Boo amps 117 + 7 98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy and Boo (GA)

Member Since 2009
Hi everyone!

I need some guidance please :smile:

Boo has been doing extremely well on Levemir. In fact, I was able to keep him under 100 for 5 days in a row on 2 units. But, two days ago he gave me a low 70's pre-shot number, and after testing every 15 minutes for an hour without the number rising, I finally was able to get him up to 79. I shot the 79, but reduced the dose to 1.75 as I can't watch him all day and don't want a "breakthrough" when I'm not home. He did well on 1.75-in fact, after two cycles on that dose, he did the same thing-hung out in the 70's at pre-shot time so I stalled as late as I could and reduced dose again to 1.5. He was 117 this am, which I know is a very good number, but not green and I have a feeling his PMPS will be in the low 100's. Should I shoot 1.5 again tonight and let this dose settle, or go back up to 1.75 as it certainly worked keeping him in normal numbers. Should I try a fat 1.5? :roll:

Since he gives me low(er) pre-shots in the am, could I shoot a higher dose in the am (1.75) and a bit lower dose in the pm (1.5)?

Edited to add: Boo has CHF, and sometimes struggles to get off the floor or bed. I'm concerned if his blood sugar drops too low, he may not be able to get up to get something to eat.

Sorry for all the questions!

Many thanks,

Wendy
 
I suspect that if you work at bringing Boo's BG down slowly, there won't be a problem with his CHF. With humans, diabetes is often a causal factor in the development of CHF and good regulation of the diabetes is a goal. You're strategy sounds very good!

I don't know if you saw this post on managing low pre-shot numbers. It's similar to what you've been doing.
 
Hi Sienne!

Yes, I've read the post on shooting low numbers and thank you for posting it again. While I wish I could feel comfortable shooting in the low 70's at +12, I really don't know if I want to risk Boo dropping below 50 without my being around, which is why I reduced his dose. His PMPS tonight was 99 -which is great. I expected it to be higher.

Thanks again :smile:
 
Wendy:

One of the options is to shoot what we call a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose, which is what you've been doing. You have to do what is comfortable for you. You've shot low blue numbers when you've been home. Hopefully, Boo will give you an opportunity to catch a high green pre-shot on a day when you can monitor and you can shoot then. It's a process. Given that you have a kitty with health issues in addition to FD, you have to weigh all of the options. Boo's numbers are saying you're doing the right thing for him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top