Biddy 2/22 PMPS 79

I'm thinking of getting him braces to help him walk and hopefully be able to build up more muscle. His doctor wants to try Acetyl-L-Carnitine to see if that helps his neuropathy. Have you heard anything of this supplement helping?
 
I'm thinking of getting him braces to help him walk and hopefully be able to build up more muscle. His doctor wants to try Acetyl-L-Carnitine to see if that helps his neuropathy. Have you heard anything of this supplement helping?
Oh, I feel so sad to think he’s having that much trouble walking. That’s very innovative of your vet. I personally take Acetyl L-Carnotine, but I have never considered using it in a cat. That doesn’t mean it can’t be beneficial for cats. There’s a lot of information out there I see about supplementing with Acetyl L-Carnitine. Here’s one I found.
https://avmajournals.avma.org/downloadpdf/view/journals/ajvr/73/7/ajvr.73.7.1002.pdf

Was he doing better on the Solensia?

What kind of braces? How do you size them? How do they work?
 
I think his arthritis was being managed by the Solensia but we consulted Zoetis and they said they wouldn’t recommend using it if he has neuropathy.

I think these are the ones I’m going to get. We have a patient at the clinic that wears some at home. They will be in tomorrow for his weekly laser treatment so I plan to ask what brand they use for him.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_8796.jpeg
    IMG_8796.jpeg
    254.2 KB · Views: 19
We have not talked about it with his vet. I'm sure he would benefit from it but I do worry that the stress of traveling to the clinic that often would do more harm than good.
 
Hi Suzanne! He's doing pretty good. BG has been a little higher than I'd like the last couple days but he's also had a couple numbers lower than I like as well. He is getting around much better though! I've even caught him counter surfing a couple times lately.
 
That’s great to hear .. even about Biddy counter surfing 🤣. You were right to hold your dose at 8 units even with the lower greens. I was trying to figure out why those numbers in the 60s were coded lime green. They should not be. Your spreadsheet must have originally been set up for a pet meter instead of the ReliOn. With a pet meter, the spreadsheet will code numbers under 68 as lime green With the ReliOn it will code numbers under 50 as lime green.
 
We rarely run into that low of numbers, I never noticed! I was originally using an Alpha Trak.
We did try the braces... he was not a fan. I have been working with him on building his strength back up and he is getting around so much better. I was very worried we were nearing the end but he decided to stick around a bit longer. :)
 
We rarely run into that low of numbers, I never noticed! I was originally using an Alpha Trak.
We did try the braces... he was not a fan. I have been working with him on building his strength back up and he is getting around so much better. I was very worried we were nearing the end but he decided to stick around a bit longer. :)
That males my heart happy! Have you been exercising him!

How is his sister?
 
He really isn’t interested in play like he used to be but he will do anything for food. So I walk backwards around the kitchen with his bowl of food at every meal and make him walk around for it. I look crazy but I think it helps.

His sister is doing great after a diet change! How are your babies doing?
 
Back
Top