Big George New Member

I also have a question about calories and how much wet food to feed as we have 16 other cats between myself, parents and barn and are wanting to swap everyone over to wet food/low carb diet to try to avoid diabetes/other issues going forward…and I especially want to make sure that I feed Big George correctly when he gets home!

I read on FF/Purina website that you feed one can per 3-3.5 lbs of body weight but in an article 4-6 ounces of can food a day or 15 calories/lb! So for a 14lb cat (not Big George), FF website=4 cans and article=2.31 cans (3 oz can)! Which is correct or am I missing something?
 
I also have a question about calories and how much wet food to feed as we have 16 other cats between myself, parents and barn and are wanting to swap everyone over to wet food/low carb diet to try to avoid diabetes/other issues going forward…and I especially want to make sure that I feed Big George correctly when he gets home!

I read on FF/Purina website that you feed one can per 3-3.5 lbs of body weight but in an article 4-6 ounces of can food a day or 15 calories/lb! So for a 14lb cat (not Big George, FF website=4 cans and article=2.31 cans (3 oz can)! Which is correct or am I missing something?
 
I also have a questio about calories and how much wet food to feed as we have 16 other cats between myself, parents and barn and are wanting to swap everyone over to wet food/low carb diet to try to avoid diabetes/other issues going forward…and I especially want to make sure that I feed Big George correctly when he gets home!

I read on FF/Purina website that you feed one can per 3-3.5 lbs of body weight but in an article 4-6 ounces of can food a day or 15 calories/lb! So for a 14lb cat (not Big George, FF website=4 cans and article=2.31 cans (3 oz can)! Which is correct or am I missing somethig?

diabetic cats (when their blood sugar isn't regulated) can be ravenous. this is because the high BG prevents them from absorbing the nutrients from the food. when first diagnosed, mine had lost a lot of weight despite eating all day.

i'd say feed him as much as he wants to eat. once his BG is regulated, he will naturally eat the right amount for his body. if someone is home with him all day, just feed him when he asks for food. if not, just leave out some extra food. (just make sure it is low carb food so his BG doesn't spike.)

imo, vet prescription food is a scam. it's so expensive & i've never had a cat really like it. i don't know what your time/finance situation is, but with that many cats, it might be cheaper to do homemade food for them if you have time for it. you'd make it in bulk, mix in some cat-specific nutrients (you buy these) & freeze it & thaw it to feed as needed. i don't do this but have been looking into it. (don't feel like you have to do this to get Big Geoge healthy- mine did canned food & is in normal BG now. it's just an option i thought i'd mention)
 
Not a great update tonight from the vet and a delayed update due to emergencies! BG has been over 400! 439@6pm, 416 @ +2, 498, 432 @ +4 and just 439! They have upped him to 3 units of Vetsulin!

His ketones are also back up to 2.9! He is still on fluids and the injectable antibiotic!

I also just found out that he is eating both the dry and wet w/d food when I thought it was only the wet (which I learned from here is high in carbs too)! I asked if he could be changed to a lower carb food to see if that would help and the tech said that I can talk with the vet about that when they call in the am!

I’m extremely worried now and I didn’t go see him today since I thought he’d be coming home!
 
BG stayed in the 400s overnight and vet has changed Big George’s insulin to Prozinc from Vetsulin! His ketones went down to 1.8!

They said that I can bring in food since Hill’s is only what they carry so I’m going to take some FF to see if that will help…and ask for no dry food to be fed! Thanks!
 
I dropped off LC food this morning (after he had 4 units of Prozinc and was on HC diet previously)! Vet has been feeding the food that I dropped off through the day and his BG has stayed within range! CBC and ketones are okay! Will come home on clavamox and they will dose him at 6 pm and I can pick him up! Said that they are still going to give the 4 units even with the diet change! Is this okay to do and/or is it best for him to spend one more night with them to see how it is handled versus me bringing him home?
 
I dropped off LC food this morning (after he had 4 units of Prozinc and was on HC diet previously)! Vet has been feeding the food that I dropped off through the day and his BG has stayed within range! CBC and ketones are okay! Will come home on clavamox and they will dose him at 6 pm and I can pick him up! Said that they are still going to give the 4 units even with the diet change! Is this okay to do and/or is it best for him to spend one more night with them to see how it is handled versus me bringing him home?
will you (or someone else) be home to watch him or test his BG throughout the day for the diet change? i can't give advice on dosage, but it would probably be good if someone is around to keep an eye on him.

also, have the vet tech demonstrate how/where to inject the insulin if they haven't already.
 
I am going to be home but it’s evening here so didn’t want to get in a pickle late! I’ve asked to work from home next week so I can keep an eye on him as well!
 
I am going to be home but it’s evening here so didn’t want to get in a pickle late! I’ve asked to work from home next week so I can keep an eye on him as well!
ok then i'd say it's fine to get him home. have some medium/high carb food on hand just in case his BG dips low.
 
I'm glad he's going to come home. Happy to hear he's on Prozinc now.

The WD dry is extremely high in carbs, no wonder his blood sugars went up. Do make sure you have high carb food at home, as well as karo or honey, just in case.

If you can afford it, I'd almost have them do the first night with lower carb food and the higher dose of insulin. 4 units is quite a bit for a starting dose on low carb food.

Once you get a change, it'd really help us if you could get a spreadsheet set up to record your blood sugar test values. Details in here: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

A favour to ask of you, when George come home, could you start a new thread with a link to this one. That way if anything urgent comes up, people to have to dig to the second page to see what is happening. We do request that thread lengths get no longer than 50 posts before starting a new thread.
 
I was able to have them keep him another night! I just had to go to the clinic at 7 versus asking over the phone! I feel much better with them watching him! They were also going to just check him every 6 hours but I asked if they could check every 2 so I would have more data about the lower carb diet and 4 units! We missed 8pm since I didn’t call to ask this until after 9pm and his BG was 290@+4! The PMPS was 237 at 6pm!

His ketones were 1.3 this morning and 1.6 this evening!

I was able to take pictures of his carts/readings so I will try to put his spreadsheet together in the AM!

Will also start a new thread!
 
Back
Top