Buddy's Mom needs help with dosing part 9

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have not looked for MC foods, but I will try to today, I have looked at carb count list to see % of carbs. When I have looked before I was looking for low carb foods. Right now Bud Cat is eating Royal Canin Glycobalance and YA. Just happened to have 3 cases of Royal Canin that I had ordered from Chewy when Buddy was eating this before. Last week he would not look at YA, this week he is going after it. I do not know if he is being picky or if sometimes some foods make him feel sick. Last week he was eating 9Lives, not so this week. I just happened to be stocked up on 9Lives, I even have coupons from this company.
You can only do what you can do, Teresa. The most important thing is to keep Buddy eating so he can get his insulin. Sometimes, less than ideal is what you have to do.
 
How are you and Buddy, Teresa?
I was wondering if you could give me an rough estimate of how long one of Buddy's pancreatitis flares lasted? I am going through my first with Maury. Perfectly OK if it's our last too! :) Whenever you are able to answer, please don't feel rushed :bighug:
 
How are you and Buddy, Teresa?
I was wondering if you could give me an rough estimate of how long one of Buddy's pancreatitis flares lasted? I am going through my first with Maury. Perfectly OK if it's our last too! :) Whenever you are able to answer, please don't feel rushed :bighug:
I am so Sorry, I did get on FDMB yesterday, but I was looking at other things and did not see that I had any post. Give me more info, how is he acting, is he eating, is he drinking water, is his bowel's loose, throwing up, what meds is he being giving for his pancreatitis, has he seen vet.
 
This morning at 2.24 a.m. Buddy's BG was @ 57 , I gave him some of his food and could not get his numbers to stay up. finally I gave him some HC canned food and this morning gave him a reduced dose of 5.6u. I took his BG at 6:24 p.m. and it was at 49. I am giving him his wet food with some HC mixed in with it, does anyone have any ideas on what might be a safe dose for Buddy for PMPS. I did not sleep much last night because of his BG, I am afraid tonight when I go to sleep I won't wake up to check him.
 
What a strange cycle! I'm not sure what to recommend on dose, but I do think you should go with something lower to keep him safe and get you some rest tonight! Hopefully someone will have a more specific suggestion soon! How long until PM shot time?
 
I'm not sure what to suggest, Teresa. It looks like with this dose range he's finally broken through the insulin resistance that had built up. You don't want to lose momentum but you also don't want him to hypo. I see you lowered him to 5.6 u this AM and still saw a blue. That's likely because the greens left him a bit more sensitive to insulin. You could try 5.6 u again tonight and aim for a before bed test (+3?) to see where he's heading. Tomorrow AM's PS will tell the story.
 
What a strange cycle! I'm not sure what to recommend on dose, but I do think you should go with something lower to keep him safe and get you some rest tonight! Hopefully someone will have a more specific suggestion soon! How long until PM shot time?
He is not at 200 yet, that is what I am waiting for.
 
I'm not sure what to suggest, Teresa. It looks like with this dose range he's finally broken through the insulin resistance that had built up. You don't want to lose momentum but you also don't want him to hypo. I see you lowered him to 5.6 u this AM and still saw a blue. That's likely because the greens left him a bit more sensitive to insulin. You could try 5.6 u again tonight and aim for a before bed test (+3?) to see where he's heading. Tomorrow AM's PS will tell the story.
 
This evening at 6:24 he was @ 49, I have been feeding him HC wet food and I have not been able to get him up to 200 yet. Always before when he would eat even his LC wet food when he was low, his numbers would start climbing, not so last night and today.
 
This evening at 6:24 he was @ 49, I have been feeding him HC wet food and I have not been able to get him up to 200 yet. Always before when he would eat even his LC wet food when he was low, his numbers would start climbing, not so last night and today.
I'm sorry, Teresa, I misread your previous post. If he was at 49 an hour and a half ago, it's not likely he'll be high enough for insulin tonight. No shot is the way to go. This is both exciting and scary. Sometimes they move very suddenly into a new dosing phase and that's possibly what's happening.

Let us know how he's doing through the evening.
 
I'm sorry, Teresa, I misread your previous post. If he was at 49 an hour and a half ago, it's not likely he'll be high enough for insulin tonight. No shot is the way to go. This is both exciting and scary. Sometimes they move very suddenly into a new dosing phase and that's possibly what's happening.

Let us know how he's doing through the evening.
He is now at 222, I have been trying to raise his BG up since 6:24 p.m,, he has finally come up. He has eaten at least 2 cans of HC FF and almost a can of Royal Canin. What do you think about a really low dose tonight. I have never had this much trouble trying to raise his numbers before.
 
He is now at 222, I have been trying to raise his BG up since 6:24 p.m,, he has finally come up. He has eaten at least 2 cans of HC FF and almost a can of Royal Canin. What do you think about a really low dose tonight. I have never had this much trouble trying to raise his numbers before.
Whew! That tells you that he's really responding to the insulin. You could give a really low dose so he has a bit in him. What were you thinking of?
 
