Buddy's SS up and going questions on how to share info

Status
Not open for further replies.
Guess I did not see this last night. This morning Buddy is at 212 last night I gave him 1.25, do you think I should stay with This or go down to 1u.
Are you at home to monitor today? If so, you could give 1.25 u and be prepared to give a small snack at around +3 if he seems to be dropping too fast. I suggest you fill in all the info you have on your SS. Making dosing decisions is harder when you don't have enough data from a systematic routine.
 
I took another reading @8:00 p.m. and he was @ 389, I eye balled the syringe and tried my best to hit 1.25 and gave the shot. I have u-100 syringes here for Methotrexate injections, if I had the conversion chart I might get it right.
I did print out the conversion chart, I am little afraid at this time, since I am more up to date with this SS maybe I can get on line and find some to buy. The ones I have came from the vet.
 
Are you at home to monitor today? If so, you could give 1.25 u and be prepared to give a small snack at around +3 if he seems to be dropping too fast. I suggest you fill in all the info you have on your SS. Making dosing decisions is harder when you don't have enough data from a systematic routine.
You are great and seem to be always there, I am home until 2:00 when I take my Mother to the doctor. I am an old woman living on a fixed income so I am home most of the time. My cats get all I have and always have. I will do as you suggested. Thank you for all your help, we so appreciate it.
 
I did print out the conversion chart, I am little afraid at this time, since I am more up to date with this SS maybe I can get on line and find some to buy. The ones I have came from the vet.
I'm pleased to be able to help. I'm retired so have a flexible schedule. What time zone are you in? It'll help me to know where you are in Buddy's daily routine. I'm in Ottawa, Canada - Eastern time zone.

You're right to be careful about the U100 syringes. The ones you want are labelled for insulin. They need to be labelled U100, o.33 cc/mL (or 3/10 mL) and you want them to have half unit marks on them. Mine are 29 gauge but some people use 31 gauge. The needles come in two lengths usually, 1/4 inch and 1/2 inch. I use 1/2 inch. The gauge and needle length are personal preference.
 
You are great and seem to be always there, I am home until 2:00 when I take my Mother to the doctor. I am an old woman living on a fixed income so I am home most of the time. My cats get all I have and always have. I will do as you suggested. Thank you for all your help, we so appreciate it.
 
I'm pleased to be able to help. I'm retired so have a flexible schedule. What time zone are you in? It'll help me to know where you are in Buddy's daily routine. I'm in Ottawa, Canada - Eastern time zone.

You're right to be careful about the U100 syringes. The ones you want are labelled for insulin. They need to be labelled U100, o.33 cc/mL (or 3/10 mL) and you want them to have half unit marks on them. Mine are 29 gauge but some people use 31 gauge. The needles come in two lengths usually, 1/4 inch and 1/2 inch. I use 1/2 inch. The gauge and needle length are personal preference.
My syringes are insulin syringes they are 1ml cc 31gauge 8mm. I have been checking Buddy since his dose this morning, my last reading which is @3hrs. was 432. When I looked back on SS seems he goes downwards more like 5 hrs. If he has not started downwards before I leave should I still give him a snack. I am afraid to go anywhere because I am afraid he will go hypo. Yesterday I went to church and that was the first time since before Christmas. This is stupid but I do not know what time zone I am in, but my clock is right now. It is now 11:45 a.m.
 
My syringes are insulin syringes they are 1ml cc 31gauge 8mm. I have been checking Buddy since his dose this morning, my last reading which is @3hrs. was 432. When I looked back on SS seems he goes downwards more like 5 hrs. If he has not started downwards before I leave should I still give him a snack. I am afraid to go anywhere because I am afraid he will go hypo. Yesterday I went to church and that was the first time since before Christmas. This is stupid but I do not know what time zone I am in, but my clock is right now. It is now 11:45 a.m.
I live in Indiana.
 
I took another reading exactly 1 hr. since the last, he was @302. Since he is coming down and I will be leaving soon I gave him some wet food.
 
I live in Indiana.
I checked online and Indiana has both central and eastern time zones. If you Google where you live in Indiana and ask for the time zone there you can add that info to your signature where you've listed Buddy's date of diagnosis, type of insulin and type of meter.
 
I took another reading exactly 1 hr. since the last, he was @302. Since he is coming down and I will be leaving soon I gave him some wet food.
Took another reading in 1hr. @280 gave him some dry food, getting ready to leave, I hope he will be alright.
 
The dry food will probably raise his BG. Is he a kibble addict?
He likes kibble but he also likes certain kinds of wet. He got sick with pancreatitis and developed some wet food aversions. Before diabetes he ate FF liver & chicken feast in gravy grilled, he could eat this in the classic FF but the wants him to eat Royal Canine, he also eats Purina OM a prescription dry food and he was eating this before the diabetes. If I am right tonight I should give him 1.25 u unless we have a problem. Please verify this for me.
 
