let me know what I should do if he does not eat, how high should his numbers get till I need to
shoot and how much. Or anything else you can think of.
  • OK, it's now +9 and he's at a safe number with no food in the last 30 minutes. Go ahead to Walmart to buy those test strips.
  • Don't give any food between now and your 7:30 PM preshot test.
  • If that test number is under 200 you won't give any insulin tonight. Feed him some wet food. No problem if he doesn't want to eat.
  • If it's above 200, he should get some insulin after eating a little. I'll think about what dose when I see the PS number.
Sound like a plan?
 
Yes, if he's coming up at 5 PM, I think he'll be OK. Is it far to Walmart? As far as eating his supper, even a little meal will be OK I think. He might not even get any insulin tonight if his PS is too low.
Yes, if he's coming up at 5 PM, I think he'll be OK. Is it far to Walmart? As far as eating his supper, even a little meal will be OK I think. He might not even get any insulin tonight if his PS is too low.
When you say a little meal you mean after test. Walmart is not very far.
 
  • OK, it's now +9 and he's at a safe number with no food in the last 30 minutes. Go ahead to Walmart to buy those test strips.
  • Don't give any food between now and your 7:30 PM preshot test.Yes.
  • If that test number is under 200 you won't give any insulin tonight. Feed him some wet food. No problem if he doesn't want to eat.
  • If it's above 200, he should get some insulin after eating a little. I'll think about what dose when I see the PS number.
Sound like a plan?
 
When I tried to e-mail you my computer would not work. I just gave him u-0.5, he was at 367 @ 8:00pm. I have been on the phone with a computer repair person, I have been frantic. What did you think I should have gave him.
I need to take one of my other cats to a vet in the morning, do you have any ideas what I might give Bud in the morning.
 
It'll really depend on the number you get. If under 200 no shot for sure. Will you be shooting at 8 am? What time zone are you are n?
 
It'll really depend on the number you get. If under 200 no shot for sure. Will you be shooting at 8 am? What time zone are you are n?
I have had problems all day with Buddy crashing because I took his dry food away and added FF classic to his Royal Canin. I had talked to Kris about this most of the day, I went somewhere, then I came back my computer was locked up on me. I wanted to know in light of everything that happened today and the dose I gave him tonight, what Kris thought I should do tomorrow .
 
Gotcha. I read through your conversation and it looks like Buddy really responded to wet food! I think you're seeing a bounce tonight...and your dose looks good. It might be good for tomorrow too depending on your preshot. I understand you'd like to know what Kris thinks...@Kris & Teasel can you weigh in!?
 
I think the lower dose tonight was the right thing. Let's see how he is tonight if you can do a before bed test. We can think about the dose tomorrow morning after you have the AMPS. I'll be around to watch for it.
 
Gotcha. I read through your conversation and it looks like Buddy really responded to wet food! I think you're seeing a bounce tonight...and your dose looks good. It might be good for tomorrow too depending on your preshot. I understand you'd like to know what Kris thinks...@Kris & Teasel can you weigh in!?
Did you think the dose was too low considering his preshot was 367, I believe. I did not give him FF classic tonight because I did not know what to do and I did not want him to crash on me in the middle of the night.
 
Did you think the dose was too low considering his preshot was 367, I believe. I did not give him FF classic tonight because I did not know what to do and I did not want him to crash on me in the middle of the night.
That 367 could be the start of the bouncing. After today's lows it's safer to err on the side of caution. I'd still encourage you to do the switch to low carb wet food. It won't always be hair-raising like today once he's stabilized on that food and insulin has been adjusted accordingly. You can rest easy tonight. :)
 
I think the lower dose tonight was the right thing. Let's see how he is tonight if you can do a before bed test. We can think about the dose tomorrow morning after you have the AMPS. I'll be around to watch for it.
One of my other cats is not feeling well, so around 10:00a.m., I am going to take her to be seen by the vet. In the morning I am going to only give Buddy wet food Royal Canin, no dry, but I think I will hold off of the FF classic until I am home. I still would like your input on dosing, especially because of his crash.
 
