Blue AMPS 425 10/25 +3 112 +4 100

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Patty and Blue GA & Brat, Oct 25, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Patty,

    Just having a look at the SS. BRB...


    Mogs
    .
     
  3. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    From the TR Dosing Methods sticky:

    General Guidelines:
    • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
    • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
    • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
    Increasing the dose:
    • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
      • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
      • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
    • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
    • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
    [Emphasis mine]

    The highlighted criterion is where Blue's at now. Today's AM with be the sixth cycle, so you need to hold the 0.25IU dose this morning.


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  4. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Blue's status is a bit tricky because he did get one nadir under 100 within the past 5 cycles, but the depot from the 0.5IU dose might have been influencing that cycle.

    I'm tagging Elise (@tiffmaxee) to ask whether she could chime in on the dose for tonight's PM cycle if she's online today.

    Your thoughts, Patty?


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  5. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I gave him the .25 dose. I'm okay leaving it at .25 until it's time to move back to .5.
    I was thinking back to last time we had to move him down and then back up. I guess I should have looked at the SS.
    Hadn't had my :coffee:

    :bighug: Thanks Mogs. We will see what the day brings. It's raining here so tennis might get cancelled today.
    What is your weather like?
     
  6. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I think you guys are the experts and I will follow directions :D
     
  7. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    It's a bit parky but with sunny spells and dry at the moment. Better than yesterday's miserable cold and rain.

    I hope the weather improves and lets you get to your tennis, Patty.

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
  8. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good morning. I would take him back up to .5 and call it a failed reduction unless he surprises you today or at PMPS.
     
  9. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Okay, we will see what the day brings. :)
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  10. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Thanks, Elise. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  11. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Well, Blue did it again. He's down to 210! :rolleyes:

    That's +2
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  12. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    That's the Bluebird! (((Blue))) :cat:

    I suggest feeding a couple of teaspoons of high carb to try to slow him down a bit.

    Although it's not strictly necessary for safety I'd suggest testing him again at +2.5 to see if the drop has slowed. (Trying to hone in what might work to stop the nosedives early in the cycle but not bump him up too early in the hope that it could become a regular trick in your book).


    Mogs
    .
     
  13. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Earth to Patty! Come in, Patty!

    :)


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  14. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Hi, I got the message and just retested. He's down to 116 so I gave him a bit more HC.
    Sorry I didn't reply. I was getting ready for tennis.
    This is kind of crazy!!!
     
  15. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Was that at +2.75? If yes, then I'd suggest giving him a couple of teaspoons extra of HC to slow him a bit more and test again in 30 minutes.

    How long till you are planning to leave for tennis, Patty? Will anyone be home to check on Blue?


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  16. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    PS: When you reply can you tell me the + time for the test as well as the BG (need both to judge what to suggest to you).


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  17. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I tested +2 and he was 210 so I fed HC and retested about 2.75 maybe a little before and he was down 116 so I gave him a bit more HC.
    It's been about 20 to 25 minutes since the 116 and feeding HC.
    I will be just around the corner so can come back to test.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2020
  18. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Retested +3.25 and he's 112 so down just a few points.
     
  19. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Did you give Blue the bit of extra HC before the +3.25 test, Patty?

    If yes, I'd suggest giving him a couple of tsps LC now and test again at +4.

    If no, I'd try a couple of tsps MC and test again at +4.

    Does that fit in with your schedule?


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  20. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I did give him the HC after both tests 210 and 116 but nothing after he tested 112 but will give him some LC now.
    I can wait to leave and test at +4. Thanks...never thought we'd have a day like this.
     
  21. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    It's Blue! :cat: :rolleyes:

    :D

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  22. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Looks like he's clearing a bounce, hence the big drop from the high AMPS.


