BG Numbers Good but Now What?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kimmied

Active Member
Hi,
Could anyone please look at Hanks SS? I upped his dosage yesterday (Tues. 11/4) for PM shot from1.25 to1.5. I didn't do anything different; tested, fed and then shot at 6:30pm, like usual. He was really hungry at dinnertime yesterday cause he ate all but a few pieces. I usually offer what's left at +2 or +3. But I offered a little more kibble at +2 and +3 and Hank didn't eat any. I guess he was full. His +3 BG number was about what it normally is so I went to bed.

This morning I checked BG for AMPS and it was 269. I rechecked and it was 275. Wow! That's the first in awhile that it's been out of the 400's. Well, I got called into work cause someone was sick so I was unsure of what dose to give him this morning since I wouldn't be home to monitor until later this morning. So I gave him 1u. The first I've had to check is at +5 and it was 147!

My questions are;
1) Was I right in lowering the dose for AM shot this morning?
2) If this happens again, which I'm sure it will, what's the procedure?

I know to skip if it's 200 or lower but 275 is a lot lower than it's been for a pre-shot.

No, he's still not touching the wet food. I'm still trying.

Kimmie
 
Yes, I think lowering the dose was fine this morning, especially as you were not going to be around. And with this cycle, you'll have data to see if the dose was a little low and needs to be a smidge more next time.

What a nice amps! Hope this a trend! It looks like 1.5 is a good dose for those higher numbers. Now to see what to give if you get a yellow.
 
Hi,I'm not the one to advise you,but had to get on and say..wow,Hanks numbers really look nice today.I personally would have only dropped the dose from 1.50 to 1.25. only because I think we should try to do .25 changes in dose at a time.Also his 275 number is fine at the 1.25 or 1.50. He had a nice drop at + 5, not a steep drop,so that looks great.Hope his PMPS number is in the yellow,that would be nice to see. I think if you try a dose change,it is good to keep it going for a full 3 day cycle,it takes that long it seems for a real change to stick .Of course if you have to leave him and he is in the no shoot zone,than that is another matter.Or if he was just a little lower than the 200 number,then you might want to cut back the dose,but not to worry at 275( seems to me like the 1.50 did him good,so you might want to keep it steady for 3 days.,then do a curve..Hope this was helpful.Here's to hoping that his pancreas is kicking in! p.S..just saw that Sue got back to you,so that is good,as she knows her stuff much more than I.Like I said I am still a novice at this.!
 
Thanks Sue and Joyce. Yep, I was excited. Yeah, I thought about 1.25 this morning but was worried that Hank was at 275 and what would that take him down to.

So the PM shot tonight, if it's in the yellow, still do 1.5u?

Kimmie
 
In my opinion,I would stick with the 1.00 unit if he is holding in the yellow,just in case his pancreas is starting to function.Hey you never know,he could be teetering on better regulation all of a sudden.Too much might interfere with his own insulin production if it's happening and bounce him back up( what have you got to loose,but to try and see what happens) But on the other hand,if he is reading in the red at PMPS,then you should repeat last PM dose of 1.50.At least it is how I see it,as it really did him good last night.p.S..maybe 1.00 for low yellows and 1.25?
 
Wow you are doing a great job testing. Nothing else to add regarding dose but I think you are right on with what you are doing. I can only think that if Hank was completely off dry food, what wonderful numbers he would be getting. Hope you can get him switched soon.
 
Whoohoo! Great numbers. Your spreadsheet gives me hope for Ben. His SS looks a bit like Hanks.
 
Thanks Cindi and Lisa.

Yeah, I think the same thing about how much better his numbers would be if Hank were eating the wet food.

I tried this morning putting some dry in some wet food. I even heated the wet up first but he only sniffed it and walked away. I even left him alone for about 25 min. When I checked on him, he hadn't even touched it. I tried yesterday baking the wet food as BJM suggested but still no luck.

I'm just going to keep trying different tricks with the wet food before I give him his dry. I'm hoping he gives in soon. :smile:

Kimmie
 
OMG Lisa!! :lol:

I thought I was looking at Hank's SS when I looked at your Ben's SS!!

How funny!

Kimmie
 
Ok since Hank's PMPS number on Wednesday (tonight) was 306...I thought, "what to do, what to do"?

Just a little bit into the "pink". Hmmmmm.....so I chose to give him a 1.25u and a smidge more for his PM shot. This is so hard to decide sometimes what to do about dosing.

I checked at +3 and Hank had a BG of 195. Hmmmm...pretty good. I'm just being cautious. I was afraid to give 1.5u for PM shot.

What do you all think? Thanks for all the feedback and support.

Kimmie
 
Kimmied said:
OMG Lisa!! :lol:

I thought I was looking at Hank's SS when I looked at your Ben's SS!!

How funny!

Kimmie


I know. Crazy isn't it?!? They are sugar cat twins. :lol: So Ben better catch up with the good numbers.

Lisa
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top