He likes kibble but he also likes certain kinds of wet. He got sick with pancreatitis and developed some wet food aversions. Before diabetes he ate FF liver & chicken feast in gravy grilled, he could eat this in the classic FF but the wants him to eat Royal Canine, he also eats Purina OM a prescription dry food and he was eating this before the diabetes. If I am right tonight I should give him 1.25 u unless we have a problem. Please verify this for me.
Yes. I'd give 1.25 u tonight. Many of us here had vets who prescribed various prescription diets, including kibble. The approach we take here on FDMB is that an all wet food low carb diet is best. If there's any way you could achieve that I think you'd see an improvement in Buddy's numbers. There's really no need to buy expensive prescription food. The grocery store brands like Fancy Feast and Friskies (pate styles only, no sauce or gravy) are fine for diabetic cats.
 
Wet low carb food can actually be less expensive than that prescription food. :)

I agree with Kris...1.25 for tonight. Your SS is definitely helping us fill in the picture of what's going on! I look forward to seeing more so we can get Buddy where he needs to be.
 
Yes. I'd give 1.25 u tonight. Many of us here had vets who prescribed various prescription diets, including kibble. The approach we take here on FDMB is that an all wet food low carb diet is best. If there's any way you could achieve that I think you'd see an improvement in Buddy's numbers. There's really no need to buy expensive prescription food. The grocery store brands like Fancy Feast and Friskies (pate styles only, no sauce or gravy) are fine for diabetic cats.
I tried to talk to this vet about FF pate classic, she said she did not know anything about FF but she did know about the Royal Canine and Purina OM. I would like to have a vet after hours is the reason I have used this vet, however at some point I am going to change his food.
 
My vet was all about the prescription food too. I just told them she wouldn't eat it and moved on.
 
I tried to talk to this vet about FF pate classic, she said she did not know anything about FF but she did know about the Royal Canine and Purina OM. I would like to have a vet after hours is the reason I have used this vet, however at some point I am going to change his food.
I understand wanting to listen to your vet. However, you have the right to try other food options such as those we've suggested to see if it helps Buddy. I know you put his welfare first. :)
 
He likes kibble but he also likes certain kinds of wet. He got sick with pancreatitis and developed some wet food aversions. Before diabetes he ate FF liver & chicken feast in gravy grilled, he could eat this in the classic FF but the wants him to eat Royal Canine, he also eats Purina OM a prescription dry food and he was eating this before the diabetes. If I am right tonight I should give him 1.25 u unless we have a problem. Please verify this for me.
The Vet told me to feed Bud 2X a day, when I did that he was starved between meals and we could hardly eat for him. I have been feeding him along during the day, more than at night. Maybe that is why has a high reading at the last injection. How do the rest of yo feed.
 
I understand wanting to listen to your vet. However, you have the right to try other food options such as those we've suggested to see if it helps Buddy. I know you put his welfare first. :)
If I would start feeding FF to you think I might cause a HYPO or just even his numbers out.
 
You can definitely make your own decisions. If you want to change foods, you don't need their permission. While they might fuss...it's your cat, and your choice. :)
 
I feed Morris main meals at AMPS and PMPS. He also eats a smaller amount in the day at +8. The +8 time is simply because our dogs get a meal then and Morris thinks he should eat then also. He also on occasion receives food at other times if we need to steer his BG numbers. Morris was 9# when we adopted him. He is now close to 15# which is a good but not more weight for him. When he was underweight I fed him more often.

My vet gave me m/d on the first visit. I used part of the case while I educated myself or rather FDMB educated me. I switched to low carb can only and then switched to his current home prepared diet. I did not consult with my vet about his diet.

Yes if you switched to FF you might have a Hypo event. That is why you are home testing, keeping your spreadsheet, and should switch his diet gradually. As you add more new food to replace old food your testing and spreadsheet will guide you as to whether you need to reduce his insulin. If changing to a low carb wet diet and being able to reduce insulin you save $ in both regards.
 
Yes, a switch to low carb wet food could possibly have a big impact on BG numbers. That's a good thing because it means Buddy might need less insulin. However, the switch has to be done slowly and carefully with lots of BG monitoring and assistance from people her if you need it. You can certainly save money by feeding grocery store brands that are wet low carb types if Buddy likes them.
 
