Biddy 8/31 PMPS 69

Well…. First can you stall for 30 minutes. How many minutes between the 88 and 80 (of course that’s pretty flat considering meter variance.)
 
Maybe 5 minutes between tests. I don’t know if I can stall without feeding him. He’s pretty worked up about dinner and usually vomits when he gets like this.
 
If you can monitor for the first part of the cycle tonight and you would rather go ahead and feed and shoot, you can probably go ahead and shoot the full dose — or if you want to shoot 5.5 or 5.25.
 
Okay I think I’ll shoot the full dose. He does so well not dropping like crazy. I’ll be around all evening to monitor too.
 
Okay I think I’ll shoot the full dose. He does so well not dropping like crazy. I’ll be around all evening to monitor too.
Yes. I agree if you can monitor. It’s a good opportunity to see how it will go for future information. Also, as we have noted before, he has a very good way of stabilizing in green.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy I hope you and your crew are all doing well! Biddy is finally having consistently solid stools again and when I checked his BG at +7 today it was 60! I couldn't believe my eyes so I double checked him at 61. I will be decreasing his dose to 5.5 again tonight. Maybe it was inflammation contributing to his previously higher numbers? Anyway, just wanted to check and let you know how things are going!
 
I’m glad to hear it. You know, with his condition, you may have some variation due to inflammation. I hope he will still give you some green! Marcus had an ultrasound yesterday. His elevated liver enzymes had all returned to normal, but his white count was still elevated. The inflammation in his intestines is just as bad — or worse — than it was last year when he was diagnosed — even with being on steroids for a year. I am super bummed about that. And he has some weird fluid filled cyst with “tissue around it” that doesn’t seem to be attached to any organ although it is close to the omentum. His gallbladder also appears “fuzzy” where it should be smooth-looking on the ultrasound — that is supposed to be inflammation. I don’t know what to think anymore. We are going to watch the cyst for changes over the next few weeks, do another round of Baytril and increase the pred back up to 5 mg/day. He’s got FIV so we have to balance things. @JL and Chip
 
@Suzanne & Darcy we are having some issues with the new z/d formula. Second time he won't touch a single can in the case they sent us. The only other canned food that is hydrolyzed is Blue Buffalo HF. It is pretty high carb (11%) so the other option would be to try their novel protein (2.5% carbs) which is alligator. Do you know much of either of these diets? I am terrified of switching his food but I also don't want him on dry food only. I would greatly appreciate any thoughts you may have.
 
Unfortunately not. Who makes the alligator? Can you return the z/d? Check the best buy date. I hope it’s just an off batch (although that is troubling.) How many carbs are in the z/d canned? The HF is a little high at 11 percent. At least it’s not super high— just over ten percent.
 
Hill’s did refund me for both cases he wouldn’t eat. The canned z/d has 10.9% carb content. I found Blue Buffalo has canned hydrolyzed and the alligator comes in a can as well so just not sure which to try first.
 
Hill’s did refund me for both cases he wouldn’t eat. The canned z/d has 10.9% carb content. I found Blue Buffalo has canned hydrolyzed and the alligator comes in a can as well so just not sure which to try first.
Did Hill’s have any idea about what might be different about their food?
 
@Suzanne & Darcy Hi hope all is well with you and your family! We have been going back and forth from 5.5 and 5.75 units. On 5.5 his numbers are not great but every time I go to 5.75 he drops below 70. I use calipers should I be dosing somewhere in between?
 
Hey there! I hope things are going well for you, Lane.

Biddy is having too many yellows on the 5.5 dose and no green nadirs as you have noted. He hasn’t been in any danger in those greens, but I know we agreed to 70 as a reduction point for him. I think you could try using the calipers to fatten up the 5.5 dose to see if you can find the sweet spot. Hopefully he will have better preshot numbers and see more blue and green.
 
Do you think it makes more sense to dose in smaller increments or a lower reduction point?
 
Well, usually we don’t do such small adjustments until the cat is on a very small dose, but in Biddy’s case, it looks like he’s really close to that ideal dose (at least for now). He’s safe in numbers all the way down to 50 on your ReliOn meter and the Modified ProZinc Method allows for that. On the other hand, I am not sure how you will feel about these numbers below 70 on a work day. Biddy has an amazing way of going green and surfing along in safe numbers and that’s kind of what I see on the 5.75 dose. It would be fine to try tweaking the dose first to see what effect it has. What do you think?
 
I follow SLGS since he still gets dry food. Does that affect what the reduction point would be? He does great not dropping too low and my job is down the street and allows me to run home to check on him if needed. I’m still leaning more towards trying microdosing first but I really don’t know much about how to do that.
 
I follow SLGS since he still gets dry food. Does that affect what the reduction point would be? He does great not dropping too low and my job is down the street and allows me to run home to check on him if needed. I’m still leaning more towards trying microdosing first but I really don’t know much about how to do that. He did it a couple of times on 9/22. I would try a fat5.5.
Thanks for the reminder about the dry food. I know we talked about it before. Dry can make things a little unpredictable, although Biddy is a reliable fellow! I would try fattening up the dose. Even the dosing protocols say that a single drop below the reduction point in a cat who has been on insulin for quite a long time (for Biddy it will be a year soon) can be taken into consideration of the big picture and doesn’t necessarily warrant a reduction.
 
I guess it has been almost a year! Wow! How do I mark the dose on his spreadsheet?
 
Well look at your nighttime numbers. He has had some really great greens at night. Not sure what is happening during the day.
 
Ok I will hold this dose and try to get more daytime readings. Our house has been so cold, he is just not bleeding! I don’t know how many times I poked the poor guy for nothing this week. He runs if I try to use a rice sock though.
 
Ok I will hold this dose and try to get more daytime readings. Our house has been so cold, he is just not bleeding! I don’t know how many times I poked the poor guy for nothing this week. He runs if I try to use a rice sock though.
Okay. I understand. Poor Biddy. Can you use warm water in a small pill bottle to warm his ears? What have your temperatures been like this week? I am just wondering. We have been having lows in the upper 50s and highs of around 76/77 (pretty nice weather for us!)
 
I could try that! It’s been about the same here, slightly cooler. I’ve found that anything under 70 inside he doesn’t bleed enough. We usually keep our house nice and toasty for our hairless guinea pig, Bilbo lol.
 
Hi there. How are y’all doing?
I don’t think there’s a big rush necessarily, but I see what you’re probably seeing, which looks like a possible trend toward higher numbers. Are you working tomorrow? When is your next day off? I would feel more comfortable with an increase if there were a few more tests somewhere in the +4, 5 or 6 area. Recently the tests have been a little later than that.
 
I am off Tuesday. I’ll be honest, life has kinda been kicking my butt recently so I’ve been slacking with Biddy’s numbers but there’s really no excuse for it. I know I need to do better.
 
Back
Top