? Blood glucose Yo-Yo Questions and advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cocoa12

Member Since 2018
Ok question for everyone. My cat Cocoa in the evening pre shot is around 300-230 at nadir he his between 110-150. That’s on his full 2.25u. Pre am shot he has been between 150-200 so I reduce the dose per SLGS.

I feel like I am causing him to to this odd little dance we have going. Should I be adjusting the dose based on the blood glucose.
 
On days when you are home to monitor, I would try giving his full dose on lower and lower numbers. There are two sections to the shooting lower numbers part of SLGS. The first part starts "in the beginning" - you aren't there any longer. The second part starts "with experience". Over time and with experience, slowly lowering the number where you shoot full dose, you will gather data on what happens when you shoot those lower numbers. Typically the cycles will be flatter. Fully experience SLGS users can shoot with preshots as low as 90.

Cocoa's spreadsheet is starting to look better lately. :)
 
On days when you are home to monitor, I would try giving his full dose on lower and lower numbers. There are two sections to the shooting lower numbers part of SLGS. The first part starts "in the beginning" - you aren't there any longer. The second part starts "with experience". Over time and with experience, slowly lowering the number where you shoot full dose, you will gather data on what happens when you shoot those lower numbers. Typically the cycles will be flatter. Fully experience SLGS users can shoot with preshots as low as 90.

Cocoa's spreadsheet is starting to look better lately. :)

Thank you for the reply :D.

I agree his spreadsheet is starting to look better I just want him to stop the odd little yo0yo-ing thing he has going on,

I am going to try to start giving the dose at lower preshot levels. However I am going away on Friday and won't be back until Sunday. The person watching him doesn't have much experience with diabetic cats. I would rather error on the side of him be a little high for two days versus what could happen.

Once I get back I plan to shoot lower. I notice he tends to hit nadir at around +4hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top