Buddy's Mom needs help with dosing part 9

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Teresa,

I see in the notes on your SS that Buddy has been feeling a little better and eating the last couple of days. That's great! :)
 
@Kris & Teasel @Yong @Djamila
I need some advise, Buddy's AMPS was 56, I took again 80, then 98, last time it was 134. I do not have his info on his SS because I have been sick, I will put in now. I was not sure what to do about dosing. He ate FF grilled and Purina OM dry to being up his BG, he loves both of these.
 
I have to run soon, so in case you haven't shot and see this:

You don't have any other numbers anywhere close to the 56/80/98 that you got this morning. Assuming the higher numbers are food influenced, I would recommend that you reduce the dose this morning based on those really unusual low numbers. How much to reduce is a tough questions. Everything else in the past few weeks indicates that Buddy is going to head right back up to his usual yellows and pinks, but you haven't had a green in ages, and especially not a low green so late in the cycle. I think any decision you (or any of us) make at this point is going to be pretty much a blind guess. You know how to monitor, and you can steer if you need to, so you'll be okay, pretty much no matter what, but I would still say to reduce the dose and just let him run a little higher this cycle since this is uncharted territory.
 
I'm just seeing this now, Teresa. I agree with Djamila's advice. Why not try 4 u? This is total guessing but it should be enough of a reduction to keep him safe.
 
I'm just seeing this now, Teresa. I agree with Djamila's advice. Why not try 4 u? This is total guessing but it should be enough of a reduction to keep him safe.
Thank you, he has not been this low in a very long time. Of course with Buddy you never know what is going to happen. Thanks again.
 
Thank you, he has not been this low in a very long time. Of course with Buddy you never know what is going to happen. Thanks again.
Test at +2 after the 4 u dose to see where he's headed. He might be higher and that's to be expected. Those lows are interesting and might be due to the antibiotic's effect.
 
Test at +2 after the 4 u dose to see where he's headed. He might be higher and that's to be expected. Those lows are interesting and might be due to the antibiotic's effect.
I will test at +2, he is eating right now so it might take a little longer than 2. I hope the antibiotic's start having a good effect on him, it has caused him to have a very loose stool.
 
I hope tomorrow morning he does not have problems with his BG, I am supposed to take my Mother to the doctor at 10:00 a.m.
Then on Friday we have a big day, Buddy is going to the vet for an US. I am hoping and praying everything is alright with Buddy.
 
I'm sorry I wasn't around, Teresa! I worked today. Hopefully those antibiotics are helping Buddy! Hope you are feeling better too =). Let us know how the US goes *hugs*
 
I'm sorry I wasn't around, Teresa! I worked today. Hopefully those antibiotics are helping Buddy! Hope you are feeling better too =). Let us know how the US goes *hugs*
I'm sorry it took me so long to answer, I did not know you worked. The antibiotics Buddy has been taking has given him really loose stool. His vet put him on a probiotic which he is still taking and along with it was a paste in a syringe that was to help the loose stool. The paste did help the loose stool but it is all gone. I have not been feeling very good and I did not feel like driving to the vets so I called the vets office and asked one of the girls up front if I could give Buddy some generic flagyl that I had for one of the other cats since I did not feel like going to the vets office. The office girl told me that would be alright. I started giving him the medication on Tuesday, last night I got to thinking she did not ask me if Buddy was taking any other meds and she probably would not know anyway unless she asked the vet. I called his answering service last night and it took 2 attempts before he called me back. When he called me back he said he was in the middle of 2 life or death situations and he was sorry it took so long to call me back. Of course I felt terrible and said as little as possible, he said he did not want Buddy taking the flagyl because he wanted to know what was wrong with him and if he took 2 AB he would not know. Hopefully, we can make it till tomorrow and then make it through tomorrow.
 
No worries about not immediately responding =). I am still officially unemployed but been working for my step dad a little.
 