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  23. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    7F8367F7-61B5-4514-932B-AC6286A25648.jpeg
    Brat has to eat with Blue every time I feed. Crazy girl.
    Will retest at 2:00 which is +4
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  24. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    giggling :p
     
  25. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Chuckling here! (((Brat))) :cat:


    Mogs
    .
     
  26. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
  27. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Love Brat's colouring, Patty. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  28. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Blue.

    When do you want to come back to test, Patty, so that I can suggest what to feed next?

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  29. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I think I better stay and test again to make sure he's on the way back up, don't you?
     
  30. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    He is in safe numbers now and it is +4 but for peace of mind it might be the safest choice. Oh dear, I'm disappointed for you missing your tennis. :(

    Let me have a look at the spreadsheet quickly (checking feeding record). BRB...

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  31. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I can go after the next test. I want to make sure he's safe.
     
  32. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Back to you. If you still stand a chance of making it to the tennis then I'd suggest giving him a couple of tsps medium carb and test again after 30 minutes to see if that will help him turn up. It'll give you an idea of what to feed after the next test to tide him over till you can hop back for a later test? (My thinking is that if MC is enough to keep Blue up it will give you a better idea of how potently the dose is still working - HC might obscure that.)

    What do you think, Patty? Would you prefer a different approach?

    .
     
  33. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I will try that. We will see. Didn't see this coming at all.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  34. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Joys of a bouncy kitty. (((Patty))) :bighug:

    .
     
  35. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    He's 122 +5 and I'm giving him a little MC and my brother will feed him in an hour some LC. I hope that's good.
     
  36. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    That sound's OK, Patty. :) Glad your brother is helping.

    Great job today. Enjoy the tennis. :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
  37. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Summary for your spreadsheet:

    STEERING: | +2.00/210 - fed 2 tsps HC | +2.75/116 - fed (2? 4?) tsps HC | +3.25/112 - fed 2 tsps LC | +4.00/100 - fed 2 tsps MC | +5.00/122 - fed 2 tsps MC.


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  38. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Re the summary, I wasn't sure whether you fed 2 or 4 tsps HC after the +2.75/116 reading so please delete the one that's not applicable. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  39. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ((((((Brother))))))))
     
  40. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I'm home and he's up to 433. :eek:
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  41. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020

    Thanks Mogs. Might have to wait to figure it all out. I drank 2 beers and someone brought gummy bears marinated in vodka.
    I need to eat and maybe then I can look at it. ;)
     
  42. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Like that's a surprise! :banghead:

    Blue had quite a steep, big drop early in the cycle and it has possibly triggered ... yes, you guessed ... another bounce.

    Did you enjoy the tennis, Patty?


    Mogs
    .
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2020
  43. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    And there was me thinking you were there for the sport! :p

    Your friends have class! :D


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  44. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I did enjoy the tennis. I missed the first 2 matches but saw the last 3. Yes, we usually have food and drinks after the matches.
    We are part of a league here in Atlanta called ALTA (Atlanta Lawn Tennis Association) and it's the largest league in the US. Picnic after the matches is what makes it social as well as playing a sport. It's a lot of fun.

    I'll check Blue again PMPS unless you think I need to check again before that. His BG should stay pretty stable at this point, right?
     
  45. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I reckon you should be good till PMPS, Patty.

    Really glad you enjoyed the tennis, and got to see more matches than you missed. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  46. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
  47. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Boing! :banghead:

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  48. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    501 +2
    Why are you up so late?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  49. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messed up by the change from BST to GMT. Passed out earlier without giving LĂșnasa her evening meds so up getting them for her now.

    .
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  50. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Oh no, I don't care for the time changes. Messes up the body rhythm.
    I watched the World Series and then tested Blue again. I guess I get to sleep again tonight.
    I will see you tomorrow. Love to Noodle bug.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  51. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Time changes really mess me up too. :(

    Night, Patty. Sending a jumbo assignment of scritches for your fur babies, plus some extra ones for the Bluebird.

    (((Patty and Blue)))

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page