That 367 could be the start of the bouncing. After today's lows it's safer to err on the side of caution. I'd still encourage you to do the switch to low carb wet food. It won't always be hair-raising like today once he's stabilized on that food and insulin has been adjusted accordingly. You can rest easy tonight. :)
I am going to do the switch like I was, but I feel as though I need to be here in case he crashes.
 
One of my other cats is not feeling well, so around 10:00a.m., I am going to take her to be seen by the vet. In the morning I am going to only give Buddy wet food Royal Canin, no dry, but I think I will hold off of the FF classic until I am home. I still would like your input on dosing, especially because of his crash.
I'm usually at my computer checking in here by 8 AM (we're in the same time zone) so I'll look for your posts.
 
I'm usually at my computer checking in here by 8 AM (we're in the same time zone) so I'll look for your posts.
I am not sure whether Red needs to go to Vet today or not so I am not sure what to do. Going back to only wet food adding some FF wet. Let me know what dose you think I need to do. When this 1st started he had been on 5mg of Prednisolone 2xa day for 4 1/2 days. His 1st dose was on 12/20/16, maybe this is clearing his system.
 
Good morning. If you can get a BG test just before 8am then when Kris gets online she'll have a better idea what to suggest.
 
I am not sure whether Red needs to go to Vet today or not so I am not sure what to do. Going back to only wet food adding some FF wet. Let me know what dose you think I need to do. When this 1st started he had been on 5mg of Prednisolone 2xa day for 4 1/2 days. His 1st dose was on 12/20/16, maybe this is clearing his system.
Quite possibly part of what's going on.
 
Quite possibly part of what's going on.
I got a reading of 396 @7:30. I think it might be a little high because he ate some of Red's dry food @3:00a.m. I gave Buddy some Royal Canin wet (which he likes) and added some FF classic to it. The bowl with the mixture of 2 he did not want to eat, I had to keep adding Royal Canin to it. I am willing to go slow on a dose.
 
I see from your SS that you had a sleepless night - poor you! Those pinks and reds are bounce numbers after yesterday's greens. Your AMPS of 396 is high-ish but I'm suggesting you give 1 unit this AM. There might still be pinks and reds today after all the excitement but you need to see how this low dose works once he settles down, the steroid wears off, etc. I agree that he needs to be on wet food, preferably as much low carb FF as you feel confident to give.

You can also give his ears and yourself a break by reducing testing to, say, +3 to see if he's starting to drop, +6 to see what his nadir looks like and +8 to see if he's coming up of if he stills has a late nadir like yesterday.

What do you think?
 
If you feel very squeamish about giving 1 u you could eyeball 0.75 u. Your kitty, your choice. :)
I guess people could call me scaredey cat. I only gave him u- 0.75. Does anyone know what flavors of Friskies pate can be given to a diabetic cat, I have several different ones here.
 
I guess people could call me scaredey cat. I only gave him u- 0.75. Does anyone know what flavors of Friskies pate can be given to a diabetic cat, I have several different ones here.
No problem with that dose. Re Friskies: any of the pates are fine. I just limit fish based ones to once a week - high in phosphorus I think.

On my way out. I'll check in around noon.
 
I'm back and just saw Buddy's +3 number. No surprise that it's pink. You might have high numbers today and that means we won't have an accurate picture of how this dose of 0.75 u is working. You might have to keep it for a few cycles. More info over the day today (+6, +8 and PMPS) will be helpful. I think you'll have a calmer time of it.
 
No problem with that dose. Re Friskies: any of the pates are fine. I just limit fish based ones to once a week - high in phosphorus I think.

On my way out. I'll check in around noon.
I got Buddy to eat royal canin wet with ff classic added into it. He did not want to eat this, but he finally did. I did order today Young Again O Carb dry food. I sure hope he does not crash again today.
 
I got Buddy to eat royal canin wet with ff classic added into it. He did not want to eat this, but he finally did. I did order today Young Again O Carb dry food. I sure hope he does not crash again today.
I really don't think he will. I have to go out again for a bit in about an hour but will check in. You now know what too low numbers look like and how to "steer" them with food. Big leap forward. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top