BG of 142- what dose this am?

Status
Not open for further replies.

horselo285

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone,

So I just tested Louie's BG levels and he is at 142...which is by far the lowest I have seen him pre-insulin. Ive been giving him to UNITS of HUMULIN N am and pm and I just wanted to double check on the dose for this am as he is lower then usual. Should I just skip it and test later to see what he's doing? Or a smaller dose?

Thanks,

Laura and Louie
 
FYI- I only took one reading so I didn't double check that number. Had a very hard time getting blood and Louie was a bit nervous as there was much more noise and activity then usual (dogs barking, Sean and Shane making noise etc) Ideally I would have double checked it to make sure reading was accurate but I was honestly lucky to get the initial reading.
 
Hi Laura,
Def. dose reduction.
I did'nt even see if you have a SS
I;ll check...but maybe .5units.
Lori
if your here for a bit i'll check your ss
 
Hey Lori!

Thanks for the reply!! If your still around and have not checked the ss yet, id be happy to wait. I don't want to do anything that will send him to low (or make him go to high). I was surprised by the reading this am. And I am SO glad that I kept pushing until I got the sample to get a reading. I half thought to myself that I should just go ahead and feed him , so far he had been pretty consistant in his am readings. Im so glad I didnt do that!
 
feed him and start him on .5
and when are we gonna change insulins :-D
 
K! I'll go ahead and do that! My mom got home last night and we just discussed it and I am going to call the vet today and try and get an appointment. I'm not sure what hours the vet I want works. I will let everyone know when I get an appointment! :-)
 
there are some folks here with lantus and levemir that they can give to folks who are financially strapped in the beginning.
keep in mind.
 
Lori,
Thank you for weighing in on this. A .5 dose of Humulin isn't going to do much as it's a single shot insulin. I'd really like to see another test if at all possible - I know, when pigs fly! The reason I'm asking for another one is to see if he's rising or still dropping.

I actually LIKE this 142 number! That's a GOOD number for no longer than we've been doing this on a regular basis. May I suggest that we go with 1u this cycle? It's taken 2u's to get the cycle down this low - the 1u will half that.

YOU decide what you feel you need to shoot Laura - you've now heard from 2 different people. You are very quickly learning all this - proud of you girl!
 
Your right Lyrisa, if kitty is on his way up...and quickly...than dose appropriatley. But if hanging steady this is a fast acting insulin no? Not much room to drop.
And if kitty is still dropping...well, that's a whole 'nother story right? NO SHOT yet.
 
Hey guys,

I just saw the more current posts but I have already given him the .5 and breakfast. It would be nearly impossible for me to get another reading atm....way too much activity..but Sean goes to nursery school at 12:30 and by then Shane should be napping and I should be able to test him then.

Does that sound ok?

It was very hard to test this am- im going to need to figure out a different schedule or plan of some sort...maybe I can get him used to testing in my apartment and my mom can watch the kids while I do it. So far he is still not a big fan of being down here but will come down to get a treat or some food.

Thank you so much for all the help and support! You guys are great!

-Laura
 
You did fine Laura! No problems at all! That's why I said "yeah, when pigs fly..." :-D

You'll find that he will become more comfortable with the distractions as time passes. It took a while but now KT ignores them all other than barking BIG droolers...then WE go out and check to see what THEY are barking at....
 
Thanks Lyrisa!!

I should be able to check him in 30 mins or so. I'll come on and post the results!

Also...just saw the cutest thing and thought I would share....we have been opening the door to our (fenced in) backyard and letting all the cats wander in and out (in an attempt to keep everyone from peeing now that Louie's been doing it again). I keep them in at night but during the day, they go in and out and seem to stay nicely in the backyard. Well- I just looked out the window and saw blackie and noodle (two of te cats my friend never found a home for) climbing on the swingset in the backyard. It was really so cute, the two of them playing on it like it was the best cat toy ever! :-D
 
I got caught up in school work and checked him a little later then I meant to...but he is at 183! So he hasnt jumped up (or down) :-)
 
Me too! :-) I was pretty happy when I saw it seemed to be remaining near where it was this am (*cross fingers*)

I gave him so lunch and am no back downstairs working on my History assignment which is actually due today. Tomorrow is when the "late assignment" is due. I need to stop making mistakes like this. ugh! Time to get a calendar and write every single assignment, due date and time down so I don't mess up!
 
LOL Maybe i'll do that!

SO I have been swamped with work and only just got Louies levels tested. He is back up to 368. :-(

I will test him again before his insulin tonight..but should I go back up to 2?
 
What times are you giving him his shots? I'm wondering why the bg was still that low this morning if it had been many hours since injection.
 
He gets them at 10:30 am and 10:30 pm. Occasionally I will hold off until 11 (if waiting for advice on here) but I haven't gone later then 11ish. I'm also confused while his levels were so low this am and remained low for a while but have now spiked back up. I wish I could have gotten a reading earlier to see what his levels were doing. :-/

The only other thing I can think of is that maybe he got a hold of some of my moms dog's food. I have requested that his dish not be left with reach of Louie (unless someone is there watching) as Louie will go for it every time...but it's possible my mom or dad forgot for a little while and he got into it. I'm hoping my mom will start mixing canned food with scrappy's (her dogs) food which will pretty much guarantee that he eats it quickly and there is no way Louie can get to it.

I will talk to my mom again later and try to make sure that Scrappy's food is not left around...that way I can rule that out.
 
could you brief me in what he is eating??? could he be 'finding' high carb food as my Bean will do in Slappys' bowl when mommy turns her head????
 
Hey everyone!

I tested him and he was 436. :-( I fed him and gave him 1.5 units. Will check bg levels in 1 1/2-2 hours.
 
Hey Lori!

Nope, I am actually on the East Coast. Long Island, NY to be exact. Haven't tested him yet. It's turning out to be a VERY late night (and long day) for school work. I still have an assignment to complete. Its overdo now (online classes) ugh! Trying to finish it and then im gonna run up and test him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top