I have decided not to give Buddy any more dry food unless his numbers are low and I am trying to bring them back up. This morning I gave Buddy some Royal Canin wet food and I mixed in with it some FF Tender Liver & Chicken Feast Classic. Buddy ate the same flavor of FF except he ate grilled before his diabetes. He had to think about it to eat this mixture, he left several times and came back before he ate most of it. I have almost a case of the Royal Canin, I am hoping to keep dong this until all of his food is FF. I might need to get another flavor FF, what flavor is the favorite of most kitty's
 
I have decided not to give Buddy any more dry food unless his numbers are low and I am trying to bring them back up. This morning I gave Buddy some Royal Canin wet food and I mixed in with it some FF Tender Liver & Chicken Feast Classic. Buddy ate the same flavor of FF except he ate grilled before his diabetes. He had to think about it to eat this mixture, he left several times and came back before he ate most of it. I have almost a case of the Royal Canin, I am hoping to keep dong this until all of his food is FF. I might need to get another flavor FF, what flavor is the favorite of most kitty's
Hard to say because some kitties are very fussy but others not. Teasel eats anything.
 
Hard to say because some kitties are very fussy but others not. Teasel eats anything.
I have not given Buddy anything but wet food today and his numbers have been going down all day, have not gone up once. Could someone tell me where they buy u40 syringes that have at least markings at the 1/2 point. I hope everyone could understand what I meant by 1/2 point.
 
I have not given Buddy anything but wet food today and his numbers have been going down all day, have not gone up once. Could someone tell me where they buy u40 syringes that have at least markings at the 1/2 point. I hope everyone could understand what I meant by 1/2 point.
Yes, you want U40 syringes with half unit markings. I read here that many people buy them from https://www.adwdiabetes.com/. I use U100 syringes and the conversion chart I mentioned to you before.
 
So that was at +5? He should be fine because he would still have a lot of room to drop. Plus you have already "steered with food" by feeding him twice in the last couple of hours. If you look back on your SS at 1/18 he was at 106 at +5 with 2u of insulin and a similar AMPS # and only got to 76 at +7. Today you gave 1.25u so again he should be fine. You can always catch a +6 or +7 to check. The more data the better. Of course we have to weigh the cost of strips. :)
 
So that was at +5? He should be fine because he would still have a lot of room to drop. Plus you have already "steered with food" by feeding him twice in the last couple of hours. If you look back on your SS at 1/18 he was at 106 at +5 with 2u of insulin and a similar AMPS # and only got to 76 at +7. Today you gave 1.25u so again he should be fine. You can always catch a +6 or +7 to check. The more data the better. Of course we have to weigh the cost of strips. :)
I just took a reading and he was @ 75.
 
So that was at +5? He should be fine because he would still have a lot of room to drop. Plus you have already "steered with food" by feeding him twice in the last couple of hours. If you look back on your SS at 1/18 he was at 106 at +5 with 2u of insulin and a similar AMPS # and only got to 76 at +7. Today you gave 1.25u so again he should be fine. You can always catch a +6 or +7 to check. The more data the better. Of course we have to weigh the cost of strips. :)
I just checked him he was @75, do you think that is alright, after he has ate a couple of times.
 
He will not eat any of his wet food, I think he wants dry. I have some temptations treats , I could give him 1 of them.
Give one treat. Another thing to have on hand is a few cans of wet food with sauce/gravy. A teaspoon of the gravy is a good BG booster when needed.
 
I don't think you'll need it but do you have honey or corn syrup at home? It can be rubbed on the cat's gums when they're too low or a little bit can be put into some wet food gravy. The dry food can take a while to get into the bloodstream. Test again in 15-20 minutes and post here.
 
Give one treat. Another thing to have on hand is a few cans of wet food with sauce/gravy. A teaspoon of the gravy is a good BG booster when needed.
This post was not up when I came back after saying he was at 56, I have lots of FF grilled with gravy, also he would like to have a treat. Now that I know I can use these the next time I will try these first.
 
This post was not up when I came back after saying he was at 56, I have lots of FF grilled with gravy, also he would like to have a treat. Now that I know I can use these the next time I will try these first.
Yes, sometimes the timing of posts isn't ideal. Are you going to test again soon-ish?
 
I don't think you'll need it but do you have honey or corn syrup at home? It can be rubbed on the cat's gums when they're too low or a little bit can be put into some wet food gravy. The dry food can take a while to get into the bloodstream. Test again in 15-20 minutes and post here.
I have both, I just took a reading and he is @ 57, I gave him 2 treats. What should I do next. The reading I took was @3:30
 
All of the above, I just hope when he comes up he is not sky high, but I do hope higher than 57.
He should come up by PMPS. You can expect higher bounce numbers either then or tomorrow. If PMPS is high enough to give insulin, you'll have to reduce the dose. Let's decide that when you get there. You're doing fine! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top