Does anyone have any suggestions Buddy is at 403 this morning, I do not know if this is because of all the food he ate yesterday, bounce or he did not get enough insulin. I do not want to give him 6.2 this morning and have a repeat of yesterday, without trying something else first.
 
There isn't any data on your spreadsheet for last night, so I'm not sure what you gave him, or how he responded, but my guess is that the 403 is from too little insulin last night since you were talking about giving a reduced dose. You can probably go back to your regular dose or something a bit reduced (5.8? 6.0?) this cycle, but you need to do what you're comfortable with. And also remember that I am kind of guessing since I can't see any data from yesterday afternoon/evening.
 
Actually, I take that back. Reading back through your posts, it looks like he was at 49 an hour and a half before shot time last night? So he went down after the 164 you got at +5? I guess I'm a little confused about what he's been doing the past 24 hours, so I don't think I can make a recommendation for a dose. I'm sorry I'm not following this very well :confused:
 
Does anyone have any suggestions Buddy is at 403 this morning, I do not know if this is because of all the food he ate yesterday, bounce or he did not get enough insulin. I do not want to give him 6.2 this morning and have a repeat of yesterday, without trying something else first.
Could be any or all of those things, Teresa. You could try 5.8 or 6.0 u this AM and plan to monitor. You want to keep the momentum. He might need steering with food. If those doses worry you, try 5.0 u.
 
Actually, I take that back. Reading back through your posts, it looks like he was at 49 an hour and a half before shot time last night? So he went down after the 164 you got at +5? I guess I'm a little confused about what he's been doing the past 24 hours, so I don't think I can make a recommendation for a dose. I'm sorry I'm not following this very well :confused:
Yesterday he kept crashing with a dose of 6.2. Last night I gave him 3u and today he is at 403. I do not know if it is because of all the food he ate yesterday HC, Bouncing, or needs more insulin.
 
Yesterday he kept crashing with a dose of 6.2. Last night I gave him 3u and today he is at 403. I do not know if it is because of all the food he ate yesterday HC, Bouncing, or needs more insulin.
I think it could be all of those things, Teresa. What do you think of the dosing suggestions I gave you?
 
Could be any or all of those things, Teresa. You could try 5.8 or 6.0 u this AM and plan to monitor. You want to keep the momentum. He might need steering with food. If those doses worry you, try 5.0 u.
Thank you. I will try 5.0 this morning and if need be work my way back up. Buddy is eating his canned food this week without eating Purina OM dry, that is probably a big factor in this.
 
Thank you. I will try 5.0 this morning and if need be work my way back up. Buddy is eating his canned food this week without eating Purina OM dry, that is probably a big factor in this.
Yes, it's harder with a kitty whose appetite waxes and wanes. You have to keep him eating and sometimes it'll mean higher carb food. The dosing will have to accommodate that.
 
@Kris & Teasel Do you have any good advice @PMPS Buddy is at 209. I am afraid of giving too much insulin, but I want to give enough. I gave him extra food this afternoon because I was leaving, but only wet LC and no dry.
 
@Kris & Teasel Do you have any good advice @PMPS Buddy is at 209. I am afraid of giving too much insulin, but I want to give enough. I gave him extra food this afternoon because I was leaving, but only wet LC and no dry.
Yesterday on a yellow AMPS you gave 5.6 u and he dropped too low at +9. Tonight's PMPS is only a bit lower but yesterday's data tells me 5+ u is too much on that range of PS right now. Last night, 3 u gave you a yellow at +6 in the evening. That's not a lot of data to go on so I'll go out on a limb and suggest 4 u. If that feels like too much, give 3 u like last night. This is mostly guess work because this is new dosing territory for you and Buddy.
 
Yesterday on a yellow AMPS you gave 5.6 u and he dropped too low at +9. Tonight's PMPS is only a bit lower but yesterday's data tells me 5+ u is too much on that range of PS right now. Last night, 3 u gave you a yellow at +6 in the evening. That's not a lot of data to go on so I'll go out on a limb and suggest 4 u. If that feels like too much, give 3 u like last night. This is mostly guess work because this is new dosing territory for you and Buddy.
Kris, you have more experience than me and I know that because I am so iffy right now. Last night when I gave him 3u he had ate a lot, lot of food and several cans HC, but he was at 403 @AMPS this morning, which I don't want again. Today he started out at 403 and I gave him 5.2U, so you are right I need to go lower. If we had not had all these low numbers the last couple of days I would have thought nothing of shooting a higher number, like I have been doing. I am so glad you are here and I can ask you because I am afraid of doing the wrong thing. I know you help a lot of people and I want to "Thank you", for all your help, and Buddy says the same thing.
 