I took Buddy to the vet a little while ago, this is what I found out, not a DARN THING. His vet did an US and said it had not grown and Buddy had not lost any weight, so he was inclined to leave it alone. He said when Buddy was in for his next curve they would do another US and I reminded him of my SS. So I am supposed to bring him back in another month or two for an US and or if he has problems before.
He had a vet student following him around today and he did not seem as serious as usual. The only thing he will give him for loose stool is a probiotic and in the same carton is a syringe filled with a paste to help loose stool. As my luck goes they were out of it, so I get to make another trip back there later today and pick it up.
My FIV+ kitty is on an AB and his stool is loose, I am going to see his vet (Buddy's old vet) and pick up generic Flagyl for loose stool. Sounds like if anyone has questions about poop, I would be the perfect person to ask. I also still fill like crap and I am waiting to see if my doc calls in to his office so they can get him to OK a script for me. How is everybody"s day going.
 
I took Buddy to the vet a little while ago, this is what I found out, not a DARN THING. His vet did an US and said it had not grown and Buddy had not lost any weight, so he was inclined to leave it alone. He said when Buddy was in for his next curve they would do another US and I reminded him of my SS. So I am supposed to bring him back in another month or two for an US and or if he has problems before.
He had a vet student following him around today and he did not seem as serious as usual. The only thing he will give him for loose stool is a probiotic and in the same carton is a syringe filled with a paste to help loose stool. As my luck goes they were out of it, so I get to make another trip back there later today and pick it up.
My FIV+ kitty is on an AB and his stool is loose, I am going to see his vet (Buddy's old vet) and pick up generic Flagyl for loose stool. Sounds like if anyone has questions about poop, I would be the perfect person to ask. I also still fill like crap and I am waiting to see if my doc calls in to his office so they can get him to OK a script for me. How is everybody"s day going.
We're good here in my corner of Canada, Teresa. Sounds like you're having a crummy day. I hope both you and Buddy feel better soon.
 
Ok in NE coast =). While frustrating for you I'm glad Buddy is OK and just being a cat :cat:. Hope you start feeling better! :bighug:
I wish the doctor had said Buddy was OK, but he didn't. He said it was still there, but it had not grown any and Buddy has not lost any weight. I am to take him back in another month for an US. I hope in another month this has not grown any and he has not lost any weight. I am happy that it is not any worse than 12 days ago. I am having GI issues that I have had before but they are not getting any better. My Mother wants me to go to the ER, but I have no one to take care of Buddy and my other cats that are sick. Guess if it gets bad enough I will go anyway.
 
We're good here in my corner of Canada, Teresa. Sounds like you're having a crummy day. I hope both you and Buddy feel better soon.
I have been having a crummy week. I hope that we both are better soon. Do you know of anyone who would come to Indiana and take care of my sick cats while I re-coup. Oh, I forgot my 95 yr old Mother too.
 
Here in Indiana, Cross Roads of America, every thing and everybody is getting ready for the Indianapolis 500 race. Except for me, my mother and my sweet baby kitty's.
 
Teresa, please take care of yourself! If Buddy needs to miss a cycle while you get the care you need, please don't worry about him! Just think of it like a fur shot. It's just one cycle. You need to attend to your own health too!
 
Absolutely what Djamila said! Take care of yourself and know that if Buddy misses a cycle...it's just one cycle.
 
I'm sorry you and Buddy are still not feeling well, Teresa :bighug:. I know Indiana is a big state too but @Phoebes (Angela) lives there too. Tagged her to chime in, maybe she could help.
I did not know anyone else lives in Indiana on FDMB, I don't think Indiana is that big of a state. However, every year the Indy 500 is a big deal around here. I have never been and do not intend to ever go. I live around an hour from Indy, give or take a little depending where you are going.
I don't wanna say much about Buddy because I do not want to jinx anything. Hopefully, he can continue to hold his own.
I have been having GI issues for a while, I have not been real painful for a few days but I don't feel well. Maybe all my cats will get to feeling better, then maybe I will too.
 
Teresa, please take care of yourself! If Buddy needs to miss a cycle while you get the care you need, please don't worry about him! Just think of it like a fur shot. It's just one cycle. You need to attend to your own health too!
Thank you, I have been able to take care of him so far. My Mother keeps telling me if I don't take care of myself, then who is going to take care of my cats.
 
I am about 4 hours away. :( wish I was closer. Hope your furbaby feels better soon, and hope you do too. :) head bumps :cat::cat:
 
Also noticed another member in Indiana but she seems to be dealing with a anxiety inducing situation herself. Patches mum, on Main Health. Too bad you guys are about 4 hours away. Thanks for checking, Angela :)

How are you feeling, Teresa? Any better?
vibes.gif
vibes.gif
vibes.gif
*healing vines for both of you*:bighug:
 
Thank you, I am trying to get back to a better dose for Buddy. It dose seem like he is coming up with a low BG more often at dosing time.[/QUOTE
I am about 4 hours away. :( wish I was closer. Hope your furbaby feels better soon, and hope you do too. :) head bumps :cat::cat:
Thank you, but I was joking about some body coming here to take care of my cats. I need to call Buddy's vet to see if they board just in case I needed him taken care of. Good to know another Hoosier is on FDMB.
 
Also noticed another member in Indiana but she seems to be dealing with a anxiety inducing situation herself. Patches mum, on Main Health. Too bad you guys are about 4 hours away. Thanks for checking, Angela :)

How are you feeling, Teresa? Any better?
vibes.gif
vibes.gif
vibes.gif
*healing vines for both of you*:bighug:
I am feeling better, I appreciate you asking. I am trying to start checking post more often. I am afraid to say anything about Buddy, I don't want to jinx anything.
 
How are you and Buddy doing, Teresa?
I am feeling better, still a little wobbly. Decided to up Buddy's dose this morning, hope I can keep up with it. How are you and your brood. I wanted to ask you if you know anything about using Freestyle test strips with a Alpha Track meter. I was thinking that you use a Alpha Track meter.
 
I am feeling better, still a little wobbly. Decided to up Buddy's dose this morning, hope I can keep up with it. How are you and your brood. I wanted to ask you if you know anything about using Freestyle test strips with a Alpha Track meter. I was thinking that you use a Alpha Track meter.
Yes, I have experience with FS strips in an AT meter. They'll read a little differently but not by much. Get a few same blood drop comparison tests using an AT strip and a FS strip every time you start a new vial of FS strips. Leave your AT meter set at whatever the last-used cat code was.

Glad you're feeling Buddy and we won't mention Buddy! :);)
 
Yes, I have experience with FS strips in an AT meter. They'll read a little differently but not by much. Get a few same blood drop comparison tests using an AT strip and a FS strip every time you start a new vial of FS strips. Leave your AT meter set at whatever the last-used cat code was.

Glad you're feeling Buddy and we won't mention Buddy! :);)
Yes, I have experience with FS strips in an AT meter. They'll read a little differently but not by much. Get a few same blood drop comparison tests using an AT strip and a FS strip every time you start a new vial of FS strips. Leave your AT meter set at whatever the last-used cat code was.

Glad you're feeling Buddy and we won't mention Buddy! :);)
Is there more than 1 type of Free Style test strips and if so is there any certain 1 that needs to be used with Alpha Track. This is something I have been thinking about for a while.
 
Is there more than 1 type of Free Style test strips and if so is there any certain 1 that needs to be used with Alpha Track. This is something I have been thinking about for a while.
Free Style Lite with the butterfly logo on the strip is what you want. They look identical to the AT strips.
 
I use Free Style Lite strips with my AT2 meter too, Teresa :)
I saw some Free Style strips the other day at a very good price, but I cannot remember if they were Lite or not. Hope you feel better after taking Maury to he vet, sometimes I don't know if I feel better or not. I would really like to know if Lantus works better for Maury, I hope it works better for you and Maury.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top