? BG pre-insulin 130

Miss Kitty Berry

Member Since 2024
Hi there! We just did a glucose curve on Thursday and I have not had a chance to set up a spreadsheet yet but the numbers were in the 300 and 400s so my vet increased my dose last night from 1 to 1.5 units of lantus. She was at 319 this morning and we are getting ready to do the night dose and it was 130. Do I give insulin or not?? I have a call into the emergency vet and I am waiting for a call back.
 
They just called back and we went ahead and gave her the nighttime dose. I fed her extra and I will check her BG levels in about an hour. I am watching her like a hawk!
 
Start with a +1 test and a +2 test. That'll give you an idea how the cycle will shape up. Since she's getting dry food, our suggestion here would have been to skip as that means following SLGS as a dosing method. And you don't have enough data to shoot that low. Eventually you will, but not now.

Please work on that spreadsheet ASAP. We can't help you much without that.

I'm going to remove the 911 now.
 
Now I am concerned that I may be shouldn't have given her the dose... Is there anything I need to do from here? Feed her more? Test her more often? From what I can see on the lantus board, the lowest numbers typically happen at like hour 6 which is midnight my time. She is a normally sleepy/quiet girl so I am worried she will drop too low and I won't know it. I tested again about an hour after her dose and she was back up to 191 (alphatrak numbers). I am going to make the spreadsheet tonight (if I can figure out how) but any advice in the meantime to make sure she stays in a safe range?

Also, my apologies for not knowing some of the formatting and such. Being so new to this board, there is a lot of etiquette and form (and so many abbreviations!) that I am trying my best to learn. :) Thanks for bearing with me!
 
It's good to see she went up that much to +1. Get a +2 test next. If she's down quite a bit at +2 you could feed her some more. Most kitties do well with multiple small meals during the cycle anyway.

Tagging @Bandit's Mom who may be on later to watch, and she can help with spreadsheets if you have a problem.

We all know there's a lot to learn. We love to help, so keep asking questions. The 911 causes panic, so it's good to take it down once you've received attention.
 
Back
Top