Kris, you have more experience than me and I know that because I am so iffy right now. Last night when I gave him 3u he had ate a lot, lot of food and several cans HC, but he was at 403 @AMPS this morning, which I don't want again. Today he started out at 403 and I gave him 5.2U, so you are right I need to go lower. If we had not had all these low numbers the last couple of days I would have thought nothing of shooting a higher number, like I have been doing. I am so glad you are here and I can ask you because I am afraid of doing the wrong thing. I know you help a lot of people and I want to "Thank you", for all your help, and Buddy says the same thing.
You're welcome, Teresa. :) Have you decided what dose you want to try tonight?
 
You're welcome, Teresa. :) Have you decided what dose you want to try tonight?
I gave him 3.4u, because I kept thinking about his AMPS #403. Hope that tomorrow this is not too far off. Be looking for my SOS sign in the morning.

I am going to get a sample of Dr. Elsey's food, the dry and wet. A can of wet food is $1.99, but is a 5oz can. With 5 cats could you imagine the cost if they all ate this.
 
Just trying to help, Teresa. That was a lot of guessing on my part but it was based on your SS numbers. That SS is SO valuable! :smuggrin:
Kris, you are a better guesser than I am. Hoping 4u is a good dose for him, it is a lot better than 6.2. We have really been going through the insulin, if he had not had these low numbers we would be out of insulin. I can get Prozinc from Buddy's vet, he is the cheapest I have found.
 
Kris, you are a better guesser than I am. Hoping 4u is a good dose for him, it is a lot better than 6.2. We have really been going through the insulin, if he had not had these low numbers we would be out of insulin. I can get Prozinc from Buddy's vet, he is the cheapest I have found.
Yes, ProZinc is expensive, especially when the doses get higher. If this continues you could consider trying Buddy on Lantus. The upfront cost from a Canadian pharmacy is about the same as a bottle of ProZinc but the amount you'd get would last a lot longer. Something to think about.
 
Yes, ProZinc is expensive, especially when the doses get higher. If this continues you could consider trying Buddy on Lantus. The upfront cost from a Canadian pharmacy is about the same as a bottle of ProZinc but the amount you'd get would last a lot longer. Something to think about.
I went to the vet's office the other day to pick something up, while I was there I asked the lady up front about Lantus. She said they did not sell Lantus or any other human insulin. I told her that I would like to talk to the doc when he had some time, she said I would need to make an appointment to talk to the doctor. I had to take Little Red Cat to the Vet last Monday and this Monday I had to take Old Guy my FIV+kitty to the vet, so now I am hoping for no more vet visits for a while.

I have been reading about Lantus on the Lantus forum. I guess my biggest problem besides not knowing about his vet, is his not wanting to eat at or before shot time. I have been reading some of the info to help me decide what to do. Money is always an issue when you have 5 cats and 3 of them are on daily meds, I would really like to give Lantus a try, but I may not be able to right now. Enough of my sob story,
 
I went to the vet's office the other day to pick something up, while I was there I asked the lady up front about Lantus. She said they did not sell Lantus or any other human insulin. I told her that I would like to talk to the doc when he had some time, she said I would need to make an appointment to talk to the doctor. I had to take Little Red Cat to the Vet last Monday and this Monday I had to take Old Guy my FIV+kitty to the vet, so now I am hoping for no more vet visits for a while.

I have been reading about Lantus on the Lantus forum. I guess my biggest problem besides not knowing about his vet, is his not wanting to eat at or before shot time. I have been reading some of the info to help me decide what to do. Money is always an issue when you have 5 cats and 3 of them are on daily meds, I would really like to give Lantus a try, but I may not be able to right now. Enough of my sob story,
Not a sob story, Teresa. You have a lot on your plate. If you can talk to your vet at some point in the future, all you need is a prescription for Lantus from him to fax/email to Marks Marine Pharmacy in Canada. Many US folks on here do that. You'd get it for the Canadian price of about $150 for 5 insulin pens of 300 units each (3mL) each. That's a total of 1500 units of insulin for a similar price of 400 units of ProZinc. The pens can be used with syringes and are good until their expiry date (usually two years ahead) if properly stored in the fridge.
 
Don't forget, Teresa, there are one or two Lantus suppliers over on Supply Closet. $100 for a box of pens and I think one guy only charges $8 for shipping. I will probably go to him next time.
Thank you, for the info. I would probably go to the Supply Closet first, which ones are known to be reputable.
 
Not a sob story, Teresa. You have a lot on your plate. If you can talk to your vet at some point in the future, all you need is a prescription for Lantus from him to fax/email to Marks Marine Pharmacy in Canada. Many US folks on here do that. You'd get it for the Canadian price of about $150 for 5 insulin pens of 300 units each (3mL) each. That's a total of 1500 units of insulin for a similar price of 400 units of ProZinc. The pens can be used with syringes and are good until their expiry date (usually two years ahead) if properly stored in the fridge.
That is what I want to do, I just need to get my courage up and do it. I had planned to make an appointment and go ask him about the Lantus, but since two of my other cats needed to be seen this month by the vet, I am running a little short on money at this time. At some time I will do this, if he will write me a script for Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top