Blue AMPS 425 10/25 +3 112 +4 100

Status
Not open for further replies.
From the TR Dosing Methods sticky:

General Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
[Emphasis mine]

The highlighted criterion is where Blue's at now. Today's AM with be the sixth cycle, so you need to hold the 0.25IU dose this morning.


Mogs
.
 
Blue's status is a bit tricky because he did get one nadir under 100 within the past 5 cycles, but the depot from the 0.5IU dose might have been influencing that cycle.

I'm tagging Elise (@tiffmaxee) to ask whether she could chime in on the dose for tonight's PM cycle if she's online today.

Your thoughts, Patty?


Mogs
.
 
I gave him the .25 dose. I'm okay leaving it at .25 until it's time to move back to .5.
I was thinking back to last time we had to move him down and then back up. I guess I should have looked at the SS.
Hadn't had my :coffee:

:bighug: Thanks Mogs. We will see what the day brings. It's raining here so tennis might get cancelled today.
What is your weather like?
 
Blue's status is a bit tricky because he did get one nadir under 100 within the past 5 cycles, but the depot from the 0.5IU dose might have been influencing that cycle.

I'm tagging Elise (@tiffmaxee) to ask whether she could chime in on the dose for tonight's PM cycle if she's online today.

Your thoughts, Patty?


Mogs
.

I think you guys are the experts and I will follow directions :D
 
That's the Bluebird! (((Blue))) :cat:

I suggest feeding a couple of teaspoons of high carb to try to slow him down a bit.

Although it's not strictly necessary for safety I'd suggest testing him again at +2.5 to see if the drop has slowed. (Trying to hone in what might work to stop the nosedives early in the cycle but not bump him up too early in the hope that it could become a regular trick in your book).


Mogs
.
 
Was that at +2.75? If yes, then I'd suggest giving him a couple of teaspoons extra of HC to slow him a bit more and test again in 30 minutes.

How long till you are planning to leave for tennis, Patty? Will anyone be home to check on Blue?


Mogs
.
 
Did you give Blue the bit of extra HC before the +3.25 test, Patty?

If yes, I'd suggest giving him a couple of tsps LC now and test again at +4.

If no, I'd try a couple of tsps MC and test again at +4.

Does that fit in with your schedule?


Mogs
.
 
7F8367F7-61B5-4514-932B-AC6286A25648.jpeg
Brat has to eat with Blue every time I feed. Crazy girl.
Will retest at 2:00 which is +4
 

Attachments

  • 7F8367F7-61B5-4514-932B-AC6286A25648.jpeg
    7F8367F7-61B5-4514-932B-AC6286A25648.jpeg
    75.6 KB · Views: 178
He is in safe numbers now and it is +4 but for peace of mind it might be the safest choice. Oh dear, I'm disappointed for you missing your tennis. :(

Let me have a look at the spreadsheet quickly (checking feeding record). BRB...

.
 
Back to you. If you still stand a chance of making it to the tennis then I'd suggest giving him a couple of tsps medium carb and test again after 30 minutes to see if that will help him turn up. It'll give you an idea of what to feed after the next test to tide him over till you can hop back for a later test? (My thinking is that if MC is enough to keep Blue up it will give you a better idea of how potently the dose is still working - HC might obscure that.)

What do you think, Patty? Would you prefer a different approach?

.
 
Summary for your spreadsheet:

STEERING: | +2.00/210 - fed 2 tsps HC | +2.75/116 - fed (2? 4?) tsps HC | +3.25/112 - fed 2 tsps LC | +4.00/100 - fed 2 tsps MC | +5.00/122 - fed 2 tsps MC.


Mogs
.
 
I did enjoy the tennis. I missed the first 2 matches but saw the last 3. Yes, we usually have food and drinks after the matches.
We are part of a league here in Atlanta called ALTA (Atlanta Lawn Tennis Association) and it's the largest league in the US. Picnic after the matches is what makes it social as well as playing a sport. It's a lot of fun.

I'll check Blue again PMPS unless you think I need to check again before that. His BG should stay pretty stable at this point, right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top