Wendy and Boo (GA)
Member Since 2009
Hi everyone!
I need some guidance please :smile:
Boo has been doing extremely well on Levemir. In fact, I was able to keep him under 100 for 5 days in a row on 2 units. But, two days ago he gave me a low 70's pre-shot number, and after testing every 15 minutes for an hour without the number rising, I finally was able to get him up to 79. I shot the 79, but reduced the dose to 1.75 as I can't watch him all day and don't want a "breakthrough" when I'm not home. He did well on 1.75-in fact, after two cycles on that dose, he did the same thing-hung out in the 70's at pre-shot time so I stalled as late as I could and reduced dose again to 1.5. He was 117 this am, which I know is a very good number, but not green and I have a feeling his PMPS will be in the low 100's. Should I shoot 1.5 again tonight and let this dose settle, or go back up to 1.75 as it certainly worked keeping him in normal numbers. Should I try a fat 1.5? :roll:
Since he gives me low(er) pre-shots in the am, could I shoot a higher dose in the am (1.75) and a bit lower dose in the pm (1.5)?
Edited to add: Boo has CHF, and sometimes struggles to get off the floor or bed. I'm concerned if his blood sugar drops too low, he may not be able to get up to get something to eat.
Sorry for all the questions!
Many thanks,
Wendy
I need some guidance please :smile:
Boo has been doing extremely well on Levemir. In fact, I was able to keep him under 100 for 5 days in a row on 2 units. But, two days ago he gave me a low 70's pre-shot number, and after testing every 15 minutes for an hour without the number rising, I finally was able to get him up to 79. I shot the 79, but reduced the dose to 1.75 as I can't watch him all day and don't want a "breakthrough" when I'm not home. He did well on 1.75-in fact, after two cycles on that dose, he did the same thing-hung out in the 70's at pre-shot time so I stalled as late as I could and reduced dose again to 1.5. He was 117 this am, which I know is a very good number, but not green and I have a feeling his PMPS will be in the low 100's. Should I shoot 1.5 again tonight and let this dose settle, or go back up to 1.75 as it certainly worked keeping him in normal numbers. Should I try a fat 1.5? :roll:
Since he gives me low(er) pre-shots in the am, could I shoot a higher dose in the am (1.75) and a bit lower dose in the pm (1.5)?
Edited to add: Boo has CHF, and sometimes struggles to get off the floor or bed. I'm concerned if his blood sugar drops too low, he may not be able to get up to get something to eat.
Sorry for all the questions!
Many thanks,